Page 114 of 115 FirstFirst ... 1464104110111112113114115 LastLast
Results 1,696 to 1,710 of 1722
  1. #1696
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Ok..im back....
    I manage to get one faulty 4200Ti 128MB...well capacitators are all OK...
    problem is that on this card (dont know which manifacture it but it's not Gainward)..capacitators are 5mm radius?...will i be able to modife it and put them in my gainward card?...

    I have 8 capacitators that are 470 10V R1 ...and 2 caps that are 1000V 6.3V R1 ...
    In your opinion which one is the best to use..and for what place?...thanks...

  2. #1697
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    OK, now eight days after getting the Ti4200 back, it is dead. Beep of doom and no boot.
    Just stuck the old EVGA 5200 in to get back up. As mentioned before they did not send my card back but a different one. No more Gainward for me.
    AMD Athlon XP 2800+@2300mhz (42 C under load)
    Heatsink: Vantec Aeroflow 2 w/Ceramique
    Mainboard: Abit NF7-S v2
    NB HSF: Vantec copper Iceberg
    Memory: 2x512 Corsair VS cas 2.5@2.7 volts (2.5, 3, 3, 11)
    Video Card: BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC (stock 370/1000)
    Hard Disk 1: SiI RAID 0 Set 0 SCSI Disk 240 gig (2x120 SATA WD 7200)
    Hard Disk 2: WDC 60gig (7200)
    Hard Disk 3: WDC 80gig (7200)
    CD-RW: LITE-ON LTR-48246S
    DVD-RW: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-106D
    Power Supply: Enermax EG485P-VHB SFMA 480W
    Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (SP1)

    My Son's PC: Abit NF7-S v2/2500@2200/512 mem/ PNY 6600 GT (stock@500/900)
    1 WD 120 gig Sata /350 watt Antec PS

    Server: Abit NV7-133R/1800+/512 mem/Geforce 5200 128 meg/1 WD 30 gig/1 WD 40 gig/1 WD 80 gig

  3. #1698
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1

    Smile Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Just found this thread today looking through Google.....very helpfull!!

    This week I purchaced 2 Gainward Ti4600 GS's from eBay listed as faulty. At 12.50 each, a bargain too!

    I tested both, one no boot and many bleeps, 1 long 8 short then 1 long and 2 long. The other, no bleeps but no boot either.

    I didn't have many caps around so I swapped the aluminium electrolytics (silver ones) from doner card 1 (C1272, C1299, C1295, C1297, C1264 & C1268) to replace all the Sanyo ones on card 2.

    I replaced C1272 on card 2 with a 1000uF 16v LOW ESR and C1293 & C1276 with general purpose 1000uF 16V caps.

    I know these aren't like for like swaps, but I thought what the hell!!!!

    Anyway card 2 now boots and loops 3dMark2001 just fine!

    I have ordered all the correct caps for both boards and will be replacing them all next week.

    I will not be using SMD caps as the board accepts standard componants just fine.

    Hopefully I will come back with some good news.

  4. #1699
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    2

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    I too have found this thread through searching. I just wanted to post for anyone else like me who happen to find this great thread and decide to perform the surgery themselves. Basically, I just wanted to revive an old video card just for the heck of it, so I purchased the recommended capacitors by mindless1 from digikey. Be prepared to pay about $5 for shipping, and $5 more for handling. Since this was my first time soldering, the job was pretty tricky. I didn't know the plastic base on the capacitors were supposed to come off. I've also reused the plastic base on the new caps. So far, the card seems to work 100%. I've ran 3dmark for an hour straight from a cold start with no problems at all. Thanks guys !

  5. #1700
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,958

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Dave04WRX

    That's your car I take it - nice choice!


    M

    (02 STI)

  6. #1701
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    2

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Thanks, I'm bad at coming up with usernames, so I just used the same one as I do in car forums.

  7. #1702
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    172

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    It's good to hear of your success Dave04WRX.

    The plastic base is a part of the original caps, their being surface-mount type parts. The base can be reused if/when it'll fit on the new cap, or just left off the new cap. Either way it's particularly important that the leads for the new cap do not short out against the metal body of the cap.

    Technically a better substitute/replacement cap would also be a surface-mount type instead of radial-leaded, except that there are many, like yourself, that haven't been soldering surface mount parts, no practice at it and likely not high-grade soldering equipment so the radial lead caps were suggested both for their easier soldering and their wider availability. With the radial leaded type like the Panasonic FC or FM linked previously, one simply has to be a little more careful not to bump them. Technically the longer leads will have slightly higher impedance too but that threshold appears below maximal values still and these larger caps had lower impedance than the originals to begin with so there is more margin for the leads.

    The short version- the base is helpful but not necessary, if one wants to use it and can, that's fine. A substitute might be a piece of mica or other non-conductive heat-resistant material or just putting a blob of epoxy on the base of the leads after forming them to fit the card's solder pads... though it should be a thick epoxy so there is no chance of it getting inside the cap- most are plenty thick enough.

  8. #1703
    Joined
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Is there any reports of the same problem with gainward 6800gt's? I bought and installed another 512 MB of ram today and now I get a checkerboard error every once in a while, while trying to reboot my machine I heard a long beep.

    I'm kinda worried that something is wrong with my card

    EDIT: Now all of a sudden windows seems to believe that I installed a Multimedia Audio Controller, which I have not installed, I hate computers...
    Last edited by simulacra; 06-16-2005 at 05:05 PM.

  9. #1704
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    I haven't heard of any problems. Did you flash your BIOS? What kind of system are you running? A64? How many sticks of mem did you have before and now?
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  10. #1705
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,268

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    I've got a gainward 6800gt and haven't had a single problem (haven't heard of any problems either).

    Spreading HD-DVD one signature at a time.

  11. #1706
    Joined
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    I had 512, insalled another stick of 512 today, I did set the agp aperture size to 128, but changed it back to 64 after I got there error, I also loaded the optimized default config in my bios.
    Since then I've gotten the error once and are kinda waiting for it to happen again, I'm feeling worried since I in no way can afford another card if this were to be broken =(
    Last edited by simulacra; 06-16-2005 at 05:49 PM.

  12. #1707
    Joined
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Now I removed the new ram stick and didn't get the error for several days, but today I got it again, the card is not running hot, the gpu is somewhere around 52C and the pcb 34C.

    The card is a gainward 6800gt golden sample, I'm scared to RMA the card since I din't know where the problem really lies, isn't there some kind of diagnotic tolls to monitor everything that goes on so if I get the error again I've logs to read?

    The wierd thing is, it just happens out of nowhere, today I was reading forums and suddenly got a psod, why the hell is this happening??

    I'm never buying components for my pc again, I gues I better buy a whole new PC whenever the old graphicscard is going to slow for games

  13. #1708
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    What kind of power supply do you have? Brand? How many watts? How many amps is it rated for on the +12v line?
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  14. #1709
    Joined
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Well, the PSU is rather weak to be honest, but why should these problems occur now after I've been using the card without problems since november?

    right now I'm running a 300W PSU, it's a noname model that performs surprisingly well considering the load, a p4 2400, 3 hard drives, 6800gt, 2 NIC's and a audigy2.
    Last edited by simulacra; 07-07-2005 at 05:27 PM.

  15. #1710
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    172

    Re: => GAINWARD Ti4200 Problem Thread. (1st post updated Jul 28 '03)

    Without writing a long drawn-out essay about power supplies, let me put it simply:

    Just because a power supply runs a system at first, that does not make it suitable for long-term use. Runnning one near it's peak capacity not only wears it out faster, it also introduces ripple, ripple that is "buffered" by other capacitors in the rest of the system. This wears out more than just the power supply, in fact another part can be killed by a power supply that still somewhat works, then that power supply may continue killing parts.

    Just don't do it. You knew better than to use a generic undercapacity power supply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •