Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567
Results 91 to 100 of 100
  1. #91
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    JAX, FL
    Age
    46
    Posts
    2,193
    oh ive had NO problems running windows XP with RH 9.0...ive read some people do. I had win XP on the system first but when it was installed I just left 10gb untouched for the linux partition.
    heat: the-elusive-dragon

    Dell XPS desktop
    19" monitor
    Intel core duo @ 2.2ghz
    2gb ram
    250gb hdd
    nvidia 8600 gts video with 256 ram
    saitek backlit kb
    razer diamondback mouse (red led)
    windows vista

  2. #92
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Age
    55
    Posts
    934

    Wink

    Originally posted by elusive-dragon on 01-22-2004 at 07:44 PM
    oh ive had NO problems running windows XP with RH 9.0...ive read some people do. I had win XP on the system first but when it was installed I just left 10gb untouched for the linux partition.
    Same here!

    No problem running ANY linux Distro with WInXP or Win2000 .

  3. #93
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sequim, WA
    Posts
    1,430
    Mandrake 9.2 runs fine on My DFI LanParty Rev A.Out of the box. Dual booting with XP Pro on same WD 80gb HD. Although my 9500 Pro is givinig me some fits.
    Biostar TA 770/ X2 7850 BE
    AC Freezer 64 Pro
    OCZ Gold 4x1024
    EVGA 9800GTX
    Coolermaster CM-690
    Coolermaster RPP RS-650
    Win7Pro

  4. #94
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1
    About a year and a half ago, I threw together an unheard of mobo (Fordlian/RedFox, with some ALi AGP chipset), with a K62-450, running Mandrake 8.2, and SuSE 7.2. It worked great. Rock solid. Had to replace the CMOS battery is all. I gave that computer to my ex-wife's mom. It's still running with Win98se. Now for the past year or so, I've been running Mandrake 9.X, Slackware, Gentoo, Vector, and a bunch of other distro's (gotta love broadband!) on a Gigabyte GA-7VAX mobo with an Athlon2000+. Not a single issue. Gigabyte is all I'm buying for the time being. Haven't tried the USB ports yet. Don't have any USB devices (and I doubt that my mouse needs that kind of speed anyways). I dual booted with XP and Slack on this Gigabyte board for a couple of days awhile ago. No problems at all (unless you want to consider the stack of driver disks XP needed a problem -- I did).
    Last edited by snow_dog121; 02-10-2004 at 04:34 AM.

  5. #95
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    South Pole w/ the penguins
    Age
    33
    Posts
    80
    Board being used: ABIT NF7-S v2
    Kernel: 2.6.3-rc2-mm
    Distribution: Gentoo
    Drivers used: forcedeth for ethernet, alsa for on board sound, all onboard peripherals work (firewire, usb2, sata, etc)
    Great board at a great price ;-D
    System:
    Was Soyo Dragon Plus!, but it blew up!
    Now: Abit NF7-S v2
    AMD AthlonXP 1800+
    1 gig Crucial DDR
    300 Gigs hdd space
    Geforce FX 5200
    Gentoo Linux, kernel 2.6.3 mm-sources
    email: gerrynjr at nfnnet dot org

  6. #96
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Linux Cafe
    Age
    42
    Posts
    80
    I have two PC systems, both works fine under Linux:

    1st system
    AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    PC Chips M830LR = K7S5A 1.1
    384 PC-133 RAM
    GeForce 2 GTS display card
    SB Live!

    2nd system
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+
    AsRock K7S8XE+ 1.0
    512MB PC-3200 DDR RAM
    GeForce 2 MX display card <-- this one really needs upgrade, man.
    SB Live!

    Anyway both systems are up and running, rock solid.
    You will need to play with lm_sensors to get the hardware monitor working, anything else are working out of the box with Mandrake Linux (except, of course to install nVidia OpenGL driver for Linux).
    Last edited by zero0w; 03-08-2004 at 03:05 AM.
    Excellent Unofficial K7S5A motherboard guide
    K7S5A Linux configuration
    GIMP 2.0 for Windows installation note
    Bootable DOS in USB Flash memory

  7. #97
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    17

    Old board, new Fedora

    Just for the record,

    I have installed Fedora Core 1 successfully on an Intel N440BX duallie board. This is an older board with the good old BX chipset and SCSI on board.

    All on board controllers were recognized. I'm running two P2 400s on the board with only 128meg ram. While not a speed deamon, its has yet to show any real lagging in X and of course, the console is very fast.

    Regards,

    Gerry
    Say "no" to Porn-Sigs!
    Degrades women,
    Degrades computer enthusiasts,
    Degrades this great site!

  8. #98
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,213
    DFI infinity with SuSe 9.0 and knoppix 3.3, both work perfect, detected everything straight away, althout knoppix found my modem and got it working first time, while SuSe didnt.

  9. #99
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The Village
    Posts
    629
    gigabyte ga-7vm400m (F6 bios)(km400 chipset+intrgrated video). fedora core 1 is running nice in this machine with a xp1800 tb. onboard video runs fine, but there is a breif screen flash of garbled strada before booting into desktop(gnome).

    the bios options are very limited even for a micro-atx. no; memory timing adj., cpu thermal shutdown(listed in specs!), multi adj..
    • DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
      *amd 64 3200 Venice *thermaltake purepower 560 *A-Data DDR400 Vitesta (2)512mb*wd 160gig sata2 *EVGA 7800gt oc *lg GSA-4040B dvdr (firm v. A301)*thermalrig w/90mm 3k rpm fan*netgear ga302t (nic) *viewsonic vp171b *winXP pro os skp4
    • DFI Ultra Infinity
      *amd barton 2600(locked) *DD maze3 /Zchipset /DD gpu waterblocks *eheim 1250 1/2in tubing *thermaltake 480 purepower *mushkin perf level 2 3500 (1)512mb *wd se (2x)80mb *ati 9700pro allin1 *lite-on 52x cdr / toshiba dvd rom sd-m1612 *netgear ga302t (nic) *viewsonic p225fb *w2k pro os skp4

  10. #100
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    106
    MSI KT6V-LSR playing nicely with FC1 + 2.6.4
    Cooler Master Praetorian PAC-T01-EK | Soltek SL-K890Pro-939 | A64 3000+ Venice LBBLE 0515FPDW @250x9 | Thermalright XP-90C | 2x512MB OCZ 3200 Platinum Rev 2 | Sapphire Radeon X600Pro 128MB | Antec True430 | Maxtor 80GB SATA | Lite-On 52x LTN-526 | Fedora Core 3 X86_64

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •