Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    115

    Question paired mem vs buying separatly

    currently pair memory systems seem to cost about $40 more than two stick of roughly equivelant memory...

    think it makes a difference?
    (hopefully i can buy one stick now and one when i need/have more money)

    i presume most memory is pretty much the same but anyone have some strong feelings to recommend?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104
    think it makes a difference?
    There are definitely differing opinions on this. Mine is that I am fairly strongly irritated by the sale of Twin-Packs for a premium price and feel that it is a questionable marketing tactic preying on the FUD of a builder. I don't really wish to say more on that. The other side will present itself.
    One thing with buying seperately however. If you buy at different times, be sure to keep all the information you can about your first set of modules on hand. When you get the next piece, you will want to ask the memory maker if they are still compatible. Sometimes chips used and spd programming can be changed for whatever reason. They will know about that and can tell you by e-mail.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    115

    ah..

    that's what i was thinking too....

    now, to fish for the other side...


    Anyone LOVE paired memory kits and can show with some numbers WHY they're better (or at least worth the extra money)???

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    242
    I can give you opinion as well as many will. No one, including hardware sites, will do enough testing to give you a meaningful engineering answer. They can't afford to buy enough samples and most memory manufacturers won't give it to them. Plus who would put in the time to do all the testing?

    I would ask myself one question, if it made an real difference why aren't they quoting data and results to me so I'll buy?
    ASUS P8Z68-V Pro , Intel i7 2600K @4.7Ghz using 1.38V
    -- GSkill DDR3 2133 (2*2Gb) 9-10-10-28
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX570, SB Audigy2ZS + Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- 120G Intel 510, 120G RST RAID 0, Areca RAID 5, 4 80G SATAII HDDs
    -- PC P&C Silencer 750 QUAD in Lian-Li PC-V1200
    -- Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
    ASUS Rampage II Extreme @180Mhz, Intel i7 920 D0 @3.6Ghz using 1.3V, Thermalright 120
    -- G.Skill DDR3 1600 (3*2Gb) 8-8-8-21, Win7 64-bit
    -- Lian-Li PC-V1200

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104
    meaningful engineering answer...if it made an real difference why aren't they quoting data and results to me
    Makes one wonder...
    We know Nforce2 is fussy about memory, but is it such a touchy thing that despite the best modern manufacturing efforts, it is still necessary for some guy to put each module together in a machine to see if it will work? They just can't figure out what that dang Nforce needs?
    LOL.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Foothills of NC
    Posts
    1,522
    The main reason is compatibility, so they say. Performance wise, I don't think it will make a difference.

    A Chinese wiseman once said, "A fool and his money are soon departed".
    Abit NF7-S v2.0
    AMD Barton Mobile 2600+(11x200 @1.5v)
    Thermalright SLK-900A with 92mm Panaflo medium speed
    Corsair Value Select PC-3200(2x512) 2.5-3-3-8 @2.6v
    Leadtek 6600 GT AGP(600/1080) cooled by Zalman VF700-ALCU
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
    Windows XP-SP2
    1x60 Gig Maxtor Diamondmax +9
    Lian Li PC60 case modded
    Enermax 465P FMA
    NEC FE2111SB-BK monitor
    References: Heatware and Ebay Feedback
    3DMark 05=3964
    3DMark 03=8850

  7. #7
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104
    reason is compatibility, so they say
    Right, so for more ram we must buy a carefully tested triple pack.
    Suure










    I really will shut up now.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    654
    HINT!
    I dont think you will find any twin or dual packs with the winbond chips!(TwinMOS dual pack is the slower TMD chips)
    John D
    PAYPAL= PM for info.
    HOT~HOT~HOT~ ~TwinMOS/Buffalo WINBOND CH-5 , PC3200 LOWEST $'S IN THE WORLD!
    8RDA+ @ 230 FSB
    AMD AXDA 2600 BOX 333FSB @ 2.5
    SLK-800A 80MM
    MaX ata 133/72 40G
    Buffalo CH-5 2X256MB PC3200
    Leadtek GF4 TI4400
    52X liteon burner
    16X48X liteon DVDROM
    Verizon dsl 1500/128
    Westell dual dsl modem
    Linksys wireless 4 port switching dsl router
    Addtronics modded godzilla server case with TOPOWER 520 WATT & appache 2X120MM & 2X90MM 1X80 fans
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php4?id=12129

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    115

    why no winbond?

    why no winbond? because they're cheaper? *bog*

  10. #10
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,363
    it is more problematic getting two generic brands working together but usually 2 sticks of the same brand should usually be fine unless the spd is really programmed that differently....but in any case most ppl set the timings themselves so that should not be an issue. the twin packs is just the manufacturers ca$hing in on the dual channel architecture of nforce2 boards. for example if yo buy two sticks at the same time the chances are they are make from the same chips anyway which is essentially the basis of twin modules. manufactures just make and pack them them, they dun randomly make and sell them. that being said, 2 pieces of ram bought at the same time (same spec) should perform as such no significantly better nor worse that twin modules.
    Spec:
    Lian-li PC-71 w/ TrueControl 550W
    XP2600 (10*208 optimal @ normal=1.726v) w/ Evercool Cu725hs and 120 Evercool fan AS 3
    GA-7NNXP (rev 1.0 bios Pr3ach3r F14)
    512Mb XMS3500 Corsair (2-2-2-11 +0.2v=2.85v)
    Radeon 9700 Pro (stock)
    Aver 203
    Hayes 56k V.92
    IBM 2*120GXP 40GB Raid-0 (hopefully working soon)
    Ibm 180GXP 123Gb ata100
    Ibm 75GXP 45Gb ata 100
    I-panel Deluxe
    Samsung Combi Dvd & Cdrw SM-352B
    MSI D16
    Iiyama Pro 451

  11. #11
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    242
    There may be other memory producers that don't charge extra but I was over at the Mushkin site and noted that their dual packages for their black Level1 512 3200 is twice the cost of one stick, no extra charge for the "dual pack" over what it would cost you for 2 sticks. One might say they already charge enough but at least they don't seem to be playing the same game many others are.
    ASUS P8Z68-V Pro , Intel i7 2600K @4.7Ghz using 1.38V
    -- GSkill DDR3 2133 (2*2Gb) 9-10-10-28
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX570, SB Audigy2ZS + Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- 120G Intel 510, 120G RST RAID 0, Areca RAID 5, 4 80G SATAII HDDs
    -- PC P&C Silencer 750 QUAD in Lian-Li PC-V1200
    -- Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
    ASUS Rampage II Extreme @180Mhz, Intel i7 920 D0 @3.6Ghz using 1.3V, Thermalright 120
    -- G.Skill DDR3 1600 (3*2Gb) 8-8-8-21, Win7 64-bit
    -- Lian-Li PC-V1200

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •