Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3

    2400+XP - did i get buy the wrong thing?

    Hi all.

    i have just picked up my ABIT AT7-Max2 motherboard, and an AMD Athlon 2400+

    Both are in the box.

    When i was in the car, i suddenly thought if my amd was too weak for my motherboard.

    looking at the back of my amd (through the clear casing), it says

    AXDA2400KV3C

    now, could my motherboard use a better amd chip (not a faster one - ie. i know it can use a 2600 or a 2700) but i'm thinking about FSB and things like that?

    so in other words, should i have spend the extra dollars to get FULL USE of my motherboard.

    i want to know this before i pull it out of the case.


    -PK-

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Orangeburg, South Carolina (summer)
    Posts
    1,320
    2400 is a nice processor. Just OC it a bit and you''ll be fine
    "To follow knowledge like a sinking star / Beyond the utmost bound of human thought ... To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield."
    --from "Ulysses", Tennyson

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Longview,TX
    Posts
    178
    So far that doesn't sound bad, what does the second line below that read? The second line has which stepping it is. Mine is a AIUHB 0247, and so far it taken everything my system can throw at it.

    If it reads AIUGB or AIUHB then I'd say you've gotten a pretty good o'clocking chip.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    i THINK it reads AIUCB

    i think...

    what about my FSB?

    do these 2400 come as 333 or just 222?

    and .. eeks ...

    it says copyright 1999 AMD .. i hope this chip didn't get made then, considering the technology wasn't around then.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    58
    on the second line, like RW2112 shows his as 0247, that is year 02 (2002) and week 47.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    CA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,990
    PK- a 2400+ is a great cpu, however your motherboard can use a 333mhz fsb cpu also, like the 2700 and 2800+. However, you can just set the 2400+ to 333mhz fsb, and lower the multiplier of the cpu (if it is unlocked).

    don't worry about the 1999 AMD thing.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    oooh!

    so i need to UNLOCK my CPU first, and then change the multiplier to something lower (else it will burn out).

    is there a big difference with 333 fsb? i'm using some crucial 3200 512 MB ram chip also.

    and secondly, a link to unlock pwease?

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    CA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,990
    correct. and yes, there is a big difference to 266mhz and a 333mhz bus.

    sorry, but i'm not familiar with unlocking 2400+'s... I only know how to do the older Axp's

  9. #9
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    TTU
    Posts
    599
    well there is the lvl 3 mod u gota connect the last ones on lvl 3
    or look for a bios that lets u change the multiplier for the tbred they may have one for the kt333 now

    etc
    mine is unlocked
    and i am running my xp 1800+ at 200X10
    i lay the smack down in benchmarks
    i recently had a run in with gameve.com and they shipped me the incorrect processor twice and then stopped responding to me so if you were going to order from there i would reconcider as they may try to send you the wrong stuff and still charge u for it
    the one thing that pisses me off is credit card paypal, tell me before you try sending it so i can tell you i ain't accepting it

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    The bleeding edge!
    Posts
    107
    No mod needed. Drop in that chip, set the FSb where you want (166-185) and set your multi to 11-12 or so and reboot. You may need to raise the vcore and mem volts, (to 1.85-vcore and 2.75-mem).

    Your chip should boot at those settings, if you have decent RAM.


    pfoot
    KT7A-Raid 3R Bios
    1G AXIA "Y" @ 1433
    Swiftech MC462 (27~42C)
    256MB Crucial 7E
    Sandra: ALU=1033; FPU=1028
    Gainward Ti4200 295/540
    3dM2k1= 9045
    Antec SX-1030B 350w
    etc.

    Up the Irons!

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The Goat Pen
    Posts
    4,088
    pfoot is right on target All Tbreds are unlocked. And the AT7-Max2 is one of the few motherboards that are fixed.


  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Fran EX NYC
    Age
    48
    Posts
    4,278
    don't worry about the 1999 AMD thing

    All the cpu have copyright 1999
    ASUS Sabertoothz77 T.U.F Series
    Intel i7 3770K 3.5@4.2 4/8 8mb
    32GB DDR 1600 Overclocked Corsair Vengence
    2 Superclocked EVGA GTX 680s instead stock 1008/6008 @1088/6200 befoe I oc it
    2 raid 0 120x2 SSD Corsair Force GT and 60x2 SSD OCZ A III 1 x SSD to speed up external 2TB
    24in 19by12 32in & 65in 1900by1080P
    Logitech Z5500 5.1 505 watt all optical on SB X-fi 5.1 external

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    south east pa,usa
    Age
    51
    Posts
    291

    pure krome

    see the link below



    cpu socket mod
    Asus A7N8X Barton 3200 500watt powmax ATI 9700 Pro dx9/cat3.0a
    fsb@200....11x mult.pc3200 windows xp pro 5398-3dmark 2003 -
    3dmark2001se.....16232

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Fran EX NYC
    Age
    48
    Posts
    4,278
    cpu socket mod

    WOW I wonder who came up with it the first time
    Last edited by Fle@B@gL@ne; 01-09-2003 at 04:54 AM.
    ASUS Sabertoothz77 T.U.F Series
    Intel i7 3770K 3.5@4.2 4/8 8mb
    32GB DDR 1600 Overclocked Corsair Vengence
    2 Superclocked EVGA GTX 680s instead stock 1008/6008 @1088/6200 befoe I oc it
    2 raid 0 120x2 SSD Corsair Force GT and 60x2 SSD OCZ A III 1 x SSD to speed up external 2TB
    24in 19by12 32in & 65in 1900by1080P
    Logitech Z5500 5.1 505 watt all optical on SB X-fi 5.1 external

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    CA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,990

    Cool

    very cool mod. You can try and unlock without causing any visual evidence that you were trying to overclock. Excellent!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •