Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 147

Thread: Raid PCi card

  1. #61
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292
    loppyloops

    those aren,t bad scores. on my serial raid 0, 2 maxtor 40gb with serial idie adpaters running serila raid 0

    get this on atto-

    512 -639123 75743
    1024- 63913 75403

    your read speeds blow mine away

    i,m running 2 raptors on my other rig, that,s a different story, both read and write are over 100,s on the raptors raid 0.
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  2. #62
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053
    Originally posted by geekkyyy on 01-10-2004 at 02:10 AM
    loppyloops

    those aren,t bad scores. on my serial raid 0, 2 maxtor 40gb with serial idie adpaters running serila raid 0

    get this on atto-

    512 -639123 75743
    1024- 63913 75403

    your read speeds blow mine away

    i,m running 2 raptors on my other rig, that,s a different story, both read and write are over 100,s on the raptors raid 0.
    Why thank you! I feel a bit better - thought I had bun deskstar drive or a bad highpoint controller.

    Any advice on beefing up thos writes?
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  3. #63
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,718
    Then allow me to make you feel a bit worse(what are friends for?) One the 3rd page of this thread, you wrote down some scores that are much better than those you've posted so something has changed. Can you change your sig to reflect all your hardware including the OS and other info? Trying to remember what you've got going makes it difficult to pinpoint this issue. Included the driver version for the sata too, please.
    AND Phenom X3 8650
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H mobo
    Sapphire HD3870 vid card
    2 GB PC 6400 DDR2
    74GB Raptor
    320 Seagate SATA HDD
    500W Fortron Blue Storm PSU

  4. #64
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053
    Originally posted by perdomot on 01-10-2004 at 09:29 AM
    Then allow me to make you feel a bit worse(what are friends for?) One the 3rd page of this thread, you wrote down some scores that are much better than those you've posted so something has changed. Can you change your sig to reflect all your hardware including the OS and other info? Trying to remember what you've got going makes it difficult to pinpoint this issue. Included the driver version for the sata too, please.
    I'll change it now.

    Those were raptor scores for a rig I built for a friend - these are my hitachis :-)
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  5. #65
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053
    Originally posted by loopyloops on 01-10-2004 at 11:17 AM
    I'll change it now.

    Those were raptor scores for a rig I built for a friend - these are my hitachis :-)
    Changed my sig - noticed that there's a new highpoint driver 2.36 - must have just come up. Let me know if there any other info I should have in my sig. - or if you see any problems.

    I've just made a 4 gb partition on one of my wd data drives (oops, not in my sig.) for my 1000/1000 page file - is that ok?
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  6. #66
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053

    Is this better?

    Last edited by loopyloops; 01-11-2004 at 09:41 PM.
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  7. #67
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053


    With the latest drivers...

    If these are bad, what can I do to up'm?
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  8. #68
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,718
    I remmember reading that the slot a PCI raid card is in can affect performance. Have you considered changing the slot of the card. The 3rd and 5th slots are the most popular if I recall correctly. I've seen writes in the 90's with those drives and reads above 100,000 so if I had to guess, I'd say the nforce2 curse on raid is still very potent.
    AND Phenom X3 8650
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H mobo
    Sapphire HD3870 vid card
    2 GB PC 6400 DDR2
    74GB Raptor
    320 Seagate SATA HDD
    500W Fortron Blue Storm PSU

  9. #69
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053
    Originally posted by perdomot on 01-12-2004 at 06:35 AM
    I remmember reading that the slot a PCI raid card is in can affect performance. Have you considered changing the slot of the card. The 3rd and 5th slots are the most popular if I recall correctly. I've seen writes in the 90's with those drives and reads above 100,000 so if I had to guess, I'd say the nforce2 curse on raid is still very potent.
    Thanks!

    Let me check my slot:-)
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  10. #70
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053
    Originally posted by perdomot on 01-12-2004 at 06:35 AM
    I remmember reading that the slot a PCI raid card is in can affect performance. Have you considered changing the slot of the card. The 3rd and 5th slots are the most popular if I recall correctly. I've seen writes in the 90's with those drives and reads above 100,000 so if I had to guess, I'd say the nforce2 curse on raid is still very potent.
    It's in the 3rd.

    Any other suggestions would be great!

    What services can safely turn off?
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

  11. #71
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940
    Here are some that Perdomont recommends to turn off. Here is a helpfull site for more on what services can be turned off and what they do.

    Originally posted by perdomot on 01-10-2004 at 06:22 PM

    I've found that turning off services and setting others to Manual offers a big boost to speed. Disable the Auto Update, Indexing service, Messenger, Remote Registry, TCP IP Netbios. Set to manual Computer browser, Distributed Link, Fast user switching,IPSEC,NVidia Display, Portable Media Serial, Server, Task Scheduler, WIndows Time and Wireless Config.

  12. #72
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    texas
    Age
    44
    Posts
    163

    check this out



    Tell me what you guys think

  13. #73
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,718
    Good scores jahlion. What stripe/cluster setting are you using and have you adjusted the services to free up some resources?
    AND Phenom X3 8650
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H mobo
    Sapphire HD3870 vid card
    2 GB PC 6400 DDR2
    74GB Raptor
    320 Seagate SATA HDD
    500W Fortron Blue Storm PSU

  14. #74
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    texas
    Age
    44
    Posts
    163
    Yes i disable some serivces....... once i reboot my system was really moving.....also i am running my stripe /clusters at 32/32.for some reason i get better bench at 16/4

  15. #75
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,053
    Originally posted by themortarman on 01-12-2004 at 07:50 AM
    Here are some that Perdomont recommends to turn off. Here is a helpfull site for more on what services can be turned off and what they do.

    Thanks!
    K7N2 Delta ILSR bios ver. 7.8
    Geforce FX 5950
    XP3000+
    3x512mb ddr400 - corsair xms (dual channel)
    Wavemaster Case
    2XWD 36GB Raptor in raid-0
    Soundblaster Audigy 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •