Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northridge Ca
    Posts
    1,151

    Why do i have Spikes ??

    I ran this HD tach test on my WD800JB drive and every time i run it i get spikes.
    I also for some reason get crazy low scores using the sandra program.

    Maybe someone Has an explanation ???




  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606
    First off, Sandra is shoddy at best. I can go from a 59,000 to a 48,000 on my RAID array.

    I would say HD Tach and ATTO are the best, but ATTO is still filesystem dependent.

    To answer your question with the least amount of babble, it's normal.

    Don't worry about it, that's the way it works as of now.

    Here's my HD Tach graph.



    Here is my ATTO graph.




    Now, granted this is with a RAID 0 array with 2xmaxtor 60GB 2 MB cache drives, on the onboard highpoint controller.

    Later,
    Oz
    Last edited by ozzy983; 01-31-2003 at 04:11 PM.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northridge Ca
    Posts
    1,151
    THx for the reply..
    But even being that sandra reports bad scores why is it that it shows my 2nd drive the WD800BB performs better than my 800JB.

    Pete

  4. #4
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606
    Is that motherboard a VIA chipset?

    If it is, have you installed the VIA latency patch by George Breeze?

    I'm using verion .20 Beta 15.

    Later,
    Oz
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northridge Ca
    Posts
    1,151
    the board is a nvidia Nforce2 chipset board.

    Pete

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Why do i have Spikes ??

    Originally posted by Amd=cool
    I ran this HD tach test on my WD800JB drive and every time i run it i get spikes.
    I also for some reason get crazy low scores using the sandra program.

    Maybe someone Has an explanation ???
    Never rely on Sandra to bench a hard drive.

    Both the sequential and burst speeds shown in your HDTach run are right where they should be. I have 6 of them and none show spikes like yours but others have and I don't think its anything to worry about.

    P.S.

    HDTach is known to mislead when benching RAID setups. Use ATTO for that. It is sxcellent for single drive tests as well. Using both is better yet.

    http://www.attotech.com/software/files/ept163.exe

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northridge Ca
    Posts
    1,151
    My setup is not Raid tho..

    But here is the drive benched using the other prog.



    PEte
    Last edited by Amd=cool; 01-31-2003 at 07:54 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    I know. Just thought you should too.

    Here's HDTach on my 800JB boot drive:


  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northridge Ca
    Posts
    1,151
    can u look at my atto bench...

    and tell me if it looks good.

    Pete

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    My pleasure

  11. #11
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,510
    My NTFS (I know NON-Fat32) Scores !

    "Human's aren't the only species on Earth, We just act like it..."

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    I didn't know you were running RAID-0. Your scores look very good to me. My drives were benched as singles.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    Originally posted by BWM
    I didn't know you were running RAID-0. Your scores look very good to me. My drives were benched as singles.
    Correction - just remembered you said yours aren't RAIDed. Duplicate all of the options/settings shown in my ATTO run and re-do the test. Should look like this:

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northridge Ca
    Posts
    1,151
    the options are duplicated (see my above post)..
    and my read seems a bit slow.

    PEte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •