Page 2 of 42 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 629
  1. #16
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bali,Indonesia
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,369
    thanx... i will make more test b4 i release another modded bios bios next time...


  2. #17
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    4,792

    Cool tictac

    I only flashed the d10beta4 because 'shrmytoon' seemed to get a little more or said he did. I know him and I know what he can do. I also knew he was water-cooled and I was not and he was about 116mhz ahead of my clock. This board I have was one of the first to the 250FSB range about 3 months ago and flashing to the 'abit' d21.bin about 10 days ago lowered the bandwidth as measured by Sandra and flashing <back to d10.bin, has not regained my 'missing' bandwidth. Flashing the bios emprom is not always accomplished just the same OR they would not be releasing new flashers. And the way the NF2 boards save the CMOS settings is different appearing when you flash from Dos or from Windoors. I have seen it. So have others.

    When I flashed to your d10beta4, the only choice for cpu was the 2500+ which was in the cpu socket. Not the (non-existent) 3100+ which so many including myself have wondered about and not the 3200+ which a number of people were seeing. And which flasher and whether from Flashmenu or from a Dos boot disk with a number of extra flashing instructions, that 3100+ would disappear. Right now after flash to your d10beta4.bin> I do not have the incorrect 3100+ as a choice.

    Other than the d10beta4.bin>not giving me any enhanced performance> I had absolutely no problems flashing to it or flashing away from it. It flashed right onto the emprom and was easily overwritten back to the original d10.bin, that I always use. The link I downloaded the d10beta4.bin file from had enough cautions and warnings that "it was beta" to *warn* the faint of heart and unprepared to stay away from the bioses, 'unless' they had a bios savior or other methods of reflash for safety. I had Bios Savior, which was not needed at all.

    I guess tictac, that I am trying to say do not be badly discouraged that you are not seeing really glowing reports of your modded bioses and certainly a flash by someone that goes wrong is by and large not the fault of your bios mod. Well not likely. I have sent modded bioses or 'changed' bioses to a few folks since entering this forum about 5 mos ago and I *only* sent them to people I knew very well. People who knew and understood the dangers and held me blameless in what might happen. Hehehehehe. You put a mod bios up for download and many will find it and try it and have problems as the truth is, they should have stayed away anyway due to the way their board acted with even an official Abit bios.

    I guess what I am trying to say is the NF7 will be around for awhile> and you are trying to do what ABit will NOT do for the user and that is make the bios better. They release a bios that dorks SATA for many and that is stupid on Abit's part as the SATA useage was a big selling point of the NF7-S mobo and many had their O/s on SATA. So to flash to your d10beta4.bin and see the re-arrangement of the options and all and then return to the d10.bin without problems> is worthy of a salute. Keep up the good work and perhaps you will in fact find a break thru like Oskar Wu did for the new DFI mother boards. They will evermore fly if you get one manufactured in Tiawan and not China. So somebody found the real deal in the NF2 even if Abit could not do it with even the AN7 guru'd thing.

    I wish you luck in your modding. Sincerely, RGone...
    If I can still assist; use my
    address in profile. RGone...

  3. #18
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    705
    Originally posted by DisposableHero on 01-10-2004 at 06:57 AM
    my bios got corrupted with the d10b4 and now i cant seem to get it back... asks for floppy... i put one in with awdflash and it says cant find the source file
    ackI got this too using logan's d10 bios, and almost any other Abit bios, but how'd you go about fixing it?
    Athlon 2100+@210x11
    CPU Idle at 40ºC (With WCredit)|Load at 50ºC
    NF7-S Rev 2 || vcore: 1.775 vdd: 1.6
    SLK-947 w/ Silentcat 92mm
    Antec SLK3700AMB w/ 350W Antec Smartpower
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    Twinmos PC3200 BH-5 256MB x2 and Buffalo CH-5 512MB at 5-3-2-2

  4. #19
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bali,Indonesia
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,369

    Re: tictac

    Originally posted by RGone... on 01-10-2004 at 02:52 PM
    I only flashed the d10beta4 because 'shrmytoon' seemed to get a little more or said he did. I know him and I know what he can do. I also knew he was water-cooled and I was not and he was about 116mhz ahead of my clock. This board I have was one of the first to the 250FSB range about 3 months ago and flashing to the 'abit' d21.bin about 10 days ago lowered the bandwidth as measured by Sandra and flashing <back to d10.bin, has not regained my 'missing' bandwidth. Flashing the bios emprom is not always accomplished just the same OR they would not be releasing new flashers. And the way the NF2 boards save the CMOS settings is different appearing when you flash from Dos or from Windoors. I have seen it. So have others.

    When I flashed to your d10beta4, the only choice for cpu was the 2500+ which was in the cpu socket. Not the (non-existent) 3100+ which so many including myself have wondered about and not the 3200+ which a number of people were seeing. And which flasher and whether from Flashmenu or from a Dos boot disk with a number of extra flashing instructions, that 3100+ would disappear. Right now after flash to your d10beta4.bin> I do not have the incorrect 3100+ as a choice.

    Other than the d10beta4.bin>not giving me any enhanced performance> I had absolutely no problems flashing to it or flashing away from it. It flashed right onto the emprom and was easily overwritten back to the original d10.bin, that I always use. The link I downloaded the d10beta4.bin file from had enough cautions and warnings that "it was beta" to *warn* the faint of heart and unprepared to stay away from the bioses, 'unless' they had a bios savior or other methods of reflash for safety. I had Bios Savior, which was not needed at all.

    I guess tictac, that I am trying to say do not be badly discouraged that you are not seeing really glowing reports of your modded bioses and certainly a flash by someone that goes wrong is by and large not the fault of your bios mod. Well not likely. I have sent modded bioses or 'changed' bioses to a few folks since entering this forum about 5 mos ago and I *only* sent them to people I knew very well. People who knew and understood the dangers and held me blameless in what might happen. Hehehehehe. You put a mod bios up for download and many will find it and try it and have problems as the truth is, they should have stayed away anyway due to the way their board acted with even an official Abit bios.

    I guess what I am trying to say is the NF7 will be around for awhile> and you are trying to do what ABit will NOT do for the user and that is make the bios better. They release a bios that dorks SATA for many and that is stupid on Abit's part as the SATA useage was a big selling point of the NF7-S mobo and many had their O/s on SATA. So to flash to your d10beta4.bin and see the re-arrangement of the options and all and then return to the d10.bin without problems> is worthy of a salute. Keep up the good work and perhaps you will in fact find a break thru like Oskar Wu did for the new DFI mother boards. They will evermore fly if you get one manufactured in Tiawan and not China. So somebody found the real deal in the NF2 even if Abit could not do it with even the AN7 guru'd thing.

    I wish you luck in your modding. Sincerely, RGone...
    thanx.... i will keep on working on it

  5. #20
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Palm Desert, California - USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,400
    Rgone, well said again man. Tictac is doing a great job and doing things that abit wont do for us. Tictac, send me an email and let me know why your leaving us. Im hearts broken man. Please keep up the good work and notify me when you get some new bios's. You got my email........ I think your leaving might have something to do with me and I want to fix it. Let me know what you need done because we need people like you around here.

    Thanks Again man

    Shroomalistic
    DFI LANPARTY DK 790FXB-M2RSH
    AMD Phenom II x4 920
    HD5850/GTX260 PhysX
    G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK x 2 (8gigs)
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire
    Western Digital 640gb Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Windows 7 x64

  6. #21
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,478
    wish my results were better...

    fsb speeds have gone down, memory bandwidth has gone down about 10MB/s vs the D10 with L12 mod.

    i dont know, i just can't keep a stable overclock anymore on this board at all over 225 FSB

  7. #22
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Palm Desert, California - USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,400
    RGONE, i got the same bandwidth at the same speeds. With the 10beta2 and 10beta4 i was able to clock my memory higher, that was the big difference for me.
    DFI LANPARTY DK 790FXB-M2RSH
    AMD Phenom II x4 920
    HD5850/GTX260 PhysX
    G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK x 2 (8gigs)
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire
    Western Digital 640gb Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Windows 7 x64

  8. #23
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    194
    Originally posted by gogetadbl on 01-10-2004 at 07:25 AM
    ackI got this too using logan's d10 bios, and almost any other Abit bios, but how'd you go about fixing it?
    i luckly found a post here from someone who had the same problem and they said that using awdflash 8.23Z from asus's site worked... worked for me too
    Last edited by DisposableHero; 01-10-2004 at 04:19 PM.
    Life is for my own to live my own way
    -Escape, Metallica

  9. #24
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Palm Desert, California - USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,400
    Got a new fsb high, loving these new bios's

    DFI LANPARTY DK 790FXB-M2RSH
    AMD Phenom II x4 920
    HD5850/GTX260 PhysX
    G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK x 2 (8gigs)
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire
    Western Digital 640gb Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Windows 7 x64

  10. #25
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    25
    Which BIOS did you use to get 268 MHz FSB, Shrmytoon? Is it the 1.0beta4 BIOS or the modded 2.1-BIOS? I ask because I use the normal d1.0-BIOS and there 250MHz FSB is the upper limit of the possible adjustments.
    DFI Lanparty NF3 UT 250GB MB w. 10/05 beta BIOS
    AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Newcastle 11*229MHz 1.475V
    Corsair Hydrocool 200 Watercooling
    2x256 MB A-Data Vitesta PC500
    Asus X800 Pro @ XT Platinum
    LiteOn 411S
    Samsung SD-616
    IBM IC35L060AVER07-0 60GB
    IBM DTLA-307030 30GB
    Seagate ST320430A 20GB
    Addtronics C6896A Midi-Tower 450W
    Creative Audigy Player

  11. #26
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Palm Desert, California - USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,400
    I used the d10beta2 on that one. Bios tops out at 250 then i use clockgen to get higher.
    DFI LANPARTY DK 790FXB-M2RSH
    AMD Phenom II x4 920
    HD5850/GTX260 PhysX
    G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK x 2 (8gigs)
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire
    Western Digital 640gb Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Windows 7 x64

  12. #27
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    25
    Oh, that´s clever
    Tried this method myself now with the normal d10-BIOS. I want to achieve 255 MHz, but that frequency is a bit too high with the d10 (250 is the best I can get).
    So what was your best stable FSB with the normal d10? Could you tell me that, Shrmytoon?
    DFI Lanparty NF3 UT 250GB MB w. 10/05 beta BIOS
    AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Newcastle 11*229MHz 1.475V
    Corsair Hydrocool 200 Watercooling
    2x256 MB A-Data Vitesta PC500
    Asus X800 Pro @ XT Platinum
    LiteOn 411S
    Samsung SD-616
    IBM IC35L060AVER07-0 60GB
    IBM DTLA-307030 30GB
    Seagate ST320430A 20GB
    Addtronics C6896A Midi-Tower 450W
    Creative Audigy Player

  13. #28
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Palm Desert, California - USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,400
    On the normal OG d10 bios I was only able to get fully stable at 250. The betas got me stable at 255. I think its quite a big difference.
    DFI LANPARTY DK 790FXB-M2RSH
    AMD Phenom II x4 920
    HD5850/GTX260 PhysX
    G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK x 2 (8gigs)
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire
    Western Digital 640gb Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 32mb cache sata 2.0
    Windows 7 x64

  14. #29
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    36
    Posts
    401
    hmmm iyesterday i try to flash bios d10 for NF7 and i couldn't set my radeon 9800 pro to 8x and it forced my fast write to off hmm then i tried to uninstall my nforce and reinstall them and still won't fix, try new catalyst and old driver still won't fix. and i reformat my HD and install a new fresh driver still won't fix until i try bios d21 from abit now it fix, dunno why maybe there's some incompatiblity this NF7 with radeon but im glad it fix now.
    me me me

  15. #30
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Le Shack-teau
    Posts
    819
    Hey Shroomy' nice spec's and scores...makes me want a chiller...nah!

    tictac, thanks for the effort, but me? I'm done flashin' this forker....
    Legacy Sig
    DFI Infinity
    XP2600M
    SLK900A w/92mm Delta screamer
    TwinMos CH-5 2x512
    MSI 9800 Pro
    Adaptec 39160
    2x Fuji 10k Striped
    MaxT 120G sata, plextor, pioneer
    PC P&C 510w

    "...better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •