Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316

    Question Best ram for upcoming upgrade?

    Hey peeps,
    I am planing to order some stuff in the next couple of days. I am going to go with the epox 8RDA+. Right now im ny current rig as you can see i have 1 stick of samsung 2700(512) and another 256 stick. i wanted to know what i should get to use in my new Mobo for dual channel. I dont want to spend to much but i do want some fast stuff. thanks.

    P.S. I want to order all my stuff from newegg but if you really think i should get a certain brand somewere else then just say so.
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    28
    Posts
    13,680
    TwinMos is great ram for your mobo.

    But since you said you wanted to order from newegg. You can get TwinMos from not so well-known stores or from individuals who have them on sale here.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    28
    Posts
    20,454
    What he said
    PORTABLE: Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.4GHz | 4GB PC6400 DDR2 | 160GB 7200rpm HDD | ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 | 8x DVD±RW/Blu-Ray | 15.6" UltraSharp TrueLife display

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,371

    Re: Best ram for upcoming upgrade?

    Originally posted by rustyf50
    Hey peeps,

    P.S. I want to order all my stuff from newegg but if you really think i should get a certain brand somewere else then just say so.

    http://www.amdforums.com/showthread....hreadid=215882

    Not so much a certain brand, this person has what your looking for and maybe you've looked already. Has good repor with people from this forum....take a look....

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    95
    Just to warn you on your memory. If you are going to use them with your PC2700, then your memory will only be as fast as your weakest link, so buying something like PC3500 will be a waste of money since it will only run at 166mhz, total waste IMO.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,371
    a ronin

    Point taken, to enjoy the dual channel the pc3500 would be nice. Since he already has the 2700 and really dosn't want to upgrade all over again then best to stick with the same that he has already.

    My booboo sorry rustyf50

    socom18e

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    214
    nForce 2 + twinmos pc3200 = w00tw00t
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    Abit NF7-s v2.0
    1gb // OCZ PC-3500 El DDr
    Sapphire ATi Radeon 9800Pro (4.7s) @ 407/720
    WD800JB x2
    Audigy-2
    Antec Truepower 550w

  8. #8
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316
    I guess twinmos is the sh!t. Il go with that. 2 sticks of 256 enough?
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas Baby
    Posts
    64
    This ram you speak of is better than XMS series you say???

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    28
    Posts
    13,680
    Originally posted by Angelia
    This ram you speak of is better than XMS series you say???
    Yes and Cheaper
    Last edited by Drisler; 06-30-2003 at 05:14 PM.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    9
    So TwinMOS is like one of the best-bang-4-the-buck type of memory plus it's really good? What about Mushkins and those other brands? BTW, where can I buy TwinMOS online?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •