Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago subs
    Posts
    1,447

    HD benchmark and power management

    I have a ten ten twenty partition setup on one hd and just one partition on the other. I have W2K and XP on the ten gig partitions. Was only getting about 16000 in Sandra, what? Tested in both OS' with the same results. I've uninstalled the primary and secondary(one at a time) ide controllers and then let windows reinstall it on reboot. This gave me a good score for my C(W2K) partition of like 23900 or so. Scores remain sh!tty for the others still. Have the latest 4in1's, jumpers are set right. Both are masters on respective channels, UDMA 5 for the HD's and UDMA 2 for the CD-ROM's. The only explanation I can come up with is that because the W2K partition has the master boot record? But then I still can't explain why the other hd doesn't score high, it is just loaded with mp3's and has it's own mbr. Anyone have an idea why?
    One other thing. I have my drives set to shut down after 20 min, but I'll hear them randomly spool back up while I'm nowhere near my sys. This is with a fresh install, no virus protection, no spyware, no programs running in the background,etc. Any know what causes this? This happens(ed) on both systems I've had. And am I better off just letting them spin instead of continually shutting down and restarting? TIA.
    Last edited by tuskenraider; 06-09-2002 at 02:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    20,454
    Sandra is a very inaccurate disk benchmark, since it doesn't test the actual speed of the disk and relies on the location of files on the disk.

    Try HDTach or the hard drive test in PCMark2002.
    PORTABLE: Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.4GHz | 4GB PC6400 DDR2 | 160GB 7200rpm HDD | ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 | 8x DVD±RW/Blu-Ray | 15.6" UltraSharp TrueLife display

  3. #3
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago subs
    Posts
    1,447
    I heard that as well, I get around 870 in PCMark, which I believe is good, but is it testing all the partitions and both drives or just a the general speed of the root drive? Any opinion about idling the drives?

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    New jersey
    Posts
    271
    As far as leaving hard drives run, I would. Anything that spins at different speeds will develope harmonics at some speed. The harmonics will cause additional wear bearings. Unless the manufactor take steps with every drive to make sure that the harmonics are above the maximum speed of rotation. I know that they make sure that there no harmonics at stated spin. I will not shut down my system unless I am not going to be using it for about 12 hours for this reason. The reason for this option was for energy savings (energy crisis) but does help with laptop battery life. Of course the smaller the platters the less the problem, was a big headache when platters 8 inches and above.

    Both 2K and XP routinely do some minor house keeping in the background. Some othe house keeping involves swap files so your ramdomly see disk activity.
    Mr. Spock, how do I set my laser printer to stun?
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Box 1 Full Tower (2 80mm & 2 120 mm fans)--MSI P6N Plat--Intel E6700--Zalman 9500--G.Skill 6400PHU2-2GB--OCZ 700W--XFX-GF7600GT--WD Rapture 150 GB--2 Samsung 500 GB--optical Pioneer & LG

    Box2 Lian Li 70 series (6 120mm fans)--Abit IP35 Pro--Intel E8400 @3.3G--Zalman 9700--8 G memory G Skill F2-6400L4--GeForce 8600 GT--PC Power & Cooling 750 Quad--WD Raptor 150--2) WD 1 TB--1.5 TB Samsung--Asus & Pioneer Opticals

    Box3 Lian Li 70 serics (6 120mm fans)--ASRock X58 Extreeme---Intel i7 920 @3.6G--Cooler Master V8 (mod with 120mm silverstone fan)--12 G memery G Skill--G Force GTX 260--PC Power & Cooling 750 QB--WD 2.5 Raptor 300--2) Samsung 1.5 TB--2) WD 1 TB--Plextor & LiteOn optical

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago subs
    Posts
    1,447
    Thanks. I sure would like to know what "housekeeping" it's doing. I have a specified static swap file if 800M for both, so it can't be that.

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    New jersey
    Posts
    271
    During housekeeping it generally does not change the size of the swap but does write or read from disk.

    I believe that somewhere in the Microsoft knowledge base there is a answer. Could not find it now will look more later.
    Mr. Spock, how do I set my laser printer to stun?
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Box 1 Full Tower (2 80mm & 2 120 mm fans)--MSI P6N Plat--Intel E6700--Zalman 9500--G.Skill 6400PHU2-2GB--OCZ 700W--XFX-GF7600GT--WD Rapture 150 GB--2 Samsung 500 GB--optical Pioneer & LG

    Box2 Lian Li 70 series (6 120mm fans)--Abit IP35 Pro--Intel E8400 @3.3G--Zalman 9700--8 G memory G Skill F2-6400L4--GeForce 8600 GT--PC Power & Cooling 750 Quad--WD Raptor 150--2) WD 1 TB--1.5 TB Samsung--Asus & Pioneer Opticals

    Box3 Lian Li 70 serics (6 120mm fans)--ASRock X58 Extreeme---Intel i7 920 @3.6G--Cooler Master V8 (mod with 120mm silverstone fan)--12 G memery G Skill--G Force GTX 260--PC Power & Cooling 750 QB--WD 2.5 Raptor 300--2) Samsung 1.5 TB--2) WD 1 TB--Plextor & LiteOn optical

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •