Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 94
  1. #46
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,363
    i thought that 2600 were just tbreds bartons are 2500, 2800, 3000 and 3200 thus far. but to be sure just check the model number in wcpuid or even better the stepping details. good luck dude.
    Spec:
    Lian-li PC-71 w/ TrueControl 550W
    XP2600 (10*208 optimal @ normal=1.726v) w/ Evercool Cu725hs and 120 Evercool fan AS 3
    GA-7NNXP (rev 1.0 bios Pr3ach3r F14)
    512Mb XMS3500 Corsair (2-2-2-11 +0.2v=2.85v)
    Radeon 9700 Pro (stock)
    Aver 203
    Hayes 56k V.92
    IBM 2*120GXP 40GB Raid-0 (hopefully working soon)
    Ibm 180GXP 123Gb ata100
    Ibm 75GXP 45Gb ata 100
    I-panel Deluxe
    Samsung Combi Dvd & Cdrw SM-352B
    MSI D16
    Iiyama Pro 451

  2. #47
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Montreal,QC,Canada
    Posts
    11
    According to the "AMD Athlon XP Processor Model 10 Data Sheet" AMD pdf file no 26237, there are Model Number: 2500, 2600 at 1917 MHz, 2800, 3000 at 2100 and 2167MHz and 3200 at 2200MHz which can be found in chapter 12 Ordering Information for model 10 products. I can't say wether production has started on all of them nor their shelf availability particularly in Montreal where I live, but there are, in theory, 2600+ Bartons.

    I should get the info later on as I don't have the time right now...

    --
    Gilbert

  3. #48
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Montreal,QC,Canada
    Posts
    11
    I finally got to the cpu and it says: AXDA2600DKV3D 9738305260494 and AIUHB0301MPMW which confirms I was sold a Thoroughbred instead of the Barton I requested. I am disappointed and will talk to their tech tomorrow...

    They still advertise their Barton 2600 on their website! The email reply states there's only one 2600 AMD!

    --
    Gilbert

  4. #49
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Montreal,QC,Canada
    Posts
    11
    After quite a few email exchanges with the retailer who ended up being amazed at the ignorance of the local distributor who originally claimed all Athlons XP were Bartons, the matter was cleared up and my retailer offered my money back/exchange. I now have my 2500 Barton which, without any tweaking, does 10.5 X 200 on my Abit NF7-S rev 2 mb with 2X512MB 3200 HyperX.

    When I have the time, I'll try to see if I can get better results out of it.

    --
    Gilbert

  5. #50
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    430
    i just read the original(first) post by Amdathlonguy

    according to him, AMD only made 1600+ in palomino and Tbred-B.
    so if i get a 1600+ that is advertised as a Tbred, it will have to be a Tbred-B, correct?
    INTeL
    Pentium4 2.4C | DFI PRO875 | CORSAIR PC4000 | WD360GD RAID 0 | Sappire 9600 Pro

    AMD
    Athlon XP 2500+ | MSI K7N2G-ILSR | CORSAIR XMS PC2700 C2 | WESTERN DIGITAL WD800JB

    AMD
    Athlon XP 2000+ | EPOX EP-8RDA3+ | SAMSUNG PC3200 | SEAGATE 7200.7 ST380011A | MSI FX5700-VTD128

  6. #51
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,363
    hey dude go for a 1700 tbred-b preferably a d[B]l[\B]t3c and it will rock and the price aint that much different.
    Spec:
    Lian-li PC-71 w/ TrueControl 550W
    XP2600 (10*208 optimal @ normal=1.726v) w/ Evercool Cu725hs and 120 Evercool fan AS 3
    GA-7NNXP (rev 1.0 bios Pr3ach3r F14)
    512Mb XMS3500 Corsair (2-2-2-11 +0.2v=2.85v)
    Radeon 9700 Pro (stock)
    Aver 203
    Hayes 56k V.92
    IBM 2*120GXP 40GB Raid-0 (hopefully working soon)
    Ibm 180GXP 123Gb ata100
    Ibm 75GXP 45Gb ata 100
    I-panel Deluxe
    Samsung Combi Dvd & Cdrw SM-352B
    MSI D16
    Iiyama Pro 451

  7. #52
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    430
    yea dude
    the thing is though, if i buy 1700+ from newegg, i dont know if it will be a B. i just take the chance. also people have been getting A's only lately.

    so i was thinking, if i get a 1600+ for $50 that is Tbred. it will be guranteed as B and ill be happy.

    any reason 1700+ B will be better than 1600+ B?

    or maybe i should go to a local bestbuy or some thing and hand pick it... any of you guys have done that?

    thx
    INTeL
    Pentium4 2.4C | DFI PRO875 | CORSAIR PC4000 | WD360GD RAID 0 | Sappire 9600 Pro

    AMD
    Athlon XP 2500+ | MSI K7N2G-ILSR | CORSAIR XMS PC2700 C2 | WESTERN DIGITAL WD800JB

    AMD
    Athlon XP 2000+ | EPOX EP-8RDA3+ | SAMSUNG PC3200 | SEAGATE 7200.7 ST380011A | MSI FX5700-VTD128

  8. #53
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,363
    these are the best bang-4-buck. 1700+, 2100+ or 2500+. hope that helps. think that ppl also go to excalibur or gameve (pardon spelling)
    Spec:
    Lian-li PC-71 w/ TrueControl 550W
    XP2600 (10*208 optimal @ normal=1.726v) w/ Evercool Cu725hs and 120 Evercool fan AS 3
    GA-7NNXP (rev 1.0 bios Pr3ach3r F14)
    512Mb XMS3500 Corsair (2-2-2-11 +0.2v=2.85v)
    Radeon 9700 Pro (stock)
    Aver 203
    Hayes 56k V.92
    IBM 2*120GXP 40GB Raid-0 (hopefully working soon)
    Ibm 180GXP 123Gb ata100
    Ibm 75GXP 45Gb ata 100
    I-panel Deluxe
    Samsung Combi Dvd & Cdrw SM-352B
    MSI D16
    Iiyama Pro 451

  9. #54
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    California
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,723
    I have an AMD Athlon XP 2500 with 0322MPM stepping, i cant find any 0322 with the MPM on that overclockers database and it seems like thats what matters, i found one at like 2800MHz and a few at 2400 and below.

    how high can i OC?

  10. #55
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    430
    you guys were talking about 2600+ bartons...
    ...that would be AthlonXP-M you guys are talking about.
    AthlonXP-M 2400+ and above have 512 cache (barton)

    please go check out this thread i made and tell me what you think
    http://amdforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=251058
    INTeL
    Pentium4 2.4C | DFI PRO875 | CORSAIR PC4000 | WD360GD RAID 0 | Sappire 9600 Pro

    AMD
    Athlon XP 2500+ | MSI K7N2G-ILSR | CORSAIR XMS PC2700 C2 | WESTERN DIGITAL WD800JB

    AMD
    Athlon XP 2000+ | EPOX EP-8RDA3+ | SAMSUNG PC3200 | SEAGATE 7200.7 ST380011A | MSI FX5700-VTD128

  11. #56
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    36
    Hi!

    Your spec's on the 2100+ show a max FSB figure. Does this mean anything upto this figure is okay or does it mean the MB has to be able to run at this speed also.

    The reason I'm asking is that my MB has two FSB jumper settings (100 & 133).
    At the moment i'm running a duron 750 (at FSB100Mhz x 7.5).

    If i install a XP2100+ and change jumper settings to 133MHz it should work.....right? (i.e FSB 133MHz x 10.5 multiplier).

    Am I right??

  12. #57
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682
    No, it's not the MAX posted, it's the "stock" speeds, yes it should run well if your motherboard supports it, check your MB manuf's website.


    Oh and if you do get the XP 2100, make sure you clear the CMOS to reset the settings.

  13. #58
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    430
    amd athlon guy,
    in your sig, you should change
    "amd =better price/performance ratio"
    to
    "amd = better performance/price ratio"
    cause high price/performance means expensive but slow

  14. #59
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    36

    CPU Upgrade

    Thanks Mr A,

    I have tried ASUS website and email to support but no joy.

    If my MB only has two FSB settings (100 & 133 MHz) does this mean I have to find & install a cpu with the same FSB?

    I have an ASUS A7VC Rev1003.

    I've run SiSoftware Sandra which states that I can upgrade up to 1.8GHz.

    If the 2100+ is not appropriate do you have any suggestions as to what CPU I can install?

    Thanks in advance

    PS By clearing CMOS you mean taking the internal battery out prior to installation of the processor and shorting the two points out.....right?
    If so do I need to make a note of the settings before I clear it?

    Apologies in advance for my ignorance but as you can see this is new to me and I neeeeeeed help.

    Thanks,

    B
    Last edited by Bewildered; 08-30-2003 at 01:01 PM.

  15. #60
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,363
    try the 1700+ dlt3c

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •