Page 9 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 275
  1. #121
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Philly
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,184
    .........just hit 11x223 and its runs sweet...........

  2. #122
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New York
    Age
    34
    Posts
    22
    i got...11x200@1.62v
    SHUTTLE XPC SN45G
    nForce 2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP 3200+
    Corsair 512MB PC3200
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    WD 160GB
    Toshiba DVD-R

  3. #123
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    297

    Lightbulb IMO....

    If I had it to do over again, I'd buy the 1700+ w/good stepping for about $44 bucks.

    With the Barton, if you've got less memory than I do I'm sure there would be better results. Frankly, I didn't notice a bit of difference between an XP2600+ and this 2800+ Barton, not in scores, and it overclocks less than the 2600+ would. But at the time, the Retail Box Barton from Newegg was the only thing not on backorder.

    The smarter thing would be to have kept the 2600+ which ran like mad.....get my 16 year old a 1700+ as his 2100+ sucked for overclocking.

    I can post high CPU as in keeping 200X and doing 12X or 12.5X and keep a 1.775v but 217X with 11.5 or even 11 throws me into having to up the voltage to 1.825 and instability.

    The happy median is in the sig
    Bob


    TyphoonPC for myself

    Category 4

    A7N8X Revision 2.00 installed 04-26-03
    BIOS 1004
    AMD XP2800+ (333) BARTON RUNNING NOW 200X 12 1.65v Northbridge removed, AC3 added and it did an amazing difference.
    Corsair (two) XMS3500 CL2-3-2-6 at 2.7v
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro at 1.5v 378/338 IDENTICAL scores as a 9800 Pro
    KWorld TV and FM tuner with remote control.
    Thermalright SLK-800U w/Sunon 85cfm fan sucking the finish off my cabinet....
    Arctic Silver III

    2-Maxtor ATA133's DiamondMax Ultra's 60's
    TDK 48X CDR burner
    Toshiba DVD, Hitachi DVD, DVD-R, RW
    Lian Li 60 mod rear case for two fans, side panel coolermaster fans....
    ANTEC 430 True Power
    IBM 18.1 digital TFT UGXA LCD
    2nd monitor Graphics CRT Sony Apature Grille
    Klipsch speakers ....... two sets of 2.1's and a center channel using an amp and Klipsch center speaker.
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1270831


    I have so many fans my wife thought I was running the vacuum cleaner here in the den

  4. #124
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    81
    i got 11x200 @ default voltages

    18hrs prime95 tested and stable

    haven't had the time to try for more.
    Abit NF7-S rev 2.0
    XP2500+ (11 X 200 @ default voltage 12 hrs prime95 tested)
    SLK-900U w/ panaflo 46.5 CFM fan
    Temps: 35 idle, 41 load
    2 X 256MB Corsair XMS C2 RAM
    ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
    Western Digital 120gig Special Edition 7200rpm 8MB Cache HD
    Allied 450watt power supply
    16X DVD-ROM
    Samsung 52x CD-RW
    Iomega 100MB Zip drive

  5. #125
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    297

    Question SLK-900U

    Hey, how does that 900U fit? I almost bought it but as we all know it is a tight fit, my 800U just barely misses the capacitors but with the easy install directly to the mobo things go smooth. My biggest gripe is the dust it pulls in with the tornado fan....and I even have media to filter most of the incoming fans and I keep 2 Hepa filters going all the time.....CATS, my wife's cats, one being a Maine Coon doesn't help much..
    Bob


    TyphoonPC for myself

    Category 4

    A7N8X Revision 2.00 installed 04-26-03
    BIOS 1004
    AMD XP2800+ (333) BARTON RUNNING NOW 200X 12 1.65v Northbridge removed, AC3 added and it did an amazing difference.
    Corsair (two) XMS3500 CL2-3-2-6 at 2.7v
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro at 1.5v 378/338 IDENTICAL scores as a 9800 Pro
    KWorld TV and FM tuner with remote control.
    Thermalright SLK-800U w/Sunon 85cfm fan sucking the finish off my cabinet....
    Arctic Silver III

    2-Maxtor ATA133's DiamondMax Ultra's 60's
    TDK 48X CDR burner
    Toshiba DVD, Hitachi DVD, DVD-R, RW
    Lian Li 60 mod rear case for two fans, side panel coolermaster fans....
    ANTEC 430 True Power
    IBM 18.1 digital TFT UGXA LCD
    2nd monitor Graphics CRT Sony Apature Grille
    Klipsch speakers ....... two sets of 2.1's and a center channel using an amp and Klipsch center speaker.
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1270831


    I have so many fans my wife thought I was running the vacuum cleaner here in the den

  6. #126
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sierra Vista
    Posts
    336
    Originally posted by Fareastgq
    ( I know this isn't a ram thread but...) Honestly, I don't think the asus board is a good board for high voltage ram. You may find that on a an abit board 2.0 version, you will have better luck as bh-5 chips like high volts. I suspect if you use ch-5 chips, you'll have much better luck for an a7n8x based board. the asus just doesn't give you the juice the ram needs.

    asus max vdimm = 2.8v, (2.9 with uberbios)
    abit nf7-s max vdimm = @ 3.0v at 2.9 bios setting

    You would have to measure with a multimeter/voltmeter to get real voltages.
    Got my second stick of xms 512 and my new 2500 barton (see sig), and I don't think I could ask for a better rig. I got noticable gains over my 2600mp in every benchmark I tried. This is one bad a$$ chip people. and oh ya, xms corsair kicks A$$ too...

  7. #127
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    ThE BrOnX, NY
    Posts
    391
    dag I still need to try and overclock mine. I've only played with the video card.

  8. #128
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada or NYC, NY, USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    654
    Ok new update I'm 100% stable @ 12x200 (2400mhz) with 1.95V with AC on, so I'm hoping to hit a bit higher soon, before I hit 12x200 but I was only stable for a bit, not for 3dmark loops, etc

    Also check my sig for my new 3dmark score at that mhz, hehe
    Old Sig, will be updated soon


    3dMark 2k1 SE - Ti 4200 15161 - 9800np flashed to XT - 01 21162 - 03 7512
    Jhawk's Hardware : http://www.jhawk.ca
    Team Puss 3dMark Team - http://www.teampuss.com

  9. #129
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940
    @ 12x200 (2400mhz) with 1.95V with AC on,
    What kinda temps do you have with those setting??

  10. #130
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    275
    Thinking about picking up a Barton from a trader somewhere.. Havent decided if i want to make that upgrade yet.

    I am thinking i should wait till the Hammers come out, then snatch a Barton. Most people say there isnt to much of a difference when they went from a 1700 to a 2500.

  11. #131
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Philly
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,184
    .......1.95v on air just for 2.4? Dude relax before you fry that thing.....

  12. #132
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    For everybody over 225. Are you running in sync? What timings?

  13. #133
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Philly
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,184
    ......sync at 235fsb is cas2-11-3-2@2.9v.............

  14. #134
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada or NYC, NY, USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    654
    Originally posted by themortarman
    What kinda temps do you have with those setting??
    Temps are 25/25 load, at 1.95 V :P, all my loud fans on and the comp right next to the AC

    .......1.95v on air just for 2.4? Dude relax before you fry that thing.....
    I have good cooling, lapped AX-7 with Thermaltake Smart Case fan 2 and open AC blowing on it, temps are above, and I can do 2.0V if needed and only get 26-27 load, so I'm good. Btw it's not 24/7 so I'm ok

    The max for AMD cpu's are .5V over default, and I'm not there yet :P
    Old Sig, will be updated soon


    3dMark 2k1 SE - Ti 4200 15161 - 9800np flashed to XT - 01 21162 - 03 7512
    Jhawk's Hardware : http://www.jhawk.ca
    Team Puss 3dMark Team - http://www.teampuss.com

  15. #135
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lynchburg, VA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    245
    I think you'll be fine. I'm running 2.125v to get 2.4GHz, temp is upper 40's at load.

    It's all a matter of perspective. I figure even if I fry my XP2500 and have to replace it before upgrading to A64, I'll have spent a total of $180 on my processor. Still a lot less than buying an XP3200. 3 years ago when I hit my classic Athlon 600 with 2.1v to get 840MHz, everyone told me to go ahead and plan on buying a new processor, since it wasn't a matter of "if" but a matter of "when." Well, I waited 3 years for that thing to fry so I'd have an excuse to upgrade, and it never did. It ran 24/7. I finally had to turn to the "it's too slow" excuse, and just retire it.

    Besides, my overclocking choices are somewhat limited. With CPU Interface enabled, my next lowest multiplier option is 8.5.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •