Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    17

    2 different sticks of memory?

    Hey guys, is it a problem if I have one stick of kingston memory and one stick of micron memory??

    I have a 256 mg stick of kingston pc2700 and I want to get another 256 stick, but do I have to get kingston, or can I get a stick of micron?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    34
    Posts
    13,673
    There's a memory forum, dude..

    What motherboard you have?

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    17
    esc k7s5a

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,798
    Theres a memory forum?! wholly crap there is
    http://www.amdforums.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=65

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    33
    Posts
    10,167
    Moved

    Alex

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    17
    Ok, so there is a memory forum...


    Now that we have established that, can we get back to the &@*#& topic?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    45
    I had 1 512micron PC2100 in my Dragon+ and when I got a deal on another 512 I put it in
    The other stick was from Kingston and it ran OK BUT I had to set my CAS back to 2.5 from 2.0 (not as fast)
    It might be that Kingston just is not as good as Micron or a thing with that motherboard (It is known to have memory slot problems)
    Memory is Memory and all memory of the same speed should work together (all 2700 should work with all other 2700 memory)
    but its not a perfect world
    Just remember that all your memory will run well only at the speed of the slowest one
    ED

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    17
    Thanks for the info Ed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •