Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 67
  1. #31
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,974
    Finding the clitoris? Is that like finding Jesus?

  2. #32
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Age
    45
    Posts
    64

    I am

    Im running Mandrake 9.2 and a 9700 pro. Runs flawlessly. I dont know how to run games tho. I am a newbie. But getting there.

  3. #33
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,974

    Re: I am

    Originally posted by tbirdkid on 01-19-2004 at 11:40 PM
    Im running Mandrake 9.2 and a 9700 pro. Runs flawlessly. I dont know how to run games tho. I am a newbie. But getting there.
    Did you install ATI's drivers, or use the defualt ones.
    Finding the clitoris? Is that like finding Jesus?

  4. #34
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Big Sky, U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,250
    I switched to the Radeon 8500 drivers and UT2K3 is still no-go then I decided to read through this thread again.
    I tried "Chromium" at 10 x7 and it plays fine and looks awesome.
    I then read through the UT/readme, faq
    Q: I have a working, hardware accelerated OpenGL setup, but when I try
    to run the game, I get a message on the console and in my logs that
    says something like "OpenGL renderer relies on DXTC/S3TC support".
    A: Your drivers do not support the "GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc"
    extension. This is needed to play the game. THIS IS NOT A UT2003
    BUG. Currently, the only working drivers we are aware of that
    support this extension on Linux are the official Nvidia binary-only
    drivers. We are currently exploring options with other driver
    vendors, and we are willing to cooperate with any driver vendor that
    wants to support ut2003. The bottom line, however, is this: if you
    want to play the game right now, you should pop an Nvidia card into
    your machine.

    Q: But Quake 3 Arena works with these drivers!
    A: Quake 3 Arena doesn't rely on S3TC support, and is a completely
    different codebase. Apples. Oranges.
    Of course that was written quite awhile ago
    Here is what it says when I try to run ut2003 on mine; if anyone has any tips for me
    [root@A7N8X-X root]# ut2003
    Xlib: extension "XiG-SUNDRY-NONSTANDARD" missing on display ":0.0".
    I'll be googling this for awhile I suppose.
    "It is an unfortunate human failing that a full pocketbook often groans more loudly than an empty stomach."
    Franklin D. Roosevelt
    heat


  5. #35
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tennessee
    Age
    49
    Posts
    272
    Originally posted by edudlive on 01-19-2004 at 04:54 PM
    http://www.petitiononline.com/linuxati/petition.html

    I signed!!

    I am new to all this Linux stuff and havent really fooled with it but a few times with the "Suse Live-Eval 9.0" disc I have....Got Suse 9.0 Pro on the way,so I once it gets here and I get me another HD to dual boot with I would like it to be pretty easy to set my 9700 Pro up to run with Suse....mostly just gong to be a play around with thing for now and not much gaming.....But who knows,once I get used to it I might toss Windows XP out the window
    MY HEAT

    Windows XP Pro/SP3
    Chieftec full tower case
    Thermaltake Silent Purepower 480w
    Asrock 939Dual sata2
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+
    1gig Corsair PC3200 (2 x CMX512-3200C2PT)
    80gig Hitachi SATA 7200rpm
    NEC 3550A 16x dual layer DVD burner
    ATI Radeon X800 XT Platnium Edition (AGP)

  6. #36
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,034
    [root@A7N8X-X root]# ut2003
    Xlib: extension "XiG-SUNDRY-NONSTANDARD" missing on display ":0.0".
    This is normal, it happens with everything when your not using the XiG drivers. Nvidia drivers too.

    Here's a question, did ATI ever get S3 texture compression? I remember them complaining about how they didn't want to pay for the license without charging for the drivers (according to one of the head honcho's of epic on atari forums, can't remember his name, but I'm sure the gamers know who I am talking about) But he said they were trying to work something out so ATI users could play the game without buying the XiG drivers.

    This was a long time ago, but UT2003 requires it.

    How about this (enemy territory);
    http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/wol...2.x86.run.html

    or this (america's army)
    http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/ame...linux.bin.html

    do either of them work? they are both free games to download, and pretty good if you like UT2003. I think AA uses the ut engine, but ET uses the quake 3 engine.

    Also did you use loki_update to update ut2003? I know it didn't work with ATI cards when it first came out.... You can use either /usr/local/games/ut2003/updater/update or /usr/local/games/ut2003/updater/loki_update as root or your acount (depending on how you installed it) to update the client.... Just make sure you get the patch from the epic mirror, there is 2 patches from base to current that are all supposed to be synced up (one is compatable with newer gcc versions).... But they aren't on the other mirrors other than david.harsboro (whatever) and I think that mirror is now down.
    Last edited by DustSmoke; 01-19-2004 at 10:37 PM.
    http://dustsmoke.com/images/dustsmoke_logo.gif

  7. #37
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Big Sky, U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,250
    I tried to install the drivers from ati and I destroyed X somehow. I think my eyes were too tired from being out in the cold today
    Might be easiest for me to do a clean install at this point...
    Oh well it can finish this folding work unit it's working on from the shell and I'll look at it again tomorrow
    "It is an unfortunate human failing that a full pocketbook often groans more loudly than an empty stomach."
    Franklin D. Roosevelt
    heat


  8. #38
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Age
    55
    Posts
    934
    UPDATE!!!

    Hey guys there is still hope!

    Check this out!

    http://www.gmpf.de/english


    The use of force seems to be the trick! I just might have to try this again,,LOL heck I just figured out the Suse 9 Nvidia drivers problems (4620's work and 4496's all others dont). ANd got my suse up and running, will post some desktop pics soon on the desktop pic thread.

    Anyways Some people are getting this to work. ANd I DO mean 3D acceleration!!!

    Good Luck! I am going to stick to my Ti4200 for now! Until ATI makes it easier. I am just lazy, plus swapping the waterblocks on my GPU and draining my whole system is a pain.

    Later!

  9. #39
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Big Sky, U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,250

    Question

    I am thinking for me it would be best to switch to nvidia also.
    Can you guys suggest something comparable to my Radeon 8500 retail 64MB?
    It would need to be more compatible with Fedora and UT2003(DXTC/S3TC support)

    I may try and do a trade in the trading post forum.
    Thanks for any suggestions, I really have no idea where this would stack up against an nvidia card.
    "It is an unfortunate human failing that a full pocketbook often groans more loudly than an empty stomach."
    Franklin D. Roosevelt
    heat


  10. #40
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    283
    I'm running an 8500 on one machine, and
    a Rage Fury Pro on another. I'm running
    Xfree86 4.3.0 using its drivers and DRI.
    No problems here. I don't play games,
    though. Currently running at 1280x1024
    on both machines.
    Windows at work, because I HAVE to.
    Linux at home, because I WANT to.

  11. #41
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,974
    Originally posted by HombrePeligroso on 01-21-2004 at 04:50 AM
    I'm running an 8500 on one machine, and
    a Rage Fury Pro on another. I'm running
    Xfree86 4.3.0 using its drivers and DRI.
    No problems here. I don't play games,
    though. Currently running at 1280x1024
    on both machines.
    Don't see it in your sig, so what distro is it?
    Finding the clitoris? Is that like finding Jesus?

  12. #42
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    283
    Originally posted by edudlive on 01-21-2004 at 12:11 PM
    Don't see it in your sig, so what distro is it?
    I'm running FrankenSlack©. It's actually
    Slackware 7.1, but I've upgraded it
    piecemeal. My sig's out of date; I'm
    just too lazy to update it. My main
    box is running gcc 2.95.3/glibc 2.2.5
    /KDE 3.2 Beta2 with the Rage: my
    test box is running gcc 3.3.1/glibc 2.3.2/
    KDE 3.2RC1 with the 8500. Main box is
    running Linux 2.4.23; test box, 2.4.25pre6
    Last edited by HombrePeligroso; 01-21-2004 at 02:07 PM.
    Windows at work, because I HAVE to.
    Linux at home, because I WANT to.

  13. #43
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Age
    55
    Posts
    934

    Wink

    Originally posted by DHutson on 01-20-2004 at 08:48 PM
    I am thinking for me it would be best to switch to nvidia also.
    Can you guys suggest something comparable to my Radeon 8500 retail 64MB?
    It would need to be more compatible with Fedora and UT2003(DXTC/S3TC support)

    I may try and do a trade in the trading post forum.
    Thanks for any suggestions, I really have no idea where this would stack up against an nvidia card.
    DHutson,

    I have run My Ti4200 8X AGP 128 mg card with Fedora and no problems whatsoever. I also run UT2003 and it plays the game better than WindowsXP does with the same system.

    Right now I am using Suse 9 with the same system and I play alot of linux and winex games on it .

    I would suggest getting any Ti series card. Preferably a Ti4200, 4400 or 4600. They are no brainers to configure. The only thing with Suse 9 is you need to run the 4620 Driver or the 4496, NOT the latest , for some reason the latest driver doesnt run 3D support with Suse 9

    Oh well, Good Luck!

  14. #44
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Big Sky, U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,250
    Thanks for the advice.
    I am getting a Gainward GF4 TI4200 GS
    Would you go with the latest drivers on Fedora?

    last time I went with nvidia was a GF2 with 1541 drivers on Redhat 7 and had to edit XFree86config to run UT but that was so long ago I almost forgot about it...lol

    edit- just for fun I did a search and found that old thread
    Last edited by DHutson; 01-22-2004 at 10:51 PM.
    "It is an unfortunate human failing that a full pocketbook often groans more loudly than an empty stomach."
    Franklin D. Roosevelt
    heat


  15. #45
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Age
    55
    Posts
    934
    Originally posted by DHutson on 01-22-2004 at 10:44 PM
    Thanks for the advice.
    I am getting a Gainward GF4 TI4200 GS
    Would you go with the latest drivers on Fedora?

    last time I went with nvidia was a GF2 with 1541 drivers on Redhat 7 and had to edit XFree86config to run UT but that was so long ago I almost forgot about it...lol

    edit- just for fun I did a search and found that old thread
    You know here is the thing. Basically to answer your question yes I would.

    BUT,,ONLY if you use the standard Kernel and not the 2.6. and if your thinking about going with the 2.6 Kernel I would wait until they fix the cdrom Bug with the Fedora 2.6 Kernel. It just sucked. I had everything configured rebooted with the new kernel and NO CDROM. No burner, nothing, then I did a search on google and found out that it was a 2.6 Kernel Fedora bug.

    It wont be long and someone will fix it .

    Anyways with Suse 9, I cant run the 53xx series Driver , because their is a Known issue with that particular driver and Suse 9. So that makes me wonder what else is wrong with that driver. I would stick with the 4496 or the 4620 if you can find it. But I think that driver is only for Suse. Try the 53xx series I had no problems with it. But like I said, now I wonder. I always did have great luck with the 4496 Driver.

    But anyways good luck and I hope you enjoy gaming on your linux boxx as much as I do. I am sold on the fact that nothing runs games smoother than Linux. Quake3 is smooth as silk and UT2003 for that matter is also. And call me silly I just enjoy it better. I always like to goto the local lanparty and have everyone walk by and think I am running Style XP or Aston (astonshell.com) Desktop because its so different and when they ask they are usually blown away to see I am running Linux and my desktop is nothing more than Windowmaker.

    Good Luck and keep me posted on how you make out!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •