Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 41 of 41
  1. #31
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Age
    38
    Posts
    527
    I hope you are talkinag about the Thoroughbred cpu, thunderbird.

    Otherwise I ask you what you been smoking for the last 18months!

    Chaos
    Gigabyte GA-7VT880-L - Athlon XP2500+ - 1024mb twinX XMS3700 - Radeon 9700 128mb

    Iiyama VM Pro 512 - Coolermaster ATC200 MX1 - Soltek SL-75FRN2-L -(with)- Athlon XP1700+ - 1024mb PC2700 - Radeon 9600 Pro 128mb - Creative SB Audigy -Logitech MX 500 USB

    Toshiba Tecra S1 - P-M 1.6GHz - 768mb PC2100 - Radeon mobility 9000 32mb (my wireless dedicated LAN server...)

  2. #32
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Age
    44
    Posts
    134
    Originally posted by !nfineon
    is there any major changes between a AMD Athlon Thunderbird and a AMD Athlon XP Barton
    the fsb, the cache, the no. of transistors and of course the name iwtch btw sounds like a fat arrogant englishman....

    http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20030210/barton-01.html
    Last edited by dolphin; 04-22-2003 at 09:50 PM.
    Abit NF7-S ver 2.0 Bios 1.7 Vcc 2.1V
    Barton 2500+ 2324.1 MHz (221fsbx10.5) 1.9V 45C (100%CPU)
    SLK-800U & Tt Sf2 (5000RPM) & Tt Ducting Mod & AS3
    2x512MB PC3500 GeIL CAS 2 11-3-2 (by spd) 2.9 V
    WD Raptor & WD1200JB SE (SATA) & Maxtor DMax 40GB (IDE)
    GeForce4 MX 440 2x64MB 1.8V & 2x17" Philips 107P
    Antec 1080AMG (430W) & 5xTt Sf2 (auto) 58dB 25C
    NB: Tt GeForce 4 Highest Perf. & AS Adh / SB: Abit & AS Adh

    "The Air Force Be With You!"

  3. #33
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR
    Posts
    292

  4. #34
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Age
    44
    Posts
    134
    You will find the answer if you read the article
    Abit NF7-S ver 2.0 Bios 1.7 Vcc 2.1V
    Barton 2500+ 2324.1 MHz (221fsbx10.5) 1.9V 45C (100%CPU)
    SLK-800U & Tt Sf2 (5000RPM) & Tt Ducting Mod & AS3
    2x512MB PC3500 GeIL CAS 2 11-3-2 (by spd) 2.9 V
    WD Raptor & WD1200JB SE (SATA) & Maxtor DMax 40GB (IDE)
    GeForce4 MX 440 2x64MB 1.8V & 2x17" Philips 107P
    Antec 1080AMG (430W) & 5xTt Sf2 (auto) 58dB 25C
    NB: Tt GeForce 4 Highest Perf. & AS Adh / SB: Abit & AS Adh

    "The Air Force Be With You!"

  5. #35
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    4,514
    Originally posted by !nfineon
    is there any major changes between a AMD Athlon Thunderbird and a AMD Athlon XP Barton


    Wow

  6. #36
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Age
    32
    Posts
    475
    dolphin, that overclock is impressive!

  7. #37
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Age
    44
    Posts
    134
    Thank you!
    Abit NF7-S ver 2.0 Bios 1.7 Vcc 2.1V
    Barton 2500+ 2324.1 MHz (221fsbx10.5) 1.9V 45C (100%CPU)
    SLK-800U & Tt Sf2 (5000RPM) & Tt Ducting Mod & AS3
    2x512MB PC3500 GeIL CAS 2 11-3-2 (by spd) 2.9 V
    WD Raptor & WD1200JB SE (SATA) & Maxtor DMax 40GB (IDE)
    GeForce4 MX 440 2x64MB 1.8V & 2x17" Philips 107P
    Antec 1080AMG (430W) & 5xTt Sf2 (auto) 58dB 25C
    NB: Tt GeForce 4 Highest Perf. & AS Adh / SB: Abit & AS Adh

    "The Air Force Be With You!"

  8. #38
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    744

    3DMarks

    Go to futuremark's hall of fame. See who won. I'll give you a hint, not a P4.

  9. #39
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,362
    The XP "3000" does NOT best a P4 3.06 Northwood, and it gets worse when comparing it to a P4 3Ghz i875P, sure it does "win" in a couple of benchmarks but overall it lags it's counterpart, you can blame that on AMD's wacky PR system, they hit a wall at 2.25Ghz with the T-Breds the XP2800 (266Mhz part) to be precise and they are extremely hard to come by, and seemingly 2.167Ghz with the Bartons, just where is that 3200XP? I feel the XP3200 will be clocked at 2.2Ghz on a 200Mhz bus (yes 33Mhz better than a 3000 because of the bus) forget about pointing out OC's, as P4's OC just as well, I have an infamous XP2100 that does 2.32Ghz, I also have a 2.4B P4 that does 3.24Ghz. I see the "SOI" arguement tossed in, but with that pointed out your showing that AMD has REAL problems ramping up the clock, they are introducing their flagship at 1.4, 1.6 & 1.8 GHz... either the technology is a bust or AMD just can't seem to figure out their problems with yeilds. Intel goes to these tech shows with a pre-production part that RUNS at (or a higher) freq. of the parts that are introduced retail later on, I remember AMD had XP's emulating the Opteron for a while, then limped in at 800Mhz before finally showing off a 1.4Ghz (a shipping speed) part a couple of months ago. I think that points out production problems on parts that are clock higher than 1.8Ghz, reason I believe this is because of what happened with the Barton it has a larger cache than a T-Bred and they have yet to match the top T-Bred's actual speed with a Barton part (2.25Ghz). This is make or break for AMD, the Operton looks promising, but if Intel can keep cranking up the clock...... well
    Last edited by Nobody1; 04-27-2003 at 06:28 PM.

  10. #40
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Age
    32
    Posts
    475
    Originally posted by Nobody1
    P4 3Ghz Springdale
    P4 3.0GHz 800FSB Northwood C is not the same as Springdale motherboard chipset. Maybe you're thinking of Prescott? That's down the road a ways.

    Besides, Canterwood owns Springdale.

  11. #41
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,362
    Yes, I'm not to up on following code names, anyway I'm talking about the i875P that's out now. You can't compare an Athlon 64 to this, as I believe Springdale or Canterwood is the competitor there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •