Page 7 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567891011 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 184
  1. #91
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Age
    41
    Posts
    7
    nice setups guys!!!!
    Abit NF7
    AMD 3200+ @ 2.75Ghz
    Thermalright SLK-800 w 80delta
    Hec 525watts
    Sapphire Radeon 9800XT 256MB
    Corsair XMS3500C2
    18G Seagate SCSI
    80gigs Seagate SATA

  2. #92
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Age
    41
    Posts
    7
    @Abducted

    Im impressed dude... how did you mod the L12??? i know how to mod the L2 to make it 256Kb but not the L12... could you pm it to me please??? thnaks and cheers to all
    Abit NF7
    AMD 3200+ @ 2.75Ghz
    Thermalright SLK-800 w 80delta
    Hec 525watts
    Sapphire Radeon 9800XT 256MB
    Corsair XMS3500C2
    18G Seagate SCSI
    80gigs Seagate SATA

  3. #93
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901

    it should be noted..

    that if you read enough posts on cpu halt and cpu throttle, some people (like myself, up until now) have seen very little impact on their overclocking when these functions are engaged..some have had disastrous consequences when trying to overclock..

    i was one of the latter with 3 different boards and 3 different chipsets until my aopen nforce2 board..which wouldn't even run pc3000 memory in dual channel at stock speed (185 fsb) with cpu throttle and cpu halt (or C1 as my board calls it.) enabled..170 to 175 on my corsair at any setting was the best i could do.

    i disabled both last night and boom..i ran memtest all night at 185 solid with no errors..higher to come! nothing else changed

    ps- that 1F on the 6F registry becomes 0F when cpu halt is disabled if you want to check with your wpcredit

    T

  4. #94
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Let me see
    Posts
    131

    Re: it should be noted..

    Originally posted by tenax on 01-11-2004 at 10:54 AM
    that if you read enough posts on cpu halt and cpu throttle, some people (like myself, up until now) have seen very little impact on their overclocking when these functions are engaged..some have had disastrous consequences when trying to overclock..

    i was one of the latter with 3 different boards and 3 different chipsets until my aopen nforce2 board..which wouldn't even run pc3000 memory in dual channel at stock speed (185 fsb) with cpu throttle and cpu halt (or C1 as my board calls it.) enabled..170 to 175 on my corsair at any setting was the best i could do.

    i disabled both last night and boom..i ran memtest all night at 185 solid with no errors..higher to come! nothing else changed

    ps- that 1F on the 6F registry becomes 0F when cpu halt is disabled if you want to check with your wpcredit

    T
    What is the process in turning this "tweak" off and back to its original state??

    I'm not sure if it's my crappy RAM I have but I have a 9600 pro @ stock speeds and when I play CoD it sometimes freezes so I want to see if this tweak might be the culprit.
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0 w/AMD 2500+ XP (11x220 @ 1.8v)
    Mushkin 2x256 lvl II PC3500 (11-2-2-2 @ 2.9v)
    ATI 9600 Pro (502/335)
    Thermalright SLK-947U w/92mm Panaflow
    Thermaltake V100A & 480W PSU w/PFC

  5. #95
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901
    my bios supports cpu halt via a function called "C1' in the bios that i can enable or disable as i like. some bioses have a "cpu halt" line you can see in the bios and turn on and off.


    same with cpu throttle..i can disengage it, partially engage it or have it engaged completely..my bios defaults to a 50% throttle.

    if you have an nforce2 board and want to manually engage it in the registry you use the wpcredit and wpcrset programs and follow the instructions at the start of the thread..the beauty is that wpcredit i believe it is (one that shows the black screen with values) when engaged..is only engaged until you reboot your machine..it's a good way to "test" the value that you change to engage the cpu halt function. engage it, let it run for up to a minute and meanwhile..watch your temps...if your system doesn't freeze after a minute or 2, then you can proceed ahead to "fix" it in your registry so it always runs on startup by using wpcrset.

    if it freezes, just reboot your machine and it will be turned off again..

    i've use cpu halt tons of times on various boards with no issues at all or affect on overclocking..some boards seem to have issues with it, some don't and i think how hard you overclock has a bearing on it as well..compared to many these days, i'm a "moderate " overclocker..in a day where guys are overclocking from 166 to 200, 210 and higher, i'm a 185, 190 guy

    i haven't verified it yet, but i suspect that cpu throttle is the real culprit i was having problems with when trying to overclock my ram.

  6. #96
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Canada EH !
    Posts
    214
    maybe instability issues is the reason why this isn't in the bios as a tweak...

    just a thought.
    barton 2500+ (210FSB x11 = 2310 mhz) v1.68 AQXEA
    corsair 2700c2 256 x2 in dual channel mode v 2.8
    timings:2.5-3-3-11 @420MHZ DDR
    9800 N/P BBA 8E-gc2a 420/385 (770) Omega 4.5
    3Dmark2001: 18151
    3D Mark2003 : 6277
    AquaMark: 6159,7775,43912
    A7N8X-UAY 2.0 1007 UBER bios
    Air Cooled. Rear Exhaust Mod. Front intake mod (LOL)
    Four Fans: Volcano 11+ heatsink/fan.
    Smart Fan II rear exhaust.
    Dual Fan Power Supply (Antec True 550).
    CPU Temp: 37 idle. 42 load. Case Temp: 22 idle 24C Load
    110% stable. 24/7

  7. #97
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Let me see
    Posts
    131
    Well I did follow the instructions at the beginning of this thread to turn this "tweak" on, but I want to know how to go about turning it off or back to the original "stock" state.
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0 w/AMD 2500+ XP (11x220 @ 1.8v)
    Mushkin 2x256 lvl II PC3500 (11-2-2-2 @ 2.9v)
    ATI 9600 Pro (502/335)
    Thermalright SLK-947U w/92mm Panaflow
    Thermaltake V100A & 480W PSU w/PFC

  8. #98
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901
    if you have it engaged, find the wpcrset program and you can turn it off from within there..or use wpcredit and change it back to previous value..on my nforce 2 board, it is 0F instead of 1F on that 6F registry key. change it, save it..and yes, all nf2 chipsets should have the same value..just as all kt266a chipsets use the same value, no matter the manufacturer of the board.

  9. #99
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Let me see
    Posts
    131
    Originally posted by tenax on 01-12-2004 at 05:37 PM
    if you have it engaged, find the wpcrset program and you can turn it off from within there..or use wpcredit and change it back to previous value..on my nforce 2 board, it is 0F instead of 1F on that 6F registry key. change it, save it..and yes, all nf2 chipsets should have the same value..just as all kt266a chipsets use the same value, no matter the manufacturer of the board.
    What is the best way to make sure that it is turned off? Through WPCRSET or changing the value with WPCREDIT?
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0 w/AMD 2500+ XP (11x220 @ 1.8v)
    Mushkin 2x256 lvl II PC3500 (11-2-2-2 @ 2.9v)
    ATI 9600 Pro (502/335)
    Thermalright SLK-947U w/92mm Panaflow
    Thermaltake V100A & 480W PSU w/PFC

  10. #100
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901
    through wpcset..you should have a function there to start it..and to stop it i believe..its been awhile since i've used it, so don't quote me..good thing about changing it with the wpcrset program is you know it's done right

  11. #101
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Let me see
    Posts
    131
    Wow that was a quick response

    Thanx for all your help/patience.
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0 w/AMD 2500+ XP (11x220 @ 1.8v)
    Mushkin 2x256 lvl II PC3500 (11-2-2-2 @ 2.9v)
    ATI 9600 Pro (502/335)
    Thermalright SLK-947U w/92mm Panaflow
    Thermaltake V100A & 480W PSU w/PFC

  12. #102
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901
    np..i aim to please

  13. #103
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,435
    Originally posted by tenax on 01-12-2004 at 05:59 PM
    np..i aim to please
    mmm is there anything you don't do

  14. #104
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901
    ohhhhh yeah..ask my wife

  15. #105
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,697
    OMGOSH ... i just WATCHED my cpu drop from 37.5 C to 34 C

    O M G

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •