Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    298

    WD Rapter single drive question

    I am using a WD Raptor 36 gig in a single drive setup on an Asus A7N8X MD, and when I start up my PC it boots into windows very fast but I cant access anything for about 20 seconds. Its like its thinking about it then..................ok now you can use me, thanx. Anyone have any ideas??

    Specs:
    Asus A7N8X MD
    WD Raptor 36 gig single setup
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    Windows XP Pro
    1024 Megs Ram PC 2700
    NForce2 Onboard sound


    TIA
    Intel Core2 Duo 6600
    Asus P5N32E-SLI
    Dual Western Digital Raptor's 74Gig 10,000 RPM 16Meg cache RAID0
    Dual 80 gig Seagate Barracuda's RAID0
    Nvidia/ASUS 8800GTX
    Samsung DDR2 Dual channel 2Gig
    WindowsXP Pro

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    Hang in there. There are several members who are Raptor owners and they'll help you. I still want one to play with

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    150
    I'm sorry, I can't help you... but maybe you can help me. I just got a Raptor on my A7N8X and I can't get the darn thing to work. I updated to the newest 2.0 bios w/ the uber updated Sata bios. I also updated my windows drivers to the .29 driver set. I'm still booting off my old primary IDE drive because I want to get the data off it, and I can't see the Raptor in explorer. But I can see it in device manager.

    Any idea what I'm doing wrong??

    (sorry for the off topic question)
    Asus A7N8X DLX rev. 2.00 w/XP2500+ @ 3200+
    1 Gig of Corsair XMS3200 Twinx
    ATI 9700 Pro w/ Zalman
    2x WD SATA Raptor in RAID 0
    Maxtor 40gig Music Drive
    M-Audio Audiophile 24/96
    CoolMaster ATC-111SX
    Viewsonic VP171b
    Krell 400xi with Paradigm S2s

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    298
    I had to download drivers from Asus and put them on a floppy, then load the drivers in windows setup to get mine to work. If you already have windows set up, then you need to go to device manager, then click on your WD drive, then click properties, then choose update driver, then point to your CD ROM and the correct folder for the SATA drivers, and it should install them for you. Hope that helps ya.


    I hope someone can help ME!!

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: WD Rapter single drive question

    Originally posted by AMDFREAKY
    I am using a WD Raptor 36 gig in a single drive setup on an Asus A7N8X MD, and when I start up my PC it boots into windows very fast but I cant access anything for about 20 seconds. Its like its thinking about it then..................ok now you can use me, thanx. Anyone have any ideas??
    Have you messed with the jumper on the drive, by chance? Please read the following to eliminate that as a possible cause.

    http://www.amdforums.com/showthread....hreadid=220416

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MA
    Posts
    25
    have you formatted the drive? It doesn't have a usable file system on it so explorer doesn't see it, but it is a valid device for the device manager.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tacoma Wa
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,279
    ryGT1

    go into disk manage and use it to partion and format the drive
    Apple MackBook Pro Intel vers duel booted with Vista

    Windows desktop system in work.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    150
    What is disk manage? And... I just tried to do a fresh XP install on the drive with my Pata drive unplugged. I put the .29 drivers on a floppy, tried to load them, and windows setup said it didn't recognize them.... ugh.
    Asus A7N8X DLX rev. 2.00 w/XP2500+ @ 3200+
    1 Gig of Corsair XMS3200 Twinx
    ATI 9700 Pro w/ Zalman
    2x WD SATA Raptor in RAID 0
    Maxtor 40gig Music Drive
    M-Audio Audiophile 24/96
    CoolMaster ATC-111SX
    Viewsonic VP171b
    Krell 400xi with Paradigm S2s

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    298
    how did this turn into a thread to help someone else?? No offense ryGT1.

    I have not messed with the jumpers at all.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    150
    None taken... just thought I would save a post thats all.

    What version sata windows drivers are you using?

    And atleast you can get yours to work!!
    Asus A7N8X DLX rev. 2.00 w/XP2500+ @ 3200+
    1 Gig of Corsair XMS3200 Twinx
    ATI 9700 Pro w/ Zalman
    2x WD SATA Raptor in RAID 0
    Maxtor 40gig Music Drive
    M-Audio Audiophile 24/96
    CoolMaster ATC-111SX
    Viewsonic VP171b
    Krell 400xi with Paradigm S2s

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    298
    not sure, I would just check Asus' website 1st. Thats all I did. After I did that I rebooted and it recognized my drive. Do you have SCSI as second boot device in the BIOS?? Mine wouldnt work unless that was done too. If you are using it to boot from it has to be set as SCSI in the BIOS as 1st boot device. Maybe that will help ya?


    I remember seeing a place to download drivers specifically for floppy disks to use in Windows setup. Look hard and you might find them. I'll look too......................
    Last edited by AMDFREAKY; 05-23-2003 at 08:58 PM.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    150
    If you go into device manager, and right click on your Sata driver under SCSI and RAID controllers, hit properties, go to the driver tab. There you will find the version driver you are using.

    If you want, download the newest driver here

    It's version .29 and it might help you. You will have to manually update your driver but hitting the update driver under the same driver tab, find the driver you downloaded, and viola.

    Just as an update with my situation, I found disk manager under administaion tools, and found out how to format the drive.

    So I should be all set, thanks for everybodys help!
    Asus A7N8X DLX rev. 2.00 w/XP2500+ @ 3200+
    1 Gig of Corsair XMS3200 Twinx
    ATI 9700 Pro w/ Zalman
    2x WD SATA Raptor in RAID 0
    Maxtor 40gig Music Drive
    M-Audio Audiophile 24/96
    CoolMaster ATC-111SX
    Viewsonic VP171b
    Krell 400xi with Paradigm S2s

  13. #13
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606
    Try doing this...

    Right click my computer, goto properties, then hardware, then device manager. Goto your NIC, then goto the properties sheet for it. Under advanced there you should see a drop down menu for your connection. It should be at auto neogotiation. Change it to 100BASETX FULL.

    See if that fixes it. If not, you can hope over to www.tweakxp.com and try disabling some of the services you don't need. It is possible that one of those in hanging you up.

    Later,
    Oz
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    298
    thanx ozzy I will give that a shot.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    298
    try disabling some of the services you don't need. It is possible that one of those in hanging you up.

    that did it. Thanx!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •