Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280

    9800 pro 256mb...... white dots in games...bad drivers?

    I have the sapphire 9800 pro 256mb card installed Omega 2.4.74a drivers. While running 3dmark 2001SE at default settings i noticed a lot of white dots on the dragons head in the game demo, and again in the water with fish demo, and around the glasses of the (guy that looks like max payne) demo, when rendering the standing horse theres white dots and lots of tearing. Now when i run 3dmark2003 when it comes to the river scene there are grid white flickering dot patterns everywhere theres water to be rendered, and just about all the demos have flickering white dots...WTF? Is it the drivers that im using or should i be using some other drivers? I have fastwrights disabled in my bios and the cards settings are set for quality in both open GL and direct3D, z-buffer is at 24, TRUEFORM = application preference, support DXT texture formats = enabled, alternate pixel center = enabled. Any help would be great before i RMA this card and go with the FX 5900 Ultra, thnx.
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  2. #2
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    47
    Posts
    4,360
    White dots usually mean the core is being overclocked too much. Is that the Sapphire Ultimate version of the card, or did you add the heatpipe yourself? If you're not overclocking (or your card is set to run faster that stock like the Ultimate version), or your dots show up only after the system has been running a while you may have a heat problem. I have heard all around the net about poor contact on the heatsink for Radeon 9500 and above because of the shim. Some sites recommend removing the shim, while others say to sand or grind it down. Either way the shim is too thick to allow good contact between it and the heatsink - that's why there is a TIM pad (ie: "melted chiclet"). If you installed the Zalman yourself did you check for good contact between it and the GPU? That Zalman of yours should get pretty warm, so I would check it with your "digital thermal probe" (read: finger). If it's toasty, then it's doing it's job. If it's not check for good contact between the two.

    As far as drivers go, you could try using the Omega default settings. If that doesn't work I would try the official CAT 3.6's and use the ATI default settings. Hopefully you won't have to go as far as RMA'ing it.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Where You Want To Be
    Posts
    2,939
    Uhhh...RMA it and get a new 9800 pro256

    Screw Nvidia..I can say that becuase were in a ATI forum.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    Well first off i do have it clocked to 400/350, and yes i installed the zalman myself, did not have a shim around the VPU, and yes its very warm on both sides of the pipe, when i installed the pipe i used artic silver ceramique paste and the meet of block and VPU was a good one. I dont see how the little bit of overclock could be causeing this if the heatpipe is doing its job, i have heard of most people clocking this card much higher without any problems. If Anything else i could switch to cat 3.6, isint cat 3.7 due out like anyday now? I did manage to save a leaked version of the 3.7's but was waiting to see how the Omegas would behave
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,923
    Whatever you've heard, you've got the typical symptoms of an overheating card - sorry.


    M

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    Ok since i last posted i have changed the core clock from 411 to 402 and left the memory at 351.... played jedi academy, chaser, and Tron 2.0.... AND NOT ONE STINKING WHITE DOT, TEARING, OR ARTIFACTS OF ANYKIND!!! Is it possible to eliminate the problems from just switching the core a lousy 9mhz? Hell i even have IQ jacked up all the way with 6xAA and 16xAF, Force Z 24-bit the whole works at 1152 x 864 and not so much as one dot.

    Edit: I may have forgotten to mention it before but i am using the 80mm zalman fan to aid in cooling the heatpipe as well.
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  7. #7
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    47
    Posts
    4,360
    Originally posted by $ilent$uicide
    Is it possible to eliminate the problems from just switching the core a lousy 9mhz?
    Yes, very much so. You just went slightly past your OC limit. The only way to possibly avoid that would be a volt mod, but only in the event that the white dots were from the core not getting enough juice. If you are interested in that go to maximumoc.com for a pic that shows where to mod and what resistor values to use (sorry, but I don't know what the voltage will become - ask Macci if you can find him - he did the mod).

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,362
    Originally posted by $ilent$uicide
    Well first off i do have it clocked to 400/350, and yes i installed the zalman myself, did not have a shim around the VPU, and yes its very warm on both sides of the pipe, when i installed the pipe i used artic silver ceramique paste and the meet of block and VPU was a good one. I dont see how the little bit of overclock could be causeing this if the heatpipe is doing its job, i have heard of most people clocking this card much higher without any problems. If Anything else i could switch to cat 3.6, isint cat 3.7 due out like anyday now? I did manage to save a leaked version of the 3.7's but was waiting to see how the Omegas would behave
    If it feels real warm put a fan on it - nothing too fancy just a low cfm 60x10 and it is still quiet, I had to do so on one setup, not that airflow was bad, it was because the case is in an enclave of a desk and the air the fans blow tends to be warm (even with the A/C on), putting a fan on it not only solved the problem for me, but allowed for a much higher OC (452/400 now).

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    CT,USA
    Age
    64
    Posts
    112

    curious

    Silent Suiside does your Saphire 9800 Pro 256MB have DDR II or regular DDR?
    DFI Infinity NF570-M2/G
    AMD X2 5400+ @3GHz
    8GB 2x4GB Mushkin 6400
    3X36GB WD Raptors 0+3 stripe
    1X70GB WD Raptor
    IDE ATA WD 160GB
    Geforce 8800GTX
    Power and cooling 610 P/S
    Win 2000 SP4/Win XP Sp3/Vista Ultimate 64

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280

    Re: curious

    Originally posted by stilup
    Silent Suiside does your Saphire 9800 Pro 256MB have DDR II or regular DDR?
    DDR2
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Grand Forks, North Dakota
    Posts
    323
    The white dots problem in the nature test of 3DMark03 is interesting. I have a 9800 non-pro flashed to a Pro. It has 3.3ns Samsung RAM.

    In 3DM01, I can overclock the core up to 420 with no artifacts. In 3DM03, if I go past 405, I start to see white dots in the nature test. In 3DM01, I see artifacts from memory overclocking much sooner than I see them in 3DM03.

    In 3DM03, I can overclock the memory faster, but I have to keep the core lower to avoid artifacts. In 3DM01, I can run the core faster, but I have to back on on the RAM.

    I also have modded my card to provide extra cooling, but I'm not certain that it really makes much difference.





    | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 (Rev. 1); Athlon 64 X2 6000+; XFX GeForce 9800 GT with ZEROtherm GX815 Gamer cooler; 4GB G.Skill PC2 8000 RAM; Seagate 250GB and Maxtor 200GB SATA hard drives; LiteOn CD-DVD RW combo drive; Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer; Thermalright XP-90 with 92mm Vantec Stealth fan; Antec 650W NeoPower Blue PSU; Sunbeam Tech Freezing Storm case |

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    CT,USA
    Age
    64
    Posts
    112

    Flashed/////////

    Grandforger,
    that is real neat trick to up your card to a pro.
    Can you reverse your mods in case of RMA?
    I contemplated getting a non pro 9800 but backed out because
    I wasn't certain the the card I would get would do it and I want to run the card at it's best.
    Good for you though. I use my boxed CPU fan for my Northbridge cooling, I don't believe after reading reviews on the Pro 9800 256MB that additional cooling is needed.
    I am awaiting my arrival on a Power Color Ati 9800 Pro 256MB.
    This card has heat sinks everywhere and a quiet fan.
    I am part of seems a major tide towards ATi.
    The king is dead, long live the king!
    Last edited by stilup; 09-04-2003 at 09:08 PM.
    DFI Infinity NF570-M2/G
    AMD X2 5400+ @3GHz
    8GB 2x4GB Mushkin 6400
    3X36GB WD Raptors 0+3 stripe
    1X70GB WD Raptor
    IDE ATA WD 160GB
    Geforce 8800GTX
    Power and cooling 610 P/S
    Win 2000 SP4/Win XP Sp3/Vista Ultimate 64

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Grand Forks, North Dakota
    Posts
    323

    Re: Flashed/////////

    Originally posted by stilup
    Can you reverse your mods in case of RMA?
    I bought this Radeon off eBay for $212. It's a Dell OEM card, so I knew that there was no chance of an RMA if I screwed it up.
    I am awaiting my arrival on a Power Color Ati 9800 Pro 256MB.
    This card has heat sinks everywhere and a quiet fan.
    The stock cooling on the Radeon 9800 is actually pretty good. It seems as if my cooling mod helps the RAM more than it helps the GPU. I think those big aluminum heat sinks and all the extra airflow from the 60mm fan helps to get a few extra MHz out of the RAM. I have a copper heat sink off my Albatron GF4 that I'm thinking about modding to accomodate the 60mm AMD fan and mount on my Radeon 9800.
    I am part of seems a major tide towards ATi.
    The king is dead, long live the king!
    After four straight nVidia GeForce cards over the past five years, this is my first ATI card. I love it!
    | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 (Rev. 1); Athlon 64 X2 6000+; XFX GeForce 9800 GT with ZEROtherm GX815 Gamer cooler; 4GB G.Skill PC2 8000 RAM; Seagate 250GB and Maxtor 200GB SATA hard drives; LiteOn CD-DVD RW combo drive; Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer; Thermalright XP-90 with 92mm Vantec Stealth fan; Antec 650W NeoPower Blue PSU; Sunbeam Tech Freezing Storm case |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •