Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50
  1. #1
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    WI
    Age
    39
    Posts
    241

    It's official: Abit boards need a mod for XP 2200+

    Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know you bozos went and modded your chips to unlock the thing to get it to boot, but I was on the phone with Abit and received an email from them explaining that they need a modification to work properly with the Thoroughbred, because AMD made a change to the chip they hadn't accounted for.

    Now I have an Asus A7V and it fired it up right away.

    http://www.globaldialog.com/~larandkar/Images/JayPC.jpg

    "It's official.....: You SUCK!!!" - Shao Kahn of Mortal Kombat

  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,503
    So, *ahem*, um... what would one need to do to get the T-bred working? And is this with all Abit socket A boards?


    (haha, like I have the money to get an XP2200+)

  3. #3
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Malmo, NE
    Posts
    396
    the xp2200 only needs the 5th bridge connected on the L3's to unlock it, then it will work on KX7. Got this from a post over at overclockers.com (other back it up there) and since the 5th bridge is on the outside you can just draw a U around the cut to connect the dots even more simple to unlock( I always use winsheild defogger repair kit) A couple weeks is all ill be able to stand it probly before i grab one and see first hand.hehe
    Muskie

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    WI
    Age
    39
    Posts
    241
    That's exactly what I just said in the first sentence, or can't you read?

    I said I KNOW you guys mod your chips, but officially from Abit the boards are incompatible (normally).

    This applies to both my KX7 and KG7

    http://www.globaldialog.com/~larandkar/Images/JayPC.jpg

    "It's official.....: You SUCK!!!" - Shao Kahn of Mortal Kombat

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Malmo, NE
    Posts
    396
    Sorry Jaybo i was kinda answering Kilroy tho, the best i could.
    Muskie

  6. #6
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    WI
    Age
    39
    Posts
    241
    That's ok, I'm sorry I snapped so quickly, it's gotta be the heat.

    Anyways, this thing is humming along nicely now on the Asus board.

    I have some pics, but beware the teddies:




    http://www.globaldialog.com/~larandkar/Images/JayPC.jpg

    "It's official.....: You SUCK!!!" - Shao Kahn of Mortal Kombat

  7. #7
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Malmo, NE
    Posts
    396
    No prob, Nice looken rig. I just see 90% of the people that have the kx7 having there cpu unlocked anyway. But i still think its BS
    that abit cant put a bios out to correct the t-bred issue. That was one of my points during selection that it was to "support" the next gen cpu. Never can know tho until its actuly in and working.
    Muskie

  8. #8
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    357
    Originally posted by Muskie
    But i still think its BS that abit cant put a bios out to correct the t-bred issue.
    I agree it is BS. What pizzes me off is that they told me to RMA mine. As if they were gonna make it work?
    No doubt the KX7 is purchased by the overclocking crows. And if you get the T-bred, the ease of unlocking is just too unbearable.

    I am still surprised that Abit dropped the ball.

    Who knows if the ONE bridge unlocking will work with newer Mobos and BIOSes. There is something about the CPU Algorithm that makes the L3 mod work at present.
    Thank you, God, for everything-
    the big things and the small,
    For "every good gift comes from God"-
    the giver of them all-

  9. #9
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    WI
    Age
    39
    Posts
    241
    Thanks for the compliments. That outside shot is before I was finished with the system, I just picked up that case. 5 adjustable fans installed by default and a window on the side standard, coming from the fine folks at Lian Li. Expensive thing though.

    I have been out of the info loop for a bit on cooling, last year I know the SK6 was king so I bought one as you can see for my XP 2200+. I am sure there is better out there now, what is the top heatsink/fan combos right now?

    All the reports are right, the Thoroughbred does run hot. I am wondering if that's because in the past the Athlons had a problem with software cooling when used with half multipliers....

    http://www.globaldialog.com/~larandkar/Images/JayPC.jpg

    "It's official.....: You SUCK!!!" - Shao Kahn of Mortal Kombat

  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    WI
    Age
    39
    Posts
    241
    Yeah actually they told me to send it to their RMA for repair because of the physical mod that would be done.

    The guy said it was a change to the chip AMD made that they hadn't prepared for.

    http://www.globaldialog.com/~larandkar/Images/JayPC.jpg

    "It's official.....: You SUCK!!!" - Shao Kahn of Mortal Kombat

  11. #11
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    132
    Originally posted by Jaybo
    That's exactly what I just said in the first sentence, or can't you read?

    I said I KNOW you guys mod your chips, but officially from Abit the boards are incompatible (normally).

    This applies to both my KX7 and KG7
    We can read allright, but you actually stated that the boards need a mod to work with XP 2200, not that the XP 2200 needs to be modded to work on the KX7, hence the confusion.

    Nevertheless, the KX7 does not support XP 2200 which is a shame. 99% of the KX7 owners haven´t or will not mod a new XP 2200. Thats my guess.

    Mac
    NF7-S 2.0 cooled with Nventiv Mach 2
    Barton 2500+
    Thorton 2000+
    Twinmos 3700, Mushy L2 3500, Corsair 2700 CH5
    Radeon 9800 cooled with Swiftech WC rig
    Fortron Source 530W
    Raptor 37GB SATA
    Samsung 160 GB SATA

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6
    Did I miss something ??
    The latest bios release for the kx7333r says it supports 0.13 tbred

    http://www.abit.com.tw/abitweb/webjs...%2F+KX7-333R&#

    I was just about to order this board with hope of getting a 1800+
    or 1900+ @ 0.13 microns l8r

    Will bios 9K work??
    Any thoughts??
    Enermax 350W P/S
    T-bird 1.2 Cpu 266 mhz
    Volcano 7+
    256 mg generic 133 ram
    Abit KT7A Mb
    Matrox G400 dual head
    4X60gig Matrox ATA 100 Drives
    Soundblaster live value
    linksys 10/100 nic w/8port router
    Mitsumi 10X8X40 CDRW

  13. #13
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    357
    Originally posted by technosapien
    The latest bios release for the kx7333r says it supports 0.13 tbredWill bios 9K work??Any thoughts??
    techno,
    I know of several people that flashed to the 9K BIOS hoping that it would work with the AMD 2200 T-bred.
    It does NOT. I have not heard of any Abit users that got the T-bred to work. I think we need to start posting this info more to get Abit off their arse.
    Thank you, God, for everything-
    the big things and the small,
    For "every good gift comes from God"-
    the giver of them all-

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alberta, CA
    Posts
    7,763
    Originally posted by Jaybo
    I'm sorry I snapped so quickly
    Yes you did, now go and fix your sig my friend. You don't have a A7M333 but A7V333.
    PS. Nice case BTW. The two rear fans in your pics, did you modify it or did LianLi change the design again?

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Firenze
    Posts
    99

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •