Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 184

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673

    Thumbs up nForce2 & Idle Temps Tweak(s)

    Just tried it for the first time..It works GREAT
    My idle temps are now 26c, down from 34c. That's 8C. I can have Winamp, IE and messenger running and CPU temps don't get by 29c. Once i fire up, SETI though...I get back my regular Load temps at 39c.



    Some of you probably know about it, already....here's for thousand others that don't.


    This tweak can drop your idle CPU temps down as much as 8c, maybe more...depending on your system.

    First thing you need to do is download WPCRSET & WPCREDIT.
    They're both in this zip.

    - Extract to a directory.
    - Run "INSTDD.EXE". Click Install. When done, you will be prompted for restart. Hit Yes! -
    - Then go back to the folder with extracted files, and open "WPCREDIT.EXE"
    - A ms-dos like window will pop-up. Move the blinking block (with arrow keys or your mouse pointer) until it says Offset 6F at the buttom. Now, click on the two digit number where it says "HEX", and change it to 1F (The Hex for Offset 6F would have previously been 9F, 8F or something else). Hit Set.

    Your idle temps should now start falling.
    You would have to do this hack/tweak everytime you rebooted your computer if it wasn't for WPCRSET.

    - Go to directory and run "WPCRSET.EXE"
    - Look at the top of the window: Enable select "Start" and make sure Device is on "enable"
    - Then click Add. Enter 6F for the register, and 1F for the data
    - Click Ok and you'll be prompted to restart.

    Once, you rebooted, open WCREDIT again and see if the 6F register is still on 1F. If it is, then that's it..You're all done.

    Here's a Screenie of how it should be:






    This only brings your idle temps down, and not your full load temps
    It should work for all nforce2s, and use at your own risk
    Check your nf7-s for CPU Disconnect. Most other nforce2 motherboards do not have this feature in the bios...so this tweak might prove useful.


    READ THE WHOLE THREAD BEFORE TRYING THIS!


    If you run a Distributed Computing project...then obviously this would be of no use to you






    Originally posted by Abducted on 12-16-2003 at 03:43 PM
    It activates the C1 (and maybe the C2) function Athlon XP CPU's support. Most mainboard brands have this feature as an option in the bios you can enable and disable. I just found out that EPoX doesn't have that feature. So what you're doing is just using a direct reg tweak to activate it. It's not like you're forcing anything, the Athlon XP chips are made to support this feature so it shouldn't do any damage.
    When the CPU is idle the mainboard will send a command to the CPU that will cause a part of the CPU to be deactivated (and therefore not produce any heat). That's why this tweak only works on the idle temp and doesn't change anything on the load temp. Ofcourse as soon as the CPU power is needed the deactivated part will become active again, so it should have any influence on the performance of the CPU.



    Last edited by Drisler; 12-16-2003 at 06:56 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    When you have a NF7-S you can try disabling the NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) MCP Audio Processing Unit (Dolby(R) Digital)
    This can drop your idle temp with another 4-8c

    BTW these tricks CAN cause instability on systems overclocked to the edge.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    And live without thy soundstorm?
    Lubs me Audigy.


    Well i just taught to check stability again on mine..and it's still fine.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Well yeah, it does disable EAX and stuff like that, but hey you wanted idle temps tweaks. Well that's one of them
    That change in the registry has something to do with the use of the HALT command (CPU Disconnect). When i enable CPU disconnect the '6F register' has 9F as data, when i disable it, it has 8f as data.
    1F also works and i think it even works a little bit better then just enabling CPU Disconnect in the bios or changing the 8F data to 9F.
    When you look at the app CPUidle there are multiple 'levels' of 'lowering the idle temp'.
    Maybe by using 1F instead of 9F you use another way of lowering the idle temp.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    31
    Posts
    4,435
    omg how does it do that? that's frigging magic...i'm scared by this voodoo business dris...

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Doesn't EPOX have something like CPU disconnect or HALT command?
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    31
    Posts
    4,435
    lol heck i dunno...ask drissy

    oh and how can i disable my nvidia nforce mcp audio processing unit. it keeps coming back / auto-installing itself on reboot everytime i uninstall it from my device manager.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    You have to disable it, not uninstall it
    But not sure if that works on an EPOX board.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    31
    Posts
    4,435
    i think this whole thing cause some instability. i can't really run 3dmark03 but the burn-in wizard from sandra seems to be working.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Maryville Mo.
    Posts
    2,285
    Cool WPCRSET works with the nForce2 chip set.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    Originally posted by Abducted on 12-15-2003 at 01:04 AM
    Doesn't EPOX have something like CPU disconnect or HALT command?
    Nah they don't have that. They do have thermal throttling, but that slows down the CPU when it overheats and not when it is in idle...correct?



    Try it people...report yer results. And don't forget to check for stability afterwards.
    Last edited by Drisler; 12-15-2003 at 05:34 AM.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Ow well in that case this is a very good trick for people with EPOX boards!

    "Cool WPCRSET works with the nForce2 chip set."
    Correct me if i'm wrong. but don't WPCRSET and WPCREDIT just change the registry?
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  13. #13
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Worthing, Sussex, UK
    Posts
    1,789
    One of the 8RDA+ BIOSs did have the halt instruction enabled but they took it out on the next one- supposedly caused instabilities.

    Just tried the WPCredit edit on my 8RDA+- it does work. Haven't really checked for stability yet tho'.
    newest comp- DFI nf2 ultra infinity- barton2500-m @10.5*230
    new comp- 8RDA+, xp2100 TbredB @202*11, 2*twinmos 3200 (non winbond), 9700 pro, Maxtor 9 plus 80gb, Hitachi CML174SWB 17" LCD
    Old comp KT7A Axia 1ghz @1.38GHZ,
    GF3 ti200, Compaq 910 19" Monitor

  14. #14
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Adds "CPU Disconnect Function" to adjust C1 disconnects. The Chipset does not support C2 disconnect; thus, disable C2 function.
    This is what ABIT wrote in their bios update file.
    Maybe Epox used C2 at first?
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  15. #15
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    2,345
    Is it just doing the same thing that the new version of CPUIDLE does?

    its a cool program, but I like to try to keep my idle and load times about the same (by folding) I could be wrong but it seems like constant temp changes wouldnt be that great for tne CPU compared to a steady temp
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
    Radeon9500Pro -<16,871> 3Dmark01 | <39,167> AquaMark3
    5900Ultra - <21,127> 3DMark01 | <57,320> AquaMark3 | <7,444> 3DMark03
    Radeon9800Pro - <23,791> 3DMark01

    P4 3C @ 3.9Ghz | 256MB XMS3200 x2 | P4C800-Deluxe |
    www.Badasscomputer.com Folding since 7/20/03 (Not Folding = User Error )

    new HEAT - CSOFT jrichards41@comcast.net
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •