Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    New York
    Age
    46
    Posts
    541

    Installing Slackware on Dual CPU!!

    I was wondering if someone can give me some info on how to install slackware and get it to detect my dual CPUs. I just did a fresh install of 8.0 and used the bare.img for the kernel?

    I came up with this once i did : cat /proc/cpuinfo

    processor : 0
    vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family : 6
    model : 6
    model name : AMD Athlon(tm) MP 1800+
    stepping : 2
    cpu MHz : 1526.541
    cache size : 256 KB
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 1
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse syscall mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
    bogomips : 3047.42

    Looks like I only got 1 CPU agian :\
    .:FX-51:.
    Asus SK8V | Athlon FX-51 | 2x 512 CorsairXMS PC3200 TwinX | Sapphire Radeon9800XT | 4x WD sATA 38G Raptor (Raid0) | Dell 20" LCD Ultrasharp | WinXP Pro SP2

    .:Ownij:.
    Abit IC7-Max3 | 3.4EE Ghz | 2x 512 Geil PC3500 | Sapphire Radeon9800XT | WD sATA 38G Raptor | WinXP Pro SP2

    .:Duals:.
    Tyan Thunder s4262 | 2x MP2200 | 4x512 Micron ECC Registered PC2700 | 3x 200G Maxtor | Fedora Core 2

  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    5,298
    You must enable SMP in your kernel config (Processor features) and recompile it.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    New York
    Age
    46
    Posts
    541
    OK so there is no set kernel then. Someone had said if I were to do a fresh install it would be detected :| I wish I knew this before I tried because I now have to redo it all... Redhat installed SMP immediately but I get a kernel panic error upon first bootup.....
    .:FX-51:.
    Asus SK8V | Athlon FX-51 | 2x 512 CorsairXMS PC3200 TwinX | Sapphire Radeon9800XT | 4x WD sATA 38G Raptor (Raid0) | Dell 20" LCD Ultrasharp | WinXP Pro SP2

    .:Ownij:.
    Abit IC7-Max3 | 3.4EE Ghz | 2x 512 Geil PC3500 | Sapphire Radeon9800XT | WD sATA 38G Raptor | WinXP Pro SP2

    .:Duals:.
    Tyan Thunder s4262 | 2x MP2200 | 4x512 Micron ECC Registered PC2700 | 3x 200G Maxtor | Fedora Core 2

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Marine Corps
    Age
    34
    Posts
    183
    In new to linux but i just installed Red Hat 9 on my dual opteron rig and it picked out the smp kernal and i didnt have any trouble booting. I also ran the redhat update right out of the installer and got the latest smp kernal to begin with. Hope this helps.

    -USMC___KopfJäger
    USMC Active Duty
    Data Network Specialist [MOS 0651]

    SETI: 2003-2005
    -Started back up 20091202

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    New York
    Age
    46
    Posts
    541
    I got the duals to work.. something with my floppy was making it screw up :\

    I was wondering what the text commands are to run the updates in redhat becuase I dont have any X installed.

    And if anyone knows any services I can leave turned off feel free to post... This is for a gaming server ONLY and nothing else.
    .:FX-51:.
    Asus SK8V | Athlon FX-51 | 2x 512 CorsairXMS PC3200 TwinX | Sapphire Radeon9800XT | 4x WD sATA 38G Raptor (Raid0) | Dell 20" LCD Ultrasharp | WinXP Pro SP2

    .:Ownij:.
    Abit IC7-Max3 | 3.4EE Ghz | 2x 512 Geil PC3500 | Sapphire Radeon9800XT | WD sATA 38G Raptor | WinXP Pro SP2

    .:Duals:.
    Tyan Thunder s4262 | 2x MP2200 | 4x512 Micron ECC Registered PC2700 | 3x 200G Maxtor | Fedora Core 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •