Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 184
  1. #61
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401
    ok im trying this again, though this time on XP, previous one was on 2k. Last time i said "Yes" to "Data has changed !! Does it set up New register ?"

    what did you others select, im assuming Yes aswell

  2. #62
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169
    Yup, yes would be the answer if you want it to take effect.
    It's just badly translated into english
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  3. #63
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401
    lol i just wanted to make sure, so i didnt mess it up again

    now heres the test, gonna reboot after using wpcrset

  4. #64
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401
    ......... and... it doesnt work, lol what luck i have, cant even boot in safe mode, i get this error:

    Windows could not start because of an error in the software.
    Please report this problem as :
    load needed DLLs for kernal.
    Please contact your support person to report this problem.


    what luck i have

  5. #65
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    47
    Posts
    126
    It looks like you have to change the 4th bit on offset 6F from 0 to 1
    other forums 1
    other forums 2
    A7V600 bios 1009.005
    XP-M2500 @ 5-12*200 (1000MHz-2400MHz) @ 1.8v
    2 x 512Mb Twinmos @ 2,5-3-3-8-1T
    2*IBM Deskstar 120GXP 80Gb (RAID 0)
    X800SE 256Mb @ 500/500
    HEC 300W PSU
    WindowsXPpro+SP2

  6. #66
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,435
    lol it dropped my temp 1C

  7. #67
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,213
    My computer was stable for a day and now it just got unstable, wen i scroll on da 'net it stops for about 2 secs then scrolls, but it only does it sometimes, the music dont stop and the computer dunt stop workin it's jus da net, hmmm... weird
    rick

  8. #68
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    212
    Could it be because you have an asus mobo? Read back on earlier posts in this thread. I think it said something about that someplace :|
    .::* Tweakhardware.com *::.
    ::Guides ::Forums

    PC STATS:
    CPU- AthlonXP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz (200MHz*12.0)
    Mobo- Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.1)
    Memory- 512MB Kingston HyperX PC3200
    HDs- 1 40GB, 1 120GB
    OSes- Win2k, Gentoo Linux, OpenBSD
    Video- Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310MHz

  9. #69
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Canada EH !
    Posts
    214
    i had my temps drop too, on my asus. no problems what-so-ever.

    subtract 2C from my bottom temps....
    barton 2500+ (210FSB x11 = 2310 mhz) v1.68 AQXEA
    corsair 2700c2 256 x2 in dual channel mode v 2.8
    timings:2.5-3-3-11 @420MHZ DDR
    9800 N/P BBA 8E-gc2a 420/385 (770) Omega 4.5
    3Dmark2001: 18151
    3D Mark2003 : 6277
    AquaMark: 6159,7775,43912
    A7N8X-UAY 2.0 1007 UBER bios
    Air Cooled. Rear Exhaust Mod. Front intake mod (LOL)
    Four Fans: Volcano 11+ heatsink/fan.
    Smart Fan II rear exhaust.
    Dual Fan Power Supply (Antec True 550).
    CPU Temp: 37 idle. 42 load. Case Temp: 22 idle 24C Load
    110% stable. 24/7

  10. #70
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    212
    I had some responsiveness problems but they seem to have worked their way out of the system now.
    .::* Tweakhardware.com *::.
    ::Guides ::Forums

    PC STATS:
    CPU- AthlonXP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz (200MHz*12.0)
    Mobo- Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.1)
    Memory- 512MB Kingston HyperX PC3200
    HDs- 1 40GB, 1 120GB
    OSes- Win2k, Gentoo Linux, OpenBSD
    Video- Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310MHz

  11. #71
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    37
    Posts
    401
    Dris two rumbs up for this threat
    me me me

  12. #72
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,531
    nForce2 & Idle Temps Tweak(s)
    Just tried it for the first time..It works GREAT
    My idle temps are now 26c, down from 34c. That's 8C. I can have Winamp, IE and messenger running and CPU temps don't get by 29c. Once i fire up, SETI though...I get back my regular Load temps at 39c.



    Some of you probably know about it, already....here's for thousand others that don't.


    This tweak can drop your idle CPU temps down as much as 8c, maybe more...depending on your system.

    First thing you need to do is download WPCRSET & WPCREDIT.
    They're both in this zip.

    - Extract to a directory.
    - Run "INSTDD.EXE". Click Install. When done, you will be prompted for restart. Hit Yes! -
    - Then go back to the folder with extracted files, and open "WPCREDIT.EXE"
    - A ms-dos like window will pop-up. Move the blinking block (with arrow keys or your mouse pointer) until it says Offset 6F at the buttom. Now, click on the two digit number where it says "HEX", and change it to 1F (The Hex for Offset 6F would have previously been 9F, 8F or something else). Hit Set.

    Your idle temps should now start falling.
    You would have to do this hack/tweak everytime you rebooted your computer if it wasn't for WPCRSET.

    - Go to directory and run "WPCRSET.EXE"
    - Look at the top of the window: Enable select "Start" and make sure Device is on "enable"
    - Then click Add. Enter 6F for the register, and 1F for the data
    - Click Ok and you'll be prompted to restart.

    Once, you rebooted, open WCREDIT again and see if the 6F register is still on 1F. If it is, then that's it..You're all done.



    ***Everytime I try to change it...it reverts back to original
    Mountain Mods U2 UFO - Black
    750W Thermaltake Modular PSU
    DFI 680i LT Motherboard
    E6850 L718A190...(Testing)
    2048 MB Corsair XMS 6400C4 DDR2 800
    768 MB EVGA 8800GTX
    2 X 150Gig WD RAPTORS
    1 X SpinPoint P Series SP2504C 250GB
    16 X Lite-On DVD Burner
    16 X NEC DVD Burner
    1 120mm Yate Loon LED Intake Fan
    1 120MM Yate Loon Exhaust Fan
    24" Gateway FPD2485W

    Watercooling Rig: Loop#1
    Radiator: ThermoChill PA 120.2 with 2 X 120mm Yate Loons | Pump: Laing DDC w/ Petra's DDCT-01 Top | CPU: D-Tek Fuzion


    Watercooling Rig: Loop#2
    Radiator: ThermoChill PA 120.3 with 3 X 120mm Yate Loons | Pump: Laing DDC w/ Petra's DDCT-01 Top | GPU: EK Fullcover Waterblock | NB: Swiftech MCW30
    |SB: Swiftech MCW30


    GO BUCS!

  13. #73
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673
    It will not work on your KT600 motherboard.
    you did it?

  14. #74
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,531
    tried it....I am willing to try alot of various tricks with my setup....sounded like a good one!
    Mountain Mods U2 UFO - Black
    750W Thermaltake Modular PSU
    DFI 680i LT Motherboard
    E6850 L718A190...(Testing)
    2048 MB Corsair XMS 6400C4 DDR2 800
    768 MB EVGA 8800GTX
    2 X 150Gig WD RAPTORS
    1 X SpinPoint P Series SP2504C 250GB
    16 X Lite-On DVD Burner
    16 X NEC DVD Burner
    1 120mm Yate Loon LED Intake Fan
    1 120MM Yate Loon Exhaust Fan
    24" Gateway FPD2485W

    Watercooling Rig: Loop#1
    Radiator: ThermoChill PA 120.2 with 2 X 120mm Yate Loons | Pump: Laing DDC w/ Petra's DDCT-01 Top | CPU: D-Tek Fuzion


    Watercooling Rig: Loop#2
    Radiator: ThermoChill PA 120.3 with 3 X 120mm Yate Loons | Pump: Laing DDC w/ Petra's DDCT-01 Top | GPU: EK Fullcover Waterblock | NB: Swiftech MCW30
    |SB: Swiftech MCW30


    GO BUCS!

  15. #75
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,931
    Stuck for the moment.


    M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •