Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 85
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    ATX! (that is, Austin, TX)
    Posts
    534

    Talking Silicon Image reports data corruption fix available!!!

    Because I've corresponded with tech support at Sil, I think I'm on some sort of mailing list for the data corruption issue. They just e-mailed me to give me this update. I have not, as of yet, tried to actually find the download of which they speak. But the text of the e-mail is included here for your enjoyment and celebration without editing, save for linefeeds.
    ===========================================
    For those of you who have email us with questions regarding this issue, this isjust to let you know that we have identified the issue with nVidia regarding theissue with RAID 0 data corruption with the nForce-based motherboards. This wasidentified as a problem with the PCI bridge in the corelogic that affected the way data was transferred to our SATA controller chip.

    A system BIOS fix has been posted by nVidia and is available from our support site below, from nVidia, or your respective motherboard manufacturers. The fix is in system BIOS only and does not require any revisions to existing SiI3112A drivers.

    Those of you using the beta "patch" driver posted several days ago should revert to your old drivers or download the latest SiI3112A drivers from our Knowledgebase. The patch driver was only meant as a stopgap measure to stop the data corruption from occurring, but had a significant performance trade off.

    http://12.24.47.40/?cid=2&c=12&cpc=U...P4SveI6dt2WJi7


    Best Regards,


    Silicon Image Technical Support
    "Beware the lollipop of mediocrity; lick it once and you suck forever."
    ------------------------------------
    NF7-S v2.0, 1700+ DLT3C 0310WPMW @ 2600 MHz (217 x 12.0), SLK-900(U) w/ 92mm Tornado, 1 GB Corsair XMS, RAID-0 (via SATA) w/WD 800JBs, ATi Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec True430, Samsung SyncMaster 152T (via DVI)

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    ATX! (that is, Austin, TX)
    Posts
    534
    Apparantly, the Sil support page doesn't like direct linking so go to the Silicon Image website, go to "Product Support". Then open "Serial ATA" --> "Controllers" --> "Sil3112/Sil3112A." using the Explorer-like left pane. Then go to article 10516 "nForce RAID 0 Data Corruption"

    Once inside the article, there is a .ZIP attachment available. I think I can direct link to it, so here it is

    I can't wait to get home to try it out!
    "Beware the lollipop of mediocrity; lick it once and you suck forever."
    ------------------------------------
    NF7-S v2.0, 1700+ DLT3C 0310WPMW @ 2600 MHz (217 x 12.0), SLK-900(U) w/ 92mm Tornado, 1 GB Corsair XMS, RAID-0 (via SATA) w/WD 800JBs, ATi Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec True430, Samsung SyncMaster 152T (via DVI)

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    176
    OK, this might be a stu***d question, but do I need to extract the files 1st to a floppy, then reboot, with the floppy in the drive and then run nvflashs.exe? or do I need to do something else?
    It is a zip file with only 2 files, a .bin and an .exe


    zeus
    ____
    nf7-s v 1.2 bios 17
    Last edited by zeus; 05-01-2003 at 09:20 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    ATX! (that is, Austin, TX)
    Posts
    534

    Exclamation

    Someone else replied to the post I wrote (that's identical to this one) in which the nvflashs will overwrite the normal system BIOS in addition to the Sil BIOS.

    So I'm not sure we can use directly the file that Sil released today. It may have to be folded into a general NF7-S BIOS file to work properly.

    So, be very careful with what you do.
    "Beware the lollipop of mediocrity; lick it once and you suck forever."
    ------------------------------------
    NF7-S v2.0, 1700+ DLT3C 0310WPMW @ 2600 MHz (217 x 12.0), SLK-900(U) w/ 92mm Tornado, 1 GB Corsair XMS, RAID-0 (via SATA) w/WD 800JBs, ATi Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec True430, Samsung SyncMaster 152T (via DVI)

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Longview, Washington.
    Posts
    419
    Not a stu***d question.

    But I don't think we can use this file.

    I think it must be incorporated into the NF7 bios by Abit for us.
    Case: Kingwin Aluminum
    PSU: Antec 550 TruePower
    Motherboard: Abit NF7-S Raid
    Abit Bios: Abit's 18 (05-13-2003)

    CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2400+
    Memory: 1024mb 2700 Corsair XMS 2700
    Hardware Monitor: MacPower Digital Doc 5

    Ide 1 Master: IBM 120Gig 180GXP Hard Drive
    Ide 1 Slave: Empty
    Ide 2 Master: WD 120gig 1200JB Hard Drive
    Ide 2 Slave: Sony DRU-500A DVD-R/-RW

    SATA 1: Seagate 120gig SATA V Hard Drive
    SATA 2: Seagate 120gig SATA V Hard Drive

    AGP Slot: Gainward Geforce 4 TI-4200 (VGA-DVI-SVideo)

    PCI Slot 1: Empty
    PCI Slot 2: Empty
    PCI Slot 3: Empty
    PCI Slot 4: Empty
    PCI Slot 5: Empty

    OS: Windows XP Professional Corporate w/SP1a
    Video Driver: Nvidia 41.13 Detonators
    Sata Raid Driver: Sil 1.0.0.28 (02-24-2003)
    System Drivers: Nvidia Nforce2 2.03


  6. #6
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    452
    Well i was the first guinea pig to make the mistake thinking that only the SATA bios would be affected. IT FLASHED the whole s hit


    BEWARE THE FUGGIN SYSTEM BIOS IS AFFECTED ALSO. WHEN PROMTED TO REWRITE THE FIRST 256k BLOCK TELL IT NO OR ELSE YOU WILL PISSED LIKE I AM RIGHT NOW> IT WILL KILL YOUR FUGGIN SYSTEM.
    Lian Li PC-A77F
    ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 - 3.7 GHZ
    Corsair Dominator 16GB@1333
    XFX Radeon 5770
    CORSAIR Professional Series AX850
    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX - System Drive
    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX - 5 (RAID 0)
    Samsung BX2450 Monitor
    Pioneer BDR-203 Blu-Ray Burner

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    167
    Originally posted by TheOverClocker
    Well i was the first guinea pig to make the mistake thinking that only the SATA bios would be affected. IT FLASHED the whole s hit
    hope this helps -
    http://www.excaliberpc.com/product_i...oducts_id=1817

    or

    http://www.excaliberpc.com/product_i...oducts_id=1818

    things could always be worse (like messing up a vmod, slipping with a screwdriver and cutting traces, etc..). And after this is over, you'll have a backup bios.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    atl, georgia tech
    Posts
    79
    i have installed the new corelogic bios and no problems so far!! i am using an a7n8x deluxe not a nf7-s but i would think that it would be the same. corelogic has nothing to so with the board bios it is the nvidia bios for the pci connections (south bridge)

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    atl, georgia tech
    Posts
    79
    i would also like to say that after reading this i was worried about my bios so i rebooted and i still have my same bios (still fully functional) and the sata bios is still 4.2.12 so i am proof that you can flash this yourself.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new zealand
    Posts
    49
    babalouj

    How did you flash it exactly,step by step please
    Abit NF7_S V2.0 w/RD1 Bios Savior
    T-Bred B 2100+ @205x11.5 - 1.85v - 35c Idle,43c Load
    SLK800 w/Smartfan2
    512Mb Kingston HyperX DDR370-vdim 2.7
    Radeon 8500LE
    Seagate 60Gb 7200rpm
    Maxtor 40Gb 7200rpm

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Moon
    Posts
    174
    The flashing worked... substantially improved performance and no corruption...

    Just make sure you start the nvflash program first and don't try to flash at the commandline...

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new zealand
    Posts
    49
    Thanks mcstream,Know i can finally use my PATA to SATA converter.
    Last edited by Kb_cruncher; 05-01-2003 at 09:16 AM.
    Abit NF7_S V2.0 w/RD1 Bios Savior
    T-Bred B 2100+ @205x11.5 - 1.85v - 35c Idle,43c Load
    SLK800 w/Smartfan2
    512Mb Kingston HyperX DDR370-vdim 2.7
    Radeon 8500LE
    Seagate 60Gb 7200rpm
    Maxtor 40Gb 7200rpm

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,487
    Can someone who has sucessfully did this on the NF7 2.0 please post exact instructions? Why do we have to wait so long for abit to provide a safe way to do this?

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Moon
    Posts
    174
    This is what I did and it works perfectly...

    "Originally posted by babalouj
    ok lets step through this. these are my exact steps.
    1) create a dos boot disk
    2) copy nvflashs and 6a61ba02.bin file to disk
    3) booted up and typed nvflashs at the dos prompt
    4) pressed the load new image button(i think 1 or 2)
    5) it asked me if i wanted to load zeros in the first 256k of the file, i said yes
    6) it asked me which memory image to use, i used the new memory image
    7) i loaded the .28 raid drivers in windows and viola!
    hope this helps!!!"

    This applies to ALL nforce2 boards with the MCP-T southbridge...

    Peace.


  15. #15
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    452
    Originally posted by mcstream
    This is what I did and it works perfectly...

    "5) it asked me if i wanted to load zeros in the first 256k of the file, i said yes
    Are you sure about that. That is what I did and i toasted my bios. My steps were similar

    1 create dos disk
    2. copy files to floppy
    3. on cmd line type nvflash.exe bin file
    4. asked if i wanted to write zeros to the first 256k block. said yes
    5. re-programmed
    6. prompted me to reboot.
    7. **** doesnt happen after that. Order new bios dont pass go dont collect 200.00
    Lian Li PC-A77F
    ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 - 3.7 GHZ
    Corsair Dominator 16GB@1333
    XFX Radeon 5770
    CORSAIR Professional Series AX850
    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX - System Drive
    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX - 5 (RAID 0)
    Samsung BX2450 Monitor
    Pioneer BDR-203 Blu-Ray Burner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •