Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 116

Thread: Max Payne II

  1. #31
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316
    Aother halo fan

    I agree and im only 2 hours in.
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

  2. #32
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    895
    Originally posted by Galeo Deus on 10-16-2003 at 09:04 AM
    I just finished the game (for the first time). Took me about 8 hours. That may seem short, but with the pacing of the game, the length is perfect. Its about 21 levels, after all: 3 parts with about even chapters each.

    This game ranks up with Halo as the best single player experiene ever, IMO. It's one of those games that leaves an excellent lingering feeling after having completed it.

    I can't wait to do it again.
    Ha that doesnt tell me much, I didnt think Halo what anything special, sure it was fun, but so are most FPS I buy

    I loved the first one, think Im going to install and play it now, as I dont have the cash for MP2 at the moment

    If its as good as the first, I'm sold

  3. #33
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Muncy, Pa
    Posts
    755
    I'm still on part one. So far it's pretty good for 3rd person game. I'm running 2 resolutions above 1024 x 768 and it is smooth with nice graphics.

    Is anyone using 5.1 sound and notice the center channel dropping volume when Payne speaks ?

  4. #34
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    364
    Originally posted by maademperor on 10-16-2003 at 01:49 AM
    wish there was a demo I just cringe at the thought of $50 for a game that will almost definitely be on sale in a month or two....
    the first max payne was a 8 hour finisher aswell, i finished the first one on all the difficulty settings in one weekend and hardly ever touched it again, without the option to be able to replay the game i'd have to say $50 for one weekend of gaming is a rip off

  5. #35
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    395
    Originally posted by The Smokey on 10-16-2003 at 09:44 AM
    I didnt think Halo what anything special, sure it was fun, but so are most FPS I buy
    BLASPHEMY!!!! lol, i loved halo, and am still playing it, i'm getting max payne 2 tonight and i can't wait to see how it looks on my new rig.

    I'm glad that the general concensus is that its a badass game. the videos looked AWESOME, and the motion of the characters when they die is insane. what is really cool is that this was kind of a sleeper, but i'm glad it didn't get as much attention as halo and quake are getting, maybe that has something to do with it being released ON TIME.
    Computers exist to make programmers feel humble...

    Rig_1 <|> Rig_2
    8rda+ rev1.1 <|> ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0
    1700+ <|> 2500+
    axda1700dlt3c <|> AXDA2500KV4D
    jIUhb0310xPMW <|> AQXEA0330XPMW
    1 x 512 Corsair CMX512A-2700C2PT<|> 2 x 512 Corsair CMX512A-3200C2PT
    Asus V9280 ti4200 128mb 8x <|> Gainward Ti4800se 128MB 8X
    SK-7 & TT SmartFanII Northbridge cooled by Iceberq 4 moded to fit on board <|> slk-900 and Vantec Tornado 92mm
    intake: 80mm tornado & 2 80mm led fans <|> intake: 120mm quad led fan
    exhaust: 80mm smart fan II & generic 80mm fan <|> 80mm quad led fan
    2.4ghz 12x200<|> 2.36ghz 10.5x220 1.75v timings 6-2-2-2

  6. #36
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3,269
    how do you guys think this game will run on a Ti4xxx series card? mine is clocked pretty good, what are the chances that ill have some killer graphics. i loved max payne, and now payne 2 has got me drooling. splinter cell loks really good on my box. should max payne 2 look as good also? with a Ti4xxx?
    Quote Originally Posted by mostholycerebus View Post
    PCPer CAN'T have a dollar value attached. For those of us, PcPer is worthless!

  7. #37
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316
    Dude, it looks awsome on my 4200...

    All setting high, 1280x1024 runs smooth as hell.
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

  8. #38
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    73
    This game runs incredibly smooth on my Barton computer.

    When I go home this weekend I'll have a go on my other rig, but I'm sure it will run just as nice.

    I have beaten it already, but I will definitely be playing through it again, and with me, that is saying a lot. Plus if it is anything like the original Max Payne, the mods will make this game last even longer (BRING ON KUNG FU!).

    desktop 1
    Barton 2500 // 1024MB PC3500 // 9700 Pro // 8RDA3+

    desktop 2
    Palomino 2000 // 512MB PC2100 // 9800 Pro // 8KHA

  9. #39
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316
    haha,
    what about the dead man walking part of the game?
    That should last me a while as well.
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

  10. #40
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    73
    Dead Man Walking is awesome, but it is *really* hard.

    My best time was 3 minutes flat in the parking garage one.

    desktop 1
    Barton 2500 // 1024MB PC3500 // 9700 Pro // 8RDA3+

    desktop 2
    Palomino 2000 // 512MB PC2100 // 9800 Pro // 8KHA

  11. #41
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    334

    Talking hehe

    well, at least max doesn't look like he has to take a dump in this one...
    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy."

    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ | ABIT NF8-V | 2 X 512MB Kingston Hyper-X PC4000 | ATI X850XT PE 256MB | Samsung SP1213C 120GB SATA | Lite-on DVDRW SOHW-16935 | Aspire 550W PSU

  12. #42
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    507
    Originally posted by Dead-Meat on 10-16-2003 at 07:16 PM
    This game runs incredibly smooth on my Barton computer.

    When I go home this weekend I'll have a go on my other rig, but I'm sure it will run just as nice.

    I have beaten it already, but I will definitely be playing through it again, and with me, that is saying a lot. Plus if it is anything like the original Max Payne, the mods will make this game last even longer (BRING ON KUNG FU!).
    Exactly. The fact I beat it and want to immidiately go through a second time says alot for me also. Not many games make me want to do that. Time for a harder difficulty setting.

  13. #43
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316
    Yea, this game is very special. Do you guys thing some moders could come up with an online MP mod?
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

  14. #44
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    South Africa, East London
    Age
    28
    Posts
    671
    Anyone look at the recommened requirements? LOL

    RECOMMENDED SYSTEM SPECIFICATIONS

    1.4Ghz Athlon or 1.7 Ghz Pentium 4, Celeron or Duron processor
    64MB DirectX 9 compatible AGP graphics card with hardware T&L support
    512MB RAM
    1.5 GB hard drive space
    Windows 98/ME/2000/XP
    DirectX 9.0
    Keyboard and mouse


    It groups Pentium 4 with Duron's and Celerons LOL
    Now that I find funny.
    Last edited by gabuchholz; 10-16-2003 at 07:27 PM.
    Acer Aspire 5672

  15. #45
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,316
    haha hell yea. Maybe the most polished game ive ever played.

    Also, does anyone know were i can find the MP2 Theme song?
    64bit 3200+NC (250x10) @ 2.5 / 1024mb G.skill / DFI NF3 250Gb /
    eVGA 6800GT (400/1100) / 240gig Total / Antec 1080b + 430 psu / Round Cables
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS/ Logitech Z680 5.1/ Leadtek TV tuner / VS G90fb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •