Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 184
  1. #16
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    I think CPUidle used the same C1 and C2 function, but with this reg tweak you don't need to have an extra app running in the background.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  2. #17
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,026
    That's nice!! Thanks man! They just keep dropping Thanks Dris!

  3. #18
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    So nobody else without epox boards, try it.

  4. #19
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,026
    Do you think it really hurts the cpu to have temps dropping and rising a lot?

  5. #20
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    2,345
    Originally posted by Lb51oO on 12-15-2003 at 10:52 AM
    Do you think it really hurts the cpu to have temps dropping and rising a lot?
    Not at all, chances are its better for the CPU to idle then to run folding all the time, but its not like it matters b/c most CPU's last longer then needed. I just like to keep it steady when overclocking. Its just like if your voltages are rangeing from 1.7V-1.85V, nothing over 1.7V is helping the CPU. Its like when I stuck an 80watt TEC to a Celeron 2.4 Ghz. It would do -22C idle, but it didnt help with a load temp of 20C
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
    Radeon9500Pro -<16,871> 3Dmark01 | <39,167> AquaMark3
    5900Ultra - <21,127> 3DMark01 | <57,320> AquaMark3 | <7,444> 3DMark03
    Radeon9800Pro - <23,791> 3DMark01

    P4 3C @ 3.9Ghz | 256MB XMS3200 x2 | P4C800-Deluxe |
    www.Badasscomputer.com Folding since 7/20/03 (Not Folding = User Error )

    new HEAT - CSOFT jrichards41@comcast.net
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒

  6. #21
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    There have been a couple of threads about this over in the ABIT section, so i guess most ABIT users already know about it OR have CPU interface enabled and in that case there isn't much difference.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  7. #22
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    586
    Yeah I was doing this last year about this time, and it helps save on your electric bill maybe (just a few watts output versus ~85w output), but not much on your CPU life. Then again, it doesn't hurt either, unless you happen to be one with stuttering sound or barely-manageable fsb speeds. Until I see more documentation on the Nfroce chipset's registers, I'm not going to enable it again. I swear by it on the Via chipsets though, always worked like a charm.
    Gamer: Opty 146 2900MHz 1.44v . Neo4-F . 2GB G.Skill 4000@241MHz . x850XT PE 650/650. 560w SS Zeus . 36GB 10k SATA
    Wife's: A64 3000+ 2200MHz 1.28v. Neo2 Platinum . 1GB PC4400@244MHz . 9800 Pro . 530w Fortron . 2 x 120GB PATA
    Game Server: 2x Opteron 242 . K8N-DL . 1GB PC3200 . 535w Enermax . 36GB Raptor . Stacker 810 case
    File Server: Celeron D 310 . PM8M-V . 512MB PC3200 . 500w . 120GB SATA . 250GB SATA
    Laptop (wife's): Compaq M700: 700MHz PIII . 576MB PC100 . ATI mobile . 12GB Travelstar
    Laptop (mine): Inspiron 4000: 800MHz PIII . 256MB PC133 . ATI mobile . 40GB samsung

    ACID REFLUX SNIPER RALLY
    Heatware

  8. #23
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    31
    Posts
    4,435
    i mean when i had this thing enabled, my idle temps were 35...hard to believe though b/c it still feels like 42ish..i don't think this really technically "cools" anything [at idle] but it did cause a lot of instability.

    is there another way to just find a happy medium like..dropping a few degrees without losing the stability? i mean i was like going from 35C-51C and that was just sick....

    i was happy with my old board =( 41-44 but now this board i'm using sucks up more vcore and everything is just hotter and takes longer for things to cool down.

  9. #24
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    About 32 light years
    Posts
    1,859
    Epox 8RDA+ rev 2.1
    XP2100+ AIUHB0309
    200 x 11
    SK-7 w/ Mechatronics 80mm : 53cfm

    Before:



    After:




    This hack has worked flawlessly on my Via boards. Glad to see one for NF2.

    Case temp > cpu temp? I've got a side blow hole directed straight at the cpu. Possible the case sensor is located off the air path ... or MBM is wacked.
    Last edited by arcturus; 01-13-2004 at 06:29 PM.

  10. #25
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Carn Dm, Angmar
    Posts
    608
    AMD warns that rapid temp changes can affect stability, which might be why the cpu isn't allowed to go that low from the factory. water cooled chips might be ok, but going from 25C to 55C in a few seconds is a huge jump.

    Shuttle AN35N Ultra 400 (nForce 2)
    Barton 2400-M AQYFA 0343WPMW (209x12=2509@1.86v on air)
    old: Tbred 1800+ NIUHB 0335SPMW DLT3C (209x12=2509@1.84v on air)
    older: Duron 1400 MIXIB 0336XPMW (215x10.5=2263@1.86v on air) (256K L2 enabled)
    Buffalo PC3200 512M @ 11-2-2-2.0 : 3.31 V (PSU splice) (235 memtest stable)
    ATi Radeon 9600pro AIW @ 450/750
    Antec plain white case w/PP-303XP 300W psu (15A 12v rail) with custom 120mm lower front intake
    AMD sink with awesome plastic cup duct mod and constant +12v psu fan mod
    Samsung SyncMaster 753DF 17" uber-flat monitor

  11. #26
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    586
    I don't think it was stability they were concerned about. I think it was that since the cpu itself is just a BGA (ball grid array) component, the rapid rise and fall of temps over time might snap some of the connections due to shrinking and expanding of the core and connections.
    Gamer: Opty 146 2900MHz 1.44v . Neo4-F . 2GB G.Skill 4000@241MHz . x850XT PE 650/650. 560w SS Zeus . 36GB 10k SATA
    Wife's: A64 3000+ 2200MHz 1.28v. Neo2 Platinum . 1GB PC4400@244MHz . 9800 Pro . 530w Fortron . 2 x 120GB PATA
    Game Server: 2x Opteron 242 . K8N-DL . 1GB PC3200 . 535w Enermax . 36GB Raptor . Stacker 810 case
    File Server: Celeron D 310 . PM8M-V . 512MB PC3200 . 500w . 120GB SATA . 250GB SATA
    Laptop (wife's): Compaq M700: 700MHz PIII . 576MB PC100 . ATI mobile . 12GB Travelstar
    Laptop (mine): Inspiron 4000: 800MHz PIII . 256MB PC133 . ATI mobile . 40GB samsung

    ACID REFLUX SNIPER RALLY
    Heatware

  12. #27
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    212
    tried it on both this Epox 8RDA+ system and my brother's MSI NS7whatever system and both show a temp drop of about 5-8 deg C. Are we all sure that this hack is actually effecting core temp itself and not a sensor trick though? I'm not challenging the knowledge of whoever figured this out (I couldn't do any better), but the latter is definately better than the former 8-)

    Unrelated, but btw winblows screwed itself again (not my RH9 partition of course) and i had to reinstall for the ten trillionth time. I'm leaving my catalyst drivers off until wednesday, because according to rage3d.com the new 3.10 drivers are coming out. Hopefully this will solve all the performance issues w/ the 3.7-3.9 versions!
    .::* Tweakhardware.com *::.
    ::Guides ::Forums

    PC STATS:
    CPU- AthlonXP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz (200MHz*12.0)
    Mobo- Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.1)
    Memory- 512MB Kingston HyperX PC3200
    HDs- 1 40GB, 1 120GB
    OSes- Win2k, Gentoo Linux, OpenBSD
    Video- Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310MHz

  13. #28
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,184
    ran this quite a while back, it CAN cause some problems, though.

    on on board as soon as i enabled it i starterd getting ps2 errors but as soon as i took off the tweak they quite.

    if you search the abit forums for "wpcredit" theres a thread called something like

    "wpcrset still useful or worth having"

    theres a few alternative wpcr registers for whoever this causes problems with, they do the same thing and one of them may be the one for you if the standard one in this thread causes problems

    there may only be 1 alternative i cant remember cause its been a while, but theres at least one
    4400 x2, 4 gig gskill 3200, 6800 ultra

  14. #29
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dela-Where ?!
    Age
    41
    Posts
    528
    Thanx alot Drisler...It dropped my idle temp 6 Degreez
    EPoX 8RDA3+ Rev. 2
    XP 2500+ @ 3200+
    SLK-800a w/ YS-Tech TMD
    ATI Radeon 9800 "Pro"
    2 x 256mb Corsair XMS 3700
    1 x 256mb Buffalo BH-5 3700
    Western Digital 60 GB
    Antec True 380

  15. #30
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    Originally posted by bushwacker on 12-16-2003 at 02:31 AM
    tried it on both this Epox 8RDA+ system and my brother's MSI NS7whatever system and both show a temp drop of about 5-8 deg C. Are we all sure that this hack is actually effecting core temp itself and not a sensor trick though? I'm not challenging the knowledge of whoever figured this out (I couldn't do any better), but the latter is definately better than the former 8-)
    It's no sensor trick. Idle temps are lowered. Check it myself with case sensor
    Last edited by Drisler; 12-16-2003 at 09:13 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •