Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 52
  1. #16
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,183
    How do you know how to do the vmods?

  2. #17
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,932
    How do you know how to do the vmods?
    IM SMART I GUESS

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    48

    Thumbs up sweet!

    nice work qwerty!!!

    any benchies??

    ______________
    XP2100 Aiuhb @2.507 218*11.5
    DFI Ultra Infinity
    Gainward GS XP750 128mb 320/700
    1Gb Corsair 3200LL Pro
    2x 80gb WD800JD SE
    Lian-Li PC61 USB
    Enermax 431
    LRWW #155, MCP600
    Thermochill 120, Innovatek fassomatic

  4. #19
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Age
    43
    Posts
    275
    yeah.. U've done well with the Rig...

    Simon
    Here lies one
    who's name is
    writ in water.
    "Keats".
    Gaming Rig:
    [FX-55][Asus A8N-SLI][1GB CorsairXL 22211][ATI X850XT PE][4x160GB SATA+200GB Maxtor Ext. Firewire][Nec DVD RW 3500][Audigy2@Cambridge THX 500W 5.1][PC Power And Cooling 510W][TT Xaser 3 alu][22" Mistubishi SuperBright Diamondtron][Zalman Reserator+Swiftech MCW50]
    Labtop (work):
    [ECS G551 Centrino 1400MHz][512MB PC2700 ECC][M9 Radeon9000 64MB][15.1" TFT 1400*1050][40GB HD][DVD/CDRW][WiFi@home][AC97 5.1]

  5. #20
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,932
    any benchies??
    3dmark 2001 compare in my sig below #3 in the world
    heres an 11,000 pcmark memory benchmark first to take amd to 11k on the A64
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1544386







  6. #21
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,932




  7. #22
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9
    Originally posted by steven975
    shows how big that massive 1MB core is.

    imagine the size of the 2.5MB cache P4EE
    Problem with that statement is the P4EE still only has 512K L2 cache, in other words on die cache, the rest is L3 and is off-die so it would in no way affect the core size.
    P4 2.6C @ 3.03 933MHz FSB, 512MB Corsair TwinX PC3700 CPU:RAM 1:1, Abit IC7, PNY Quadro 980XGL 128MB 8X, SB Audigy, Antec LanBoy, Windows XP Professional
    iBook 12.1" 500MHz (Dual USB), 384MB RAM, 30GB Self-Install, OS X 10.2.8

  8. #23
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Little White Dog Pound
    Posts
    32
    P4EE L3 cache is on-die.


    What makes a P4 EE so "extreme"? Like its server-part cousin the Xeon, the P4 EE comes to the table packing quite a bit of extra on-die cache. Instead of increasing the current L1 and L2 memory caches, Intel has elected to implement an L3 cache.
    http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NTI0LDI=

  9. #24
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9
    If you take a look at the underside of the P4EE and compare it to a P4 3.2 non-EE you'll see a huge difference this is in part due to the cache differences, if it were really on-die, in the core. The core itself would be larger but it's not hence it being L3 and not L2 eventhough it still runs at full core speed.

    -Die often is used synonymously with chip. I.E. the core not the entire processor module itself, just the core. Source: Webopedia
    P4 2.6C @ 3.03 933MHz FSB, 512MB Corsair TwinX PC3700 CPU:RAM 1:1, Abit IC7, PNY Quadro 980XGL 128MB 8X, SB Audigy, Antec LanBoy, Windows XP Professional
    iBook 12.1" 500MHz (Dual USB), 384MB RAM, 30GB Self-Install, OS X 10.2.8

  10. #25
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Age
    57
    Posts
    14
    If it is not "on-die" then where the heck is it? On the old Slot 1/Slot A CPUs, the off-die cache, it was on the PCB, next to the core. On older Socket 7 rigs, the L2 cache was either soldered to the motherboard or was in a socket similar to a SIMM. I way be crazy here, but I don't see where they could put the cache on the P4 Emergency Edition if not "on die".

  11. #26
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9
    It's on processor yes, but to me on-die would mean it's in the core itself, which it isn't, it's on the underside of the processor on the "PCB" what little of it there is.

    Now, I'm not saying I'm the definitive source but I'm going by what would only seem logical. If there is no core size difference between the 3.2 and 3.2EE then obviously it's not in the core aka on-die. And in the past L3 has been known as attached to the backside bus or in the case of Socket 7 CPU's on the motherboard itself.
    Last edited by Instigator; 10-09-2003 at 10:19 AM.
    P4 2.6C @ 3.03 933MHz FSB, 512MB Corsair TwinX PC3700 CPU:RAM 1:1, Abit IC7, PNY Quadro 980XGL 128MB 8X, SB Audigy, Antec LanBoy, Windows XP Professional
    iBook 12.1" 500MHz (Dual USB), 384MB RAM, 30GB Self-Install, OS X 10.2.8

  12. #27
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Age
    57
    Posts
    14
    On the back of the CPU? There's not much room back there on a P4. What would cool it?

  13. #28
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    406
    Nice work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. #29
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2
    The L3 cache is integrated into the die (per the Xeon MP spec sheet: ftp://download.intel.com/design/Xeon...s/25193102.pdf) rather than on a seperate chip under the integrated heat spreader. The cache definitely needs to be cooled and having it integrated into a single die helps spread the heat from the warmer parts of the die as L2/L3 cache don't run nearly as hot as the rest of the die.

    The bottom of the Pentium 4 processors are resistors and other components (http://www.sandpile.org/impl/pics/intel/p4/478.jpg).

    I don't remember where I saw it, but a site had a picture comparing the bottom of the standard P4 and the P4 EE. The bottom of the P4 EE was filled with either pins or the more of the components that line the bottom of the standard P4.
    http://closedsrc.org/
    My Rig: 2x 2.4GHz Xeon, 1GB PC2700, Supermicro X5DAL-TG2, ATI AIW 9000, SB Audigy 2 Plat/EX, 2x 80GB 7200.7's, Plextor 40x and 8/20, Pioneer 106D, Antec 1000AMG, Enermax 460W EPS-12V

  15. #30
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9
    eh, oh well I was wrong it happens occasionally .
    P4 2.6C @ 3.03 933MHz FSB, 512MB Corsair TwinX PC3700 CPU:RAM 1:1, Abit IC7, PNY Quadro 980XGL 128MB 8X, SB Audigy, Antec LanBoy, Windows XP Professional
    iBook 12.1" 500MHz (Dual USB), 384MB RAM, 30GB Self-Install, OS X 10.2.8

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •