Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292

    amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    anyone tell me what temps they are running with the 6000, and stock cooler...mine see around 56c...a bit warm for me...
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Here a look at my current idle temps with 6000+ and M2N-SLI Deluxe. Stock HS/F and using thermal pad that came with the HS/F. No OC involved.


  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    using thermal pad that came with the HS/F.
    That "pad" should be a very neat layer of shin itzu


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    That "pad" should be a very neat layer of shin itzu
    Would you suggest AS5 or other?

    Edit: oops, sorry TheGlasMan...are you suggesting ShinEtsu G751?
    Thanks
    Last edited by megatonone; 09-08-2007 at 07:54 AM.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    olay, ai boster reads 43 c..not sure why it was 56 last night.
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  6. #6
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    I don't know what # Shin-Etsu AMD uses on their stock heatsinks, just know it's not a pad. Very neat thin square though.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    I don't know what # Shin-Etsu AMD uses on their stock heatsinks, just know it's not a pad. Very neat thin square though.
    Ok, now I understand what you're saying. It's been a while since I installed my new 6000+ and stock hs/f but I do recall that the thermal interface material did look different than the thermal interface material that came with my 5200+ and stock AMD hs/f. However, out of ignorance I just assummed it was a thermal pad

    This reminds me that when I moved my stock HS/F and 5200+ to a new mobo the TI "pad"/"material" that came with it seemed much thicker than normal and I had to work a bit to separate the processor from the hs/f (to the point that I was concerned about deforming the pins).

    The TIM on the 6000+ was much thinner and different looking (grey vs beige for the 5200+).

    I've read some of the discussion threads on this site and others regarding which is the best grease/PCM and I will not belabor the subject any further by asking which is the better

    Thanks for the teach

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Coretemp will show you most accurate temp of each CPU core

  9. #9
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Thank you, megatonone, just didn't want you re-seating your cpu to get rid of the pad!! Didn't get to try it myself as I damaged it before I got it mounted.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    Didn't get to try it myself as I damaged it before I got it mounted.
    ouch

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Not the cpu, just the TIM!!


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: amd athlon 64 x2 6000 temps

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    Not the cpu, just the TIM!!
    aha! much better, no real loss

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •