Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 100
  1. #61
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Dallas OR
    Posts
    67

    Re: Linux friendly mainboards

    Originally posted by ozguy
    I've just spent 3 days trying to install Redhat 8.0 on an Asus A7N266-VM board. Grub doesn't work at all (0.92 release tested, apparently 0.93 fixes it), LILO gets the boot process started but then it hangs when checking modules.

    Would not even go through the install process using the onboard NVIDIA graphics, had to use an ATI 7000 l had.

    Very frustrating.

    I tried to install SuSE 8.0 but it also seemed to freeze during the boot after installing the 1st CD. I didn't attempt to fix it as l'd had enough rejection for a couple of days ;-(

    Is anyone coming up with a Matrix?

    Al
    You are not the only one. I'm 100% frustrated with my A7V8x (no onboard RAID on this). Using a 3Ware 7210 controller and then tried from off the IDE connections on the board-SuSE 8.0 Pro and Red Hat 8.0 will go all the way through the point of actually installing software on the hard drives (even the formating works) and then wham! "ERROR-Cannot read from media source" and this only occurs on select files and it differs each time I try. The media source are CD-ROM drives that can install any version of Windows 2000/XP I use but not Linux (and the drives have been used on other computers without a problem). All cables have been checked and even replaced. I was hoping to wait for SuSE 8.3 Pro but now it appears that I will have to try 8.1 Pro. Nothing is oc'ed on this system and the RAM is only PC2100.

    If this continues I will be changing SuSE over to maybe the SiS648 board I have (since this is an AMD site-I doubt anyone knows if the SiS648 chipset is OK with SuSE?).

  2. #62
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto area
    Age
    55
    Posts
    147
    I have a sis 740n and a 691s on my ss40g athlon system, if that helps any, hit F1 at start of install, had to tpye:
    linux pci=bios
    at the prompt in order to get it through stage 2 of Mandrake install or it would hang there.
    Too many to list, here's the newest ,


  3. #63
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Colo Springs
    Posts
    245

    Talking

    Epox 8RDA (non-plus) board is working pretty sweet at the moment.

    Using Mandrake 9

    XP 1800+
    Epox ERDA
    512 Corsair PC333 DDR2700
    Guillemot Fortissimo Sound
    Macronix based chip NIC
    Geforce 3 Ti200 Visiontek

  4. #64
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3

    AK35gt2 and Barton

    Good board, stable, cheap, fast and supports Barton 3000+. Very Impressed.
    Obviously if you are into multimedia NFORCE is the way (I will consider future P$ with 800FSB too).

  5. #65
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto area
    Age
    55
    Posts
    147
    Have Yoper installed on a ss40g, using a radeon pci 9000, though just default drivers in, is working though. It is the free rc4 that I have installed.
    Too many to list, here's the newest ,


  6. #66
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    6,638
    Just popped the Knoppix Distro into my new ECS L7S7A2 (SIS746). Knoppix is based on a recent Debian distro and it worked out of the box.

    Onboard Lan is the well known SIS900, Audio is the CMedia 9739A.

    Killeroy.

  7. #67
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    6

    Question 8RDA and Chipset Drivers

    Greetings,
    I'm building a dual boot system using a Epox 8RDA mobo running WinXP pro and Linux Mandrake 9.1. Nvidia has chipset drivers for LM 9.0 but not for 9.1. Has anyone tried the 9.0 chipset drivers with 9.1? What results did you get? Thanks for the help.
    Tootlet

  8. #68
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    48
    Any word on compatability with the Epox 8RDA+? i've heard of network issues installing slackware but perhaps this was just a one time occurance?

    and i wont be using mandrake redhat or slack.. which is hwy im curious if this is just a one time thing.. if there are no problems.. i may try installing gentoo on my new box... (been running gentoo for a few months on my laptop.. and its by far the best distro i've tried )
    System1:

    Epox 8RDA+ (nForce2); 1 GB TwinMos DDR400 in DC at CL2; Athlon XP 2100+ @2.0 ghz; Klipsch ProMedia 4.1 (mm drool...); 24x Acer Burner; Pioneer 16x Slot loading DVD Promise ata133 Controller (max 4 drives); 300 Gigs (40 maxtor 60 wd & 2 100 gig WD SE's); PNY Geforce 4 ti4600; Chieftek (Generic antec case) Black Server tower case; 32 deg C full; 23-25 deg C idle; air cooling

    System2:

    Soltek SL-KAV (KT133A); 40 gig WD SE; 32X CDRW; 512 SDRAM; GeForce4 420MX; T-Bird 1.4ghz; SB Live!; RealTek10/100 networkcard; Generic 250 watt psu; And the crappiest case u'll ever see ; 56 idle 62 full

    Laptop:

    Athlon XP 1500+; 256 DDR266; 20 gig hd; Dualboot XP pro/Gentoo; ATi Mobility U1; DVD/floppy

  9. #69
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    329

    Re: Re: Linux friendly mainboards

    Originally posted by pointreyes
    You are not the only one. I'm 100% frustrated with my A7V8x (no onboard RAID on this). Using a 3Ware 7210 controller and then tried from off the IDE connections on the board-SuSE 8.0 Pro and Red Hat 8.0 will go all the way through the point of actually installing software on the hard drives (even the formating works) and then wham! "ERROR-Cannot read from media source" and this only occurs on select files and it differs each time I try. The media source are CD-ROM drives that can install any version of Windows 2000/XP I use but not Linux (and the drives have been used on other computers without a problem). All cables have been checked and even replaced. I was hoping to wait for SuSE 8.3 Pro but now it appears that I will have to try 8.1 Pro. Nothing is oc'ed on this system and the RAM is only PC2100.

    If this continues I will be changing SuSE over to maybe the SiS648 board I have (since this is an AMD site-I doubt anyone knows if the SiS648 chipset is OK with SuSE?).
    I've had a similar problem as this before, it turned out to be a incompatibilty with the CD ROM I used a newer CD ROM with the same board (SIS735 chipset) and everything worked as expected.

  10. #70
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Chicago, USA
    Posts
    125
    I agree. I've installed Redhat 8.0 on a A7V8X deluxe board without a problem.

    I will shortly be installing redhat 9.0 on another a7V8X-X board l have and will report back how that goes.

    Does anyone know if VmWare 3.2 for Linux will run on Redhat 9.0 by the way?
    Antec P160 case
    AMD 6000+ AM2 , DFI NFII lanparty rev.B, Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
    8 GIG Mushkin RAM
    Leadtek FX5900 A350 AGP video with Zalman ZM80C-HP & ZM-OP1
    Flower TT-350SS PSU

  11. #71
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells UK
    Posts
    47
    Just installed Mandrake 9.1 on an A7V-E with a Duron 1200 and ASUS V7100, and it was almost flawless. The install got the wrong sound driver, but the right driver was there, and then everything worked.

    First time with Linux, so pretty impressed. It handles recent DivX files and even some Quicktime files, straight away!

    Dave
    A7N8X deluxe rev 2.0, Barton XP2500 @ 11x190 1.725v
    2 x 512Mb Corsair XMS3500 2-2-2-11 synchronous(190Mhz) 2.7v
    ASUS V9950 (FX5900) 128Mb
    Maxtor Diamondmax Plus9 160Gb sata
    Hauppauge WinTV Nova-t
    WinXP Pro with SP2

  12. #72
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    3

    Question Nforce2 or KT400?

    I bought a Creative ti4200 and found that it pretty much refused to work with my current mb (Abit ka7-100, had to go down to AGP 2x and still had tons of stability problems) so I've decided to upgrade the rest of the computer as well. The two options that I see are mb:s based on either Nforce2 or KT400, so which one should I choose? Nforce2 seems really nice, but there seems to be some problems with it according to http://home.t-online.de/home/Johanne...rce2linux.html and KT400 seems a bit slower and suffers from some problems with AGP 8X (http://hypermail.idiosynkrasia.net/l...ek05/1190.html is this still an issue btw?).

    Any hints to solutions of the problems mentioned and other problems not mentioned are very welcome!

  13. #73
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Molokai, HI
    Posts
    9

    a7n8x

    RH 9 installed fully without problems on my A7N8X Deluxe + 2000XP unit (once I got a proper set of CDROMs...the first from EasyLinuxCds.com were bad but they promptly replaced).

    I am still working out some minor issues but have basic functionality with the web, my USR 5610B, dual boot with XP Pro, and so on. Sound works but I can't exercise all the goodies as I have only a two channel sound system . No comment on the LANs, SATA, etc. at this time. The Nforce all-in-one driver installed without a hitch (download from ASUS).

    Paul
    Epox 9npa + Ultra, Athlon 64 3000, XFX GeForce 6200, 1G, dual boot Kanotix 2005-02 and XP

  14. #74
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5

    Smile Epox 8KHA+ with Athlon XP 1500

    runs fine with 256 MB RAM, not OC'd, with various 2.4.x kernels and even CK patches. I'm going to update the CPU to a TBred-B 2400

  15. #75
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Longueuil, Qc
    Posts
    648
    I have the system below and I was able to install RedHat 9.0 with no problems whatsoever.
    3D is not enabled but I didn't install the drivers from nvidia yet, it might be corrected with those.
    Sound and everything works great.

    I previously had installed SuSE 8.2 Pro, before I had installed XP Pro, and it was kinda' slow.

    After the XP Pro install, the mouse didn't work anymore.
    If I ahd done it the other way around it might have worked, but this is what happened with me.
    Newcastle 3500+ | MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | BBA 9800 Pro 128mb | TWINX1024-3700PT | Audigy 2 ZS | WD 200gb Sata | Enermax Noisetaker 485W | Nec FE991SB-BK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •