Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 70
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6,726

    Tips and Tricks

    Welcome! To the Tips and Tricks area. This is an area for Soltek Board users to post about tips and tricks that make Soltek boards run smoothly. With the vast knowledge pool we have, there should be a ton of odds and ends in here shortly.

    There are a few things that will be asked of you before you post in here.

    1. Please keep this an area for tips and tricks. It's not a social function. Please create a new thread to talk about that stuff.

    2. Include a title or SUBJECT.

    3. Please be clear. Make sure that everyone is going to be able to understand your instructions, etc. Don't use terms like "thingy".


    Have fun folks!
    -- Team |RH| @ Red-Hour --

    Athlon 64 XP3200+ Soltek nForce3 250GB SL-K8AN2E-GR 512mb Twinmos DDR3200 Sapphire 9500Pro 128mb 2x 40gb Seagate 'Cuda's 2x 100gb WD's LiteOn SOHW-812S DVD+/-RW & LTR-52327S CD-RW Audigy 2 w/ Zalman 5.1 cans Coolermaster Praetorian w/ Antec True480

    Apple G4 1ghz "Quicksilver" 1.5gb PC133 nVidia GeForce4 MX440 64mb 80gb 'Cuda 160gb "Cuda Pioneer DVR-108 Zip 250 2x M-Audio Delta66 w/ Omni Studio Berhinger Truth B2031A Studio Monitors

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Medina, Texas.... Pop. 87
    Posts
    1,954

    BIOS Upgrades.

    What's this thread doin' back on Page 2 in the Cheap Seats?

    Well here's my first Tip.....

    If the BIOS isn't broke don't flash it.

    Use what you have unless an upgrade will correct
    a specific problem.

    It's healthier that way.



    Pops.
    ....i'm much too young to be this damn old....




    ....My Mail....

    ....My Heatware....

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Fargo
    Posts
    56

    Re: BIOS Upgrades.

    Originally posted by Popcicle
    What's this thread doin' back on Page 2 in the Cheap Seats?

    Well here's my first Tip.....

    If the BIOS isn't broke don't flash it.

    Use what you have unless an upgrade will correct
    a specific problem.

    It's healthier that way.



    Pops.
    Unless you want PCI/AGP Locking! Its honestly not that freakin hard! I flashed by BIOS at 3 in the morning! No problems :P

    For CPU Interface, if your have trouble at overclocking, but it at optimal!
    I comb my hair with processor pins!

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Space Coast
    Posts
    150
    My advice is put a heatsink on the Southbridge especially if you increase the vdd voltage and/or push high FSB speeds because the Nforce2 chipset even the SB gets pretty hot. I used the smallest heatsink from a Vantec iceberg chipset cooling kit myself. I don't think it needs active cooling or a really tall heatsink necessarily just a small one along with some thermal compound to help wick the heat off it.

    My other tip is push the FSB in 5mhz increments at a time when overclocking because "going for the throat" so to speak and pumping it up too fast can cause harddrive data corruption very quickly along with other potential issues like scrambling the bios.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    67
    not supposed to corrupt hard drive if PCI bus is locked at 33mhz or at a healthy manual mhz. <38
    If I had wings I would fly....nah.. barbecue all the way! Hmmm..Special Sauce

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    9,188
    If you're experiecing lagging boot times ie hanging at windows logo screen on boot up it vey likely it could have something to do with the NVidia IDE drivers. If you check your event viewer and see nvide errors then roll the drivers back to the MS native for ide contoller.
    DFI T2RS, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gig Ballistix, EVGA 460GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q6600@3.2Ghz, OCZ 6400 DDR2, EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K-E WiFi, Q6600@3.2ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin XP2 6400 DDR2, EVGA 260GTX
    ASUS P5Q-Pro Turbo, Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin HP 6400 DDR2 EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, MSI 460GTX Cyclone
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R, Q6600 , 2X1gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, EVGA 9800GT
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, Asus 9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3R, Q6600@3.2Ghz, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Space Coast
    Posts
    150
    Originally posted by Seraphic
    not supposed to corrupt hard drive if PCI bus is locked at 33mhz or at a healthy manual mhz. <38
    It's most likely due to the memory but several of us who overclocked too high too fast have had to do repair installs. I got the system32/config file is missing or corrupted myself and I know at least 2 other users who had various corrupted files or DLL's that forced them to repair install.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Space Coast
    Posts
    150
    Originally posted by Radiohead
    If you're experiecing lagging boot times ie hanging at windows logo screen on boot up it vey likely it could have something to do with the NVidia IDE drivers. If you check your event viewer and see nvide errors then roll the drivers back to the MS native for ide contoller.
    I had the sloooow boot issue even though I said NO to the SW IDE drivers during install and it was resolved by using the http://home.t-online.de/home/5200921...P2_x86_ENU.exe patch so there's another option to explore for XP users if needed.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    45
    Change one thing at a time in the bios, Save, reboot and let windows run a while... If it's stable.. "bump" whatever it is you are messing with a little higher and repeat. It may take a little longer to get to Mach 2.8..... but you will get there without toasting the bios.

    An old English saying:....

    Slowly Slowly... Catchy Monkey!
    My Rig

    Soltek SL-75FRN-L :: AMD XP 1700+ (JIUHB:0310XPMW) :: Vantec Aeroflow HS :: 1x CRUCIAL MICRON 512MB 64x64 PC 2700 DDR RAM [184-Pin, CL=2.5-Unbuffered Non Parity 2.5V, CT6464Z335].
    :: ATI Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR AGP :: WD 40GB Hd :: Old Zip CDRW 8x4x32 :: Creative Labs DVD Drive :: Enermax Case

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    naples fl
    Posts
    115
    tip - listen to radio and pops

    up the fsb to 200 and a low multi like 12 2.4 ghz the higher fsb the faster your pc, multi doesn't have much to do with it ;D

    flash bios when drunk, youll be less pissed when you f it up
    h0lla h0lla

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Medina, Texas.... Pop. 87
    Posts
    1,954
    Need a new BIOS chip in a hurry?

    www.BIOSWorld.com has these and they will be
    shipped to you programmed.


    Couple of places to get the BIOS Savior kit:

    www.pcmods.com (RD-1 LPC2)

    www.paragonca.com (PMC2)



    Pops.
    ....i'm much too young to be this damn old....




    ....My Mail....

    ....My Heatware....

  12. #12
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    7,962

    Motherboard Monitor on SL-75FRN2

    Copied from the MBM forum;

    "Alex, I've discovered that disabling "Detect SMBus before detecting primary sensor chip" enables detection of the following additional sensors:

    LM90 local
    LM90 remote
    MAX1617-9(local)
    MAX1617-9(remote)

    LM90 local readout corresponds to "external CPU temp" in the BIOS. LM90 remote readout corresponds to "ABS II temp" (aka on-die readout) in the BIOS.

    Enjoy!
    Harryc


  13. #13
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Conwy North Wales UK
    Posts
    194
    Just a little tip when lapping you might already know it use a small ammount of soap on your paper or some fine oil it will stop the paper clogging and you will get the job done quicker and a smoother finish.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Medina, Texas.... Pop. 87
    Posts
    1,954
    Tired of trying to use alcohol and q-tips to clean the
    Thermal Paste and Thermal Pad off of your CPU's and
    Heatsinks?

    Ease down to your friendly Dollar Store and pick up a
    small bottle of Pure Acetone.

    Pure Acetone is found in the finger nail polish remover
    section of things.

    This Pure Acetone does a dynamite job in a hurry with
    q-tips and does not leave a bunch of residue. It is non-
    conductive and is excellent for cleaning pcb as well.



    Pops.
    ....i'm much too young to be this damn old....




    ....My Mail....

    ....My Heatware....

  15. #15
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66

    Cool

    Good one Pop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •