Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Orlando,Fl.
    Posts
    1,209

    Mozilla Firebird

    Anyone using it?Just installed it and it seems to work well.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Off my medication
    Posts
    782
    I use straight out Mozilla, and dig it. I'd probably use Firebird, but I use the e-mail client. I also use the built in web page app, since HTML is beyond me.

    I just wish it would use multiple columns in the bookmarks like older versions of Netscape used to, instead of scrolling through them.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Orlando,Fl.
    Posts
    1,209
    I'm using Eudora so no need for email.I can't believe how much faster Mozilla is.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2
    I have been using Mozilla Firebird now for a couple of months as my default web browser. Haven't had any problems with it at all, very good web browser.
    AMD AthlonXP 2400+ (Stock)
    Albatron KX400 8X
    512 Megs Crucial PC 2700
    Gainward Ti 4200 8X 128 MB
    40 GiG Western Digital 7200 RPM 8MB Cache
    16X Liteon DVD ROM
    52X24x52 Liteon CDRW
    WinXP PRO

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SoonerVille
    Age
    49
    Posts
    173
    Mozilla rocks and hardcore I had heard a nasty rumor that AOL resolved there issues with Microshaft and that netscape and mozilla would or possible could just dissappear....I dont think that would happen there are hundreds of thousands of people that use netscape or mozilla.... and I am one of them
    Rig 1: P4 2.6c @ 3.3 stock air cooled 40|MSI PT880|leadtek gf4 ti4400|1g of kingston/crucial pc2100


    MY HeatWare

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Orlando,Fl.
    Posts
    1,209
    The more I use it,the more I like it.It's my default browser from here on out.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    U.S.
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,724
    I've been Firebird for everything for a few months and it's sweet. I can't stand using IE at work when I'm expected to do research without tabs!!! hehe. Mozilla rules.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,000
    I just cant stand ctrl+shift+L to open a new window. I constantly hit ctrl+o. I like how opera uses f2 at least.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    20,454
    /me ends the Moz lovefest

    IE for-eva baby
    PORTABLE: Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.4GHz | 4GB PC6400 DDR2 | 160GB 7200rpm HDD | ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 | 8x DVDRW/Blu-Ray | 15.6" UltraSharp TrueLife display

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621
    Originally posted by JungleMan
    /me ends the Moz lovefest

    IE for-eva baby
    Oh you are such a young pup!
    I remember when IE was the biggest piece of junk ever! Netscape ruled the roost back then. In fact, if IE wasnt bundled with Windows, I have no doubt that Netscape would have developed into the dominate browser.
    IE works well now, it is just so darn bloated. And it loads fast because it is always running.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    20,454
    Originally posted by John C
    Oh you are such a young pup!
    I remember when IE was the biggest piece of junk ever! Netscape ruled the roost back then. In fact, if IE wasnt bundled with Windows, I have no doubt that Netscape would have developed into the dominate browser.
    IE works well now, it is just so darn bloated. And it loads fast because it is always running.
    Oh I remember well...IE 3.0

    IE 4+ ownz though sorry, Moz/Firebird/Phoenix/whatever just doesnt always render what I want it to and IE does...what can I say...
    PORTABLE: Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.4GHz | 4GB PC6400 DDR2 | 160GB 7200rpm HDD | ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 | 8x DVDRW/Blu-Ray | 15.6" UltraSharp TrueLife display

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Central Cal.
    Age
    65
    Posts
    1,949
    IE 5.5 rules on my wife's machine-it works fast and sweet (on ME no less),but on my machine,IE6 sux--and it's not that I haven't tried to tweak it to work well--it just doesn't have it goin' on.
    Phoenix,on this machine,works as well as IE5.5 does on my wifes .
    IE does render some pages better than Phoenix,but to me it's not worth the wait.

    And the tabs are cool,too.

    ec

  13. #13
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    459
    I too use Mozilla Firebird, I just switched to it a month ago and have fallen in love.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Battle Ground, Washington
    Posts
    1,083
    Is there a way i can get my yahoo account to work in Eudora?

    Thanx,
    Eric
    We love and miss you Troy
    You'll never be forgotten

  15. #15
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Off my medication
    Posts
    782
    Usualy if something doesn't render right on Mozilla/NS it's becasue they person who made the page never bothered to test it on any other browser than IE. Mozilla tends to be pretty strict in enforcing CSS rules, it doesn'ttolerate sloppy code as well as IE does in style sheets. Some times there's funky code that Mozilla doesn't like in a page that was put there to make it render right in IE.

    The narrow message box on this forum is a wonderful example of something that has been intentionaly coded wrong to make it display right for IE. Withthe proper width in the code the box would be way too big in IE. Don't even get me started on IE's lack of PNG support. I found out when I started doing a web comic that IE can't properly display alpha channels in PNG files. Moot point since I use JPGs now, but still agrevating.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •