Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 243
  1. #16
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707
    Originally posted by danny5
    Whoa, been reading through my links. This game needs serious server power.
    Can you post some of those links so we can check it out?
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  2. #17
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192
    Look up Lenny. My bad, too many posts at once.

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707
    Got it. Sorry I thought you were talking about different links. Not good news. It looks like 4-6 players at the very most on 384 upload cable and a 1 Ghz or so server is needed.


    1. How many users can I have on my server? How big of a connection do
    I need?

    These are our current estimates, err on the high side, and aim for
    best performance (sure you could get more on less but that\'s when you get
    laggy/crummy servers):

    \'How big\' primarily depends on bandwidth. A *good* DSL connection (1.5/768)
    can handle about 8-10 players MAX. Slower DSL (such as residential 1.5/256)
    would only be able to support about 4 players at best (same for cable as that
    is usually 256 to 384 on the upload). If you have a 1 Mb SDSL connection (or
    1 Mb on your cable upload) you should be able to support a 12 player server

    As a rough rule of thumb, each player requires anywhere from 50 to 80 KBps.
    You need a *minimum* of a T1 to support a 16 player server, dual T1 (3 Mb)
    for a 32 player server, and just over 6 Mb for a 64 player server (although
    that can hit up to 7 or 8 Mb/sec depending on how many people are connecting
    and downloading maps). Basically you need some serious bandwidth for anything
    over a 16 player server and it should be dedicated hardware (i.e. it\'s only a
    server, no GUI or other apps running on it).

    As far as the hardware, here is a rough estimate/guide of what kind of server
    to host on what kind of bandwidth:


    CPU/NETWORK 128kbit 256kbit 512kbit T1(1.4Mbit) > 2Mbit 10Mbit > T3(45Mbit)
    PIII 500 2 4 8 12 12
    PIII 800 2 4 8 20 20
    PIII 1300 2 4 8 24 32
    PIV 2000 2 4 8 24 64


    General rule of thumb:
    Cable Modem: 4 - 6 players.
    DSL Line: 8 - 10 players
    T1+ 16 - X players. (X is dependant on your connection)


    THE SERVER WILL CONSUME 85 TO 100% OF YOUR CPU. This means YOU CANNOT RUN AN
    INTERNET SERVER ON AND PLAY FROM THE SAME MACHINE. SERVERS MUST BE DEDICATED FOR
    OPTIMAL AND PROPER PERFORMANCE.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  4. #19
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192
    Yea, not a good thing.. So, who has a T1? lol.

    It does say that those are recommended numbers for optimum speed. Not sure how slow it would get if those numbers are exceeded.

    Are you telling my that all those servers online are T1 or better? Sure there are some small ones, but the vast majority are 12 or better players.
    Last edited by danny5; 10-01-2003 at 05:15 PM.

  5. #20
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The hippest place in the Universe (as voted by the readers of PlayBeing).... my left cranium
    Age
    51
    Posts
    9,042
    Well, the server's good for it (1.4GHx t'bird), just a question of the bandwidth. Anyone know if it's possible to change the client's bitrate like you can in UT?



    My rigs My Games

    Join the Fragging Frogs and get your own back on flamers, thread stealers and the mods.
    So you think you know where your towel is?

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    1,893
    wow thats some serious bandwidth needed

    i 'only' have a 512 down 256 up ADSL so that wont be enough for more than like 4 or 5 players at the most. The hardware requirements arnt too bad- its just the bandwith thats needed.
    KIUHB 0325 1800+ @ 2200 (200x11) ~ Thermalright AX-7 w/ panaflo H1A ~ abit NF7-S rev 2 ~ 1Gb crucial DDR (2x256 pc2100, 512 pc3200) ~ Connect 3d radeon 9700pro ~ SB audigy eX ~ 2x IBM deskstar 60Gxp 40Gb in RAID0 ~ CTX PR960F 19" monitor ~ CTX PR500F 15" monitor ~ 550w Q- tec PSU

  7. #22
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Monument, Colorado
    Age
    59
    Posts
    2,519
    How quickly we forget? 1.3/768, 1.3 with 1024mb of ram.

  8. #23
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    1,893
    Originally posted by kamikazee
    How quickly we forget? 1.3/768, 1.3 with 1024mb of ram.
    KIUHB 0325 1800+ @ 2200 (200x11) ~ Thermalright AX-7 w/ panaflo H1A ~ abit NF7-S rev 2 ~ 1Gb crucial DDR (2x256 pc2100, 512 pc3200) ~ Connect 3d radeon 9700pro ~ SB audigy eX ~ 2x IBM deskstar 60Gxp 40Gb in RAID0 ~ CTX PR960F 19" monitor ~ CTX PR500F 15" monitor ~ 550w Q- tec PSU

  9. #24
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Monument, Colorado
    Age
    59
    Posts
    2,519
    add chaosmaker_2@hotmail.com to messenger and I'll explain.

  10. #25
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Corvallis, Oregon
    Age
    48
    Posts
    6,674
    Originally posted by kamikazee
    How quickly we forget? 1.3/768, 1.3 with 1024mb of ram.
    I didn't forget......



  11. #26
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707
    Originally posted by beatendown
    I didn't forget......
    Nor did I I was gonna suggest Kami or Redbox. I wish we had more high bandwidth servers to take the load off those guys.
    Last edited by Lenny; 10-02-2003 at 09:33 AM.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  12. #27
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The hippest place in the Universe (as voted by the readers of PlayBeing).... my left cranium
    Age
    51
    Posts
    9,042
    Originally posted by kamikazee
    How quickly we forget? 1.3/768, 1.3 with 1024mb of ram.
    Hadn't forgotten, just didn't know you had the game.



    My rigs My Games

    Join the Fragging Frogs and get your own back on flamers, thread stealers and the mods.
    So you think you know where your towel is?

  13. #28
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Central Va
    Age
    57
    Posts
    6,982
    Didnt have the Game LOL
    His game list is a novel , and thats just the installed ones

    Thus Always To Tyrants

  14. #29
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192
    So, does this mean some BF is a possibility?

  15. #30
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    1,893
    yeah i spoke with kami on MSN and he says he can provide the server- 1.5 down 768 up. so theoretically thats enough for 8-10 players max
    KIUHB 0325 1800+ @ 2200 (200x11) ~ Thermalright AX-7 w/ panaflo H1A ~ abit NF7-S rev 2 ~ 1Gb crucial DDR (2x256 pc2100, 512 pc3200) ~ Connect 3d radeon 9700pro ~ SB audigy eX ~ 2x IBM deskstar 60Gxp 40Gb in RAID0 ~ CTX PR960F 19" monitor ~ CTX PR500F 15" monitor ~ 550w Q- tec PSU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •