Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    454

    Thought the 3200+ was sposed to be 400fsb...

    seen a couple places listing it now and they say it's 333fsb .


    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6646300
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1361699
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=921862

    XP3000+/Abit NF7-S 2.0/2 Twinmos 256 3200 BH-5/Hercules 9700 Pro/Maxtor ata133 40gb/Logitech Z-560/Viewsonic P95F+B

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Age
    32
    Posts
    527
    If it is be grateful because a 3200+166(333)fsb would prob run at 2333MHz, a bit better than the 2200MHz that the 3200+200(400)fsbwill run at (the performance increase to 200MHz(400) fsb clock for clock isnt that great over 166(333)).

    But alas it is going to be a 200MHz part, that or everyone(media) have been dreaming the last couple of weeks... don't forget the place you buy it from is not so clever as teh place you might read about it....

    Chaos
    Gigabyte GA-7VT880-L - Athlon XP2500+ - 1024mb twinX XMS3700 - Radeon 9700 128mb

    Iiyama VM Pro 512 - Coolermaster ATC200 MX1 - Soltek SL-75FRN2-L -(with)- Athlon XP1700+ - 1024mb PC2700 - Radeon 9600 Pro 128mb - Creative SB Audigy -Logitech MX 500 USB

    Toshiba Tecra S1 - P-M 1.6GHz - 768mb PC2100 - Radeon mobility 9000 32mb (my wireless dedicated LAN server...)

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,225
    Could it be that there will be different versions, i.e. 333MHz AND 400MHz? Pure speculation...
    -soplcod

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,487
    Originally posted by sopclod
    Could it be that there will be different versions, i.e. 333MHz AND 400MHz? Pure speculation...
    that's what I hear, but I think when they ship they will all probably be 400 parts. maybe NDA prohibits the resellers from listing them as 400 parts yet. I don't think a clock speed of over 2200 is planned right now so that would indicate a 3200+ (11X200).

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Age
    32
    Posts
    527
    Just on a note, but if you check news on the MP2800, you'll find theat the core uses 1.6V instead of the normal 1.65 (U instead of V), now if thats the case then there is batch of Barton core CPUs which will go to higher clock frequency with the same voltage, I may chose this MP over the XP I was looking at getting, I bet it'll give a higher clock speed if overclcoked...

    SO If there are is batch of better Bartons coming out, then a 333fsb 3200+ may be released, and later in the summer we'll ge the 400FSb parts...

    you never know we might get a 400FSB XP 3400+, running 2300MHz, now that would be good...

    Chaos
    Gigabyte GA-7VT880-L - Athlon XP2500+ - 1024mb twinX XMS3700 - Radeon 9700 128mb

    Iiyama VM Pro 512 - Coolermaster ATC200 MX1 - Soltek SL-75FRN2-L -(with)- Athlon XP1700+ - 1024mb PC2700 - Radeon 9600 Pro 128mb - Creative SB Audigy -Logitech MX 500 USB

    Toshiba Tecra S1 - P-M 1.6GHz - 768mb PC2100 - Radeon mobility 9000 32mb (my wireless dedicated LAN server...)

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Foothills of NC
    Posts
    1,522
    Could it be that AMD is going to do the same thing like they did with the 2600+? The 2600+ was sold with a 266 and 333 FSB. I do not see why they would not offer the 3200 in a 333 FSB because there are lots of 333 FSB capable mobos in circulation, and it would help to maximise their profits I would think. SS
    Abit NF7-S v2.0
    AMD Barton Mobile 2600+(11x200 @1.5v)
    Thermalright SLK-900A with 92mm Panaflo medium speed
    Corsair Value Select PC-3200(2x512) 2.5-3-3-8 @2.6v
    Leadtek 6600 GT AGP(600/1080) cooled by Zalman VF700-ALCU
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
    Windows XP-SP2
    1x60 Gig Maxtor Diamondmax +9
    Lian Li PC60 case modded
    Enermax 465P FMA
    NEC FE2111SB-BK monitor
    References: Heatware and Ebay Feedback
    3DMark 05=3964
    3DMark 03=8850

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near São Paulo, Brazil
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,416
    Originally posted by Sling Shot
    I do not see why they would not offer the 3200 in a 333 FSB because there are lots of 333 FSB capable mobos in circulation, and it would help to maximise their profits I would think. SS
    Maybe because they are yet to have a CPU that passes their validation tests while running at 2333 (14*166) MHZ? This would be (theoretically) what they would need to call it a 3200+.

    If they use a 400 FSB, however, they should only need 2200 MHz (200*11) to call it a 3200+.

    I hate those PR crap, even more after the release of 166 Tbreds and Bartons, where two CPUs that run at totally different speeds could be called the exact same model number
    ***STILL WITH THE DARK SIDE, BUT PLANNING TO GO BACK TO AMD SOON ***

    C2D E6400/ GA-P35-DS3 / HD4670


  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Age
    32
    Posts
    527
    The PR scale is a neccessary evil, and if you can't understand how the scale changes with different CPU, fsb, and RAM frequencies then the PR rating is designed for you, but your own confusion seems to be getting in the way of using the system.

    Chaos
    Gigabyte GA-7VT880-L - Athlon XP2500+ - 1024mb twinX XMS3700 - Radeon 9700 128mb

    Iiyama VM Pro 512 - Coolermaster ATC200 MX1 - Soltek SL-75FRN2-L -(with)- Athlon XP1700+ - 1024mb PC2700 - Radeon 9600 Pro 128mb - Creative SB Audigy -Logitech MX 500 USB

    Toshiba Tecra S1 - P-M 1.6GHz - 768mb PC2100 - Radeon mobility 9000 32mb (my wireless dedicated LAN server...)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •