Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    114

    7VAXP settings that work (FOR MY SETUP THAT IS)

    Gigabyte 7VAXP with Bios F10
    XP1800+
    2ea 256megs of 3200ddr Samsung

    3DMARK2001SE score
    7552

    Sisoft sandra scores for Memory
    2007
    1896




    Here are the settings that I tested and confirmed worked for me

    Memory settings
    Ultra
    Auto (cas)
    TOP Performance (OFF)
    AGP size 128meg
    Mem speed (333)


    Agp settings
    4x
    fastwrites enabled
    DET drivers 41.09
    overclocked 200/400 (standard is 175/400)


    I spent 3hrs testing the different speeds, performance on/off (only works in off for me), cas speeds, agp size.

    This setup now gives me the best score out of 15 different settings.

    Tell me what your settings are and how long it took to get them.
    Heatware is mytime34
    MSN = mytime34@REMOVEqwest.net
    email = mytime34@REMOVEqwest.net

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    905
    You would do hell of alot better with scores with better video card if thats your deal.


    Prophecy
    email: Prophecy1@insightbb.com
    ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
    AMD 4000+ AM2 2x1M
    2 Gigs of CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ATI 1900XT 512MB VIDEO
    HD 250G|ST 7K 16M SATA2 ST3250620AS
    PSU CORSAIR|HX520W RT (this rocks btw)

    Thats the machine Im running now, I got about 4-5 around here but my epeen is big enough without showing off in my sigs.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    203

    Re: 7VAXP settings that work (FOR MY SETUP THAT IS)

    Gigabyte 7VAXP with Bios F9
    XP2100+
    Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro 128mb
    1 x 512mb OCZ EL-DDR PC3500

    3DMARK2001SE score
    13600

    Sisoft sandra scores for Memory
    Can't remember and I don't have access to my home PC for another 21 days

    Here are the settings that I tested and confirmed worked for me
    Memory settings
    Fast
    Manual (cas2) 2 6 2 1T (I think thats what I had the memory timings at....)
    TOP Performance (OFF)
    AGP size 128meg
    Mem speed (333)


    Agp settings
    8x
    fastwrites enabled

    CPU
    Spread Spectrum Enabled

    Software & Drivers
    Windows 2000 Pro SP3
    Via Hyperion 4-in-1 Drivers
    Catalyst 3.0 DirectX 8.1

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    South West UK
    Posts
    315
    Whats this F10 bios then... latest on giga site is f9 ??
    Big Den... Silver Surfer

    Big Den... Silver Surfer
    AMD 4600+ 64x2
    Koolance Exos A. External liquid cooling
    Asus A8N-SLI-Premium Mobo
    1024 mb Gskill - DDR400/DDR550
    1 x WD Raptor 74 gig SATA
    1 x IBM 60 gig ATA100
    1 x Seagate 150 gig ATA100
    1 x Seagate 200 gig ATA 100
    XFX 6800 GT
    Hiper TypeR 480 watt
    Coolermaster Stacker
    Windows XP MCE SP2

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    114
    bios is from using the online bios update
    Heatware is mytime34
    MSN = mytime34@REMOVEqwest.net
    email = mytime34@REMOVEqwest.net

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    South West UK
    Posts
    315
    Thanks for the prompt reply.... got it!

    Will post settings later...
    Big Den... Silver Surfer

    Big Den... Silver Surfer
    AMD 4600+ 64x2
    Koolance Exos A. External liquid cooling
    Asus A8N-SLI-Premium Mobo
    1024 mb Gskill - DDR400/DDR550
    1 x WD Raptor 74 gig SATA
    1 x IBM 60 gig ATA100
    1 x Seagate 150 gig ATA100
    1 x Seagate 200 gig ATA 100
    XFX 6800 GT
    Hiper TypeR 480 watt
    Coolermaster Stacker
    Windows XP MCE SP2

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    287
    Fast Command: Ultra
    DRAM Timing: Auto
    CAS 2.0 3-6-3-1T
    AGP 8X
    Spread Sprctrum Modulated: Auto
    CPU Host Clock Control: Disabled


    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP F9
    Athlon XP2600+/333
    2 256mb Corsair XMS 3200 C2
    2 Western Digital 80gb Special Edition RAID 0
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Plexwriter 48x24x48x
    Sony 16X DVD
    NewQ Platinum DSP
    Toshiba Cable Modem
    Creative Inspire 2.1/2500 Speakers
    Flat Cables
    Antec 550 Watt PS
    Windows XP Pro/SP1


    3dMark2001SE 15,642

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5396102

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples,Fl.
    Posts
    980
    I'm getting an error while trying to install the BIOS via BIOwriter thru windows. Could someone e-mail me F10. Thanks
    PIMP MY RIDE!

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    905
    Aries I would think your score on 3D marks 2001 would be around 15,000 + myself.


    hmmmm


    Prophecy
    email: Prophecy1@insightbb.com
    ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
    AMD 4000+ AM2 2x1M
    2 Gigs of CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ATI 1900XT 512MB VIDEO
    HD 250G|ST 7K 16M SATA2 ST3250620AS
    PSU CORSAIR|HX520W RT (this rocks btw)

    Thats the machine Im running now, I got about 4-5 around here but my epeen is big enough without showing off in my sigs.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    203
    Originally posted by Prophecy1
    Aries I would think your score on 3D marks 2001 would be around 15,000 + myself.


    hmmmm


    Prophecy
    Since I found no "Aries" in this thread I assume your talking to me ("you talking to me?... You talking to me?..." etc). Well I'll try harder but I have Setup the computer as follows:

    Windows 2000
    Via Hyperion 4-in-1
    Direct X 8.1
    Catalyst drivers
    Other device drivers

    Maybe if I get bored and turn off all the services that I don't need to have running and disable any devices that impede 3dmark2001SE I would get 15000.

    I don't know how you expect me to get that sort of score when AthlonRulz using a 2600+ and Memory of similar timing and quality gets 15,642. I think your guesstimation is a little off. Prior to getting the OCZ ram I got 11,000 with generic cheap and cheerful ram. Mind you I haven't done a fresh install since switching from GF3 to 9700Pro so that could explain some of the lack in my score.

    Also if you check out the scores that people have with 2100+ and 9700Pro at service.futuremark.com (when did madonion change its name???) you'll see that most are running with raised fsb. The top one I see is 14827 and thats with a 155 fsb. Something in my system doesn't like non standard fsb. I still have to track it down but I think its the Radeon
    Last edited by Arris; 01-14-2003 at 04:36 AM.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    905
    Apolgies for the mis-spelling the name. I have a friend with a simliar setup and with everything at stock he got a 14,000+.

    He is running WinXP
    Direct X 9
    And terminating some TSR's when running it.


    But I just assumed you would get a better score, no offense meant I was just wondering thats all.


    Prophecy
    email: Prophecy1@insightbb.com
    ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
    AMD 4000+ AM2 2x1M
    2 Gigs of CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ATI 1900XT 512MB VIDEO
    HD 250G|ST 7K 16M SATA2 ST3250620AS
    PSU CORSAIR|HX520W RT (this rocks btw)

    Thats the machine Im running now, I got about 4-5 around here but my epeen is big enough without showing off in my sigs.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    203
    Originally posted by Prophecy1
    Apolgies for the mis-spelling the name. I have a friend with a simliar setup and with everything at stock he got a 14,000+.

    He is running WinXP
    Direct X 9
    And terminating some TSR's when running it.

    But I just assumed you would get a better score, no offense meant I was just wondering thats all.

    Prophecy
    Didn't think you were being offensive, and don't worry about the name, I'm a Taurus actually (some say I'm full of bull )
    Seen enough of your posts to know that you meant no offense.

    I have yet to benchmark with DirectX 9. That may help some what. Also I plan on doing a fresh reinstall on one of my ATA100 7200rpm Seagates and dumping my old ATA66 5400rpm Maxtor. This should remove any extraneous files/programs/TSRs and bloating from windows and my other millions of installed pieces of rubbish

    I also might try running XP to see if that improves the score. Saying that I'm not that fussed about it as long as it all runs like a dream (as it does now), but if there is an improvement to be made without effort that improves matters further then I'll give it a shot.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    287
    When I run 3dMark2001SE on the system in its stock configuration with absolutely no tweaking of any settings it will score in the 14,300 range. The 9700 Pro is an awesome card. If the new GeForce card is faster...you'll have to keep a fire extinguisher close at hand.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •