Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 184
  1. #31
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    !!!OKE FOR ALL THE EPOX USERS WITH INSTABILITY!!!

    You might want to try changing the 6F register to 9F instread of 1F. If your previous data was 8F

    I'm not sure if this will work for you guys, but when i enable CPU Disconnect in my bios (ABIT NF7-S) the data for 6F changes from 8F to 9F. So i guess that's what ABIT uses for the 'idle temp cooling'
    This shouldn't cause any instability and i'm not sure, but i also think it works a little less good as when using 1F as data. Like i said before the nForce2 chip doesn't really support the C2 function, So maybe with 9F data it'll only use the C1 function. That might explain why it can cause a lot of instability for some people.

    If i'm correct it disables parts of the CPU when it's idle.
    Last edited by Abducted; 02-10-2004 at 06:12 AM.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  2. #32
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    My 6F data was 9F initially before i changed. (using the 3930-sept bios)

  3. #33
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Originally posted by Drisler on 12-16-2003 at 04:49 PM
    My 6F data was 9F initially before i changed.
    Sshhhh.. shut up...



    oke it was just a suggestion, maybe you can try setting it to 8f and testing the idle temp and then the 9f and see if there is any difference?
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  4. #34
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673


    Will do...when i get home in three days

  5. #35
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Maryville Mo.
    Posts
    2,285
    Hey ppl this works for real..... I'm watching my CPU temp drop right..... but also my case temp is droping to.... guess cause less heat coming form the CPU.

  6. #36
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Did/Do you have CPU Disconnect enabled in your bios?
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  7. #37
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401
    lol just tried this on my A7N8X, when it prompted me to reboot for the 2nd time, it got up to where it should load win2k, and its just a black screen ah well, and i always see that "at your own risk" and never think it would apply to me

    ah well, have a new harddrive coming in the mail anways, dont feel like formatting it until i get it lol

  8. #38
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    With WPCREDIT you can test the effects in windows right away. the WPCRSET is just to make sure you don't have to chance it with WPCREDIT everytime you reboot.
    But can't you even get into windows in save mode?
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  9. #39
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401
    lol nope, and now i cant get into bios with a harddrive plugged in it looks like. cleared cmos, and i still cant.

    gonna try to fix it, will report back later

  10. #40
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Maryville Mo.
    Posts
    2,285
    CPU Disconnect is disabled in my bios. And before I changed the 6f it was already 8F. my temps only droped 3c

  11. #41
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401
    it was the harddrives fault, i thought it wasnt at first because i put in a WD 20gig as master, and same thing happened, well then i realized that theres a Single option aswell as a Master option on the WD, so i put it to single, and it worked fine. I guess those alterations caused something to flop in windows, ah well, no worries

  12. #42
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Originally posted by michael64 on 12-16-2003 at 06:07 PM
    CPU Disconnect is disabled in my bios. And before I changed the 6f it was already 8F. my temps only droped 3c
    Ah that explains your results. You can also just enable CPU Disconnect in the bios. It has the same results as changing the data from 8f to 9f instead of 1f.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  13. #43
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    Originally posted by Pimp! on 12-16-2003 at 06:47 PM
    it was the harddrives fault, i thought it wasnt at first because i put in a WD 20gig as master, and same thing happened, well then i realized that theres a Single option aswell as a Master option on the WD, so i put it to single, and it worked fine. I guess those alterations caused something to flop in windows, ah well, no worries
    Wauw, that's freaky
    Never seen that happen before. But good to know you're back on track again.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  14. #44
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    212
    how exactly does this hack work? Its obvious how to *do* the hack, and that it works, but what chipset data does it effect, and how? Also, are there any other register hacks out ther to try for the NF2 chipset?
    .::* Tweakhardware.com *::.
    ::Guides ::Forums

    PC STATS:
    CPU- AthlonXP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz (200MHz*12.0)
    Mobo- Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.1)
    Memory- 512MB Kingston HyperX PC3200
    HDs- 1 40GB, 1 120GB
    OSes- Win2k, Gentoo Linux, OpenBSD
    Video- Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310MHz

  15. #45
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167
    It activates the C1 (and maybe the C2) function Athlon XP CPU's support. Most mainboard brands have this feature as an option in the bios you can enable and disable. I just found out that EPoX doesn't have that feature. So what you're doing is just using a direct reg tweak to activate it. It's not like you're forcing anything, the Athlon XP chips are made to support this feature so it shouldn't do any damage.
    When the CPU is idle the mainboard will send a command to the CPU that will cause a part of the CPU to be deactivated (and therefore not produce any heat). That's why this tweak only works on the idle temp and doesn't change anything on the load temp. Ofcourse as soon as the CPU power is needed the deactivated part will become active again, so it shouldn't have any influence on the performance of the CPU.
    Last edited by Abducted; 02-10-2004 at 06:15 AM.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •