Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 67
  1. #46
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    ok sounds good. As far as bios is concerned i always liked the phrase "if it aint broke, dont fix it"
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  2. #47
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Juan Valdez's vacation hotspot
    Posts
    2,459
    Should be good to go...look forward to seeing the results.
    AMD RIGS:
    Main Rig: Antec P160\A7N8X-Dlx\1007 Uber\Thermalright SP-97-Ceramique\XP-M 2500@12X210\NB Vantec Iceberg\2X Corsair XMS 256 PC3200LL\WD Raptor X2 (RAID 0)\WD 800JB\ATI 9800 Pro\NEC 2500A\Vantec 520W PS

    Shuttle Rig: SN45G\Stock Ice-Ceramique\XP 2500@10.5X202\Mushkin Black Lvl I PC3200\ATI AIW 9600 Pro\WD 1200JB\Lite-On LTC48161H


    Current evaluation testing: Plextor PX-712SA (SATA Optical Drive).

    My Pets...... 3112 Driver Comparison....NCQ Desktop Performance

  3. #48
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    Originally posted by $ilent$uicide on 02-06-2004 at 07:53 PM
    ok sounds good. As far as bios is concerned i always liked the phrase "if it aint broke, dont fix it"
    Smart man!

  4. #49
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,049

    Talking

    I will wear my old shoes till they have holes in them then buy a rafter 10,000sp for $50

  5. #50
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    506
    Originally posted by sunofwolf on 02-06-2004 at 07:34 PM
    I lot of dough $500+ for two drives=324gigs. I will only buy drives that give me a deep discount like a 250gig wd for $140 after rebate-the extra speed not worth it-but maybe you need the fast boot time-I will wait the extra seconds and save my wallet
    I agree with you. The performance boost isnt nearly worth the dough. So now explain to me why I have a raptor and I'm ditching my raid setup (oh how i'll miss that STR) for a new 160GB Hitachi

    We've all been wasting money on unnecessary technology for years so why stop now !!!
    A64 3000+ 2.6Ghz
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    1GB Corsair XMS3200C2
    eVGA 7800GTX
    36GB Raptor / 160GB HK250
    Audigy 2 / Logitech Z-5300
    Heatware Ebay
    Email

  6. #51
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    The suspence was killing me so............


    Item List
    HD 250GB|HITC SATA 8MB 13G0255 % (Qty=1,Price=250.00)
    HD 74GB|WD 10,000RPM 8MB WD740GD % (Qty=1,Price=248.00)

    Subtotal:498.00
    TAX:.00
    Shipping and Handling Charge**:.00
    Total:498.00

    Here we go!


    I did have 1 more question. If i installed the raptor only, set up my OS and blah blah. Can i install the 250GB Hitachi at any time or would i have to reinstall the SATA drivers again?

    The reason i ask is because i need to transfer files from my (old main) storage drive to this new Hitachi drive, i was going to send it to this comp shop i go to from time to time and have them format and partition it along with the transfer of the files.
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  7. #52
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Juan Valdez's vacation hotspot
    Posts
    2,459
    Just install the SATA drive and load the OS...have the driver disk ready to go beforehand. After you have the OS loaded then install the Hitachi drive. It really shouldn't matter but sometimes people were getting issues with other drives installed and it is kind of hard to pinpoint a cause.

    When you want to transfer the files....just connect the old drive to your other IDE channel and transfer away.
    AMD RIGS:
    Main Rig: Antec P160\A7N8X-Dlx\1007 Uber\Thermalright SP-97-Ceramique\XP-M 2500@12X210\NB Vantec Iceberg\2X Corsair XMS 256 PC3200LL\WD Raptor X2 (RAID 0)\WD 800JB\ATI 9800 Pro\NEC 2500A\Vantec 520W PS

    Shuttle Rig: SN45G\Stock Ice-Ceramique\XP 2500@10.5X202\Mushkin Black Lvl I PC3200\ATI AIW 9600 Pro\WD 1200JB\Lite-On LTC48161H


    Current evaluation testing: Plextor PX-712SA (SATA Optical Drive).

    My Pets...... 3112 Driver Comparison....NCQ Desktop Performance

  8. #53
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    Originally posted by TonyInSeattle on 02-09-2004 at 04:13 PM
    Just install the SATA drive and load the OS...have the driver disk ready to go beforehand. After you have the OS loaded then install the Hitachi drive. It really shouldn't matter but sometimes people were getting issues with other drives installed and it is kind of hard to pinpoint a cause.

    When you want to transfer the files....just connect the old drive to your other IDE channel and transfer away.
    OMG lol thats how much of a SATA noob i am i thought for some reason i could only have SATA drives or PATA drives but not both PATA and SATA drives at the same time. Heh you probably saved me 40$
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  9. #54
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Juan Valdez's vacation hotspot
    Posts
    2,459
    lol...always glad to save people money...should be a straight forward install.
    AMD RIGS:
    Main Rig: Antec P160\A7N8X-Dlx\1007 Uber\Thermalright SP-97-Ceramique\XP-M 2500@12X210\NB Vantec Iceberg\2X Corsair XMS 256 PC3200LL\WD Raptor X2 (RAID 0)\WD 800JB\ATI 9800 Pro\NEC 2500A\Vantec 520W PS

    Shuttle Rig: SN45G\Stock Ice-Ceramique\XP 2500@10.5X202\Mushkin Black Lvl I PC3200\ATI AIW 9600 Pro\WD 1200JB\Lite-On LTC48161H


    Current evaluation testing: Plextor PX-712SA (SATA Optical Drive).

    My Pets...... 3112 Driver Comparison....NCQ Desktop Performance

  10. #55
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    Ok im in business, just got the drives today via. fed-ex. Im still waiting for 1 more package that contains my sata cables, should be here by monday. Now, looking at the back of the raptor, i see theres jumper settings like on the pata drives. This raptor jumper is set to the very right side (assuming your looking at the drive rightside up and from the back ) i was wondering if thats the correct jumper placement when im going to be using another sata drive as well, if not where do i move it to and while were at it, what the heck do the new jumper letters/settings/positions mean? thnx again!
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  11. #56
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    46
    Posts
    2,163
    http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc....ted=1050530240

    "Western Digital Serial ATA drives have a jumper block located next to the ATA power connector. There is generally no need to change the default jumper setting in order to use the drive. The only use of this jumper block is to enable or disable power management for the drive. The drives ship in the default position with the shunt on pins 1-2 (disabled). Alternatively, the jumper can be removed completely with the same result. Placing the shunt on pins 3-4 (enabled), designates that the drive will power-up in standby mode. For most users the default position should be used."

    Prime
    Heat eBay

    Disclaimer: If I post a link it doesn't necessarily mean I endorse or am even familiar with the site. It might just be that I did your work for you and found it on Google. Click at your own risk. Thank you.

  12. #57
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    Ahhh ok thnx.
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  13. #58
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554
    Prime is right. Don't mess with the jumper. No need to.

  14. #59
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Renton, Washington
    Age
    51
    Posts
    280
    Well i got my cables for my drives. Install if the OS and drivers went off with out a hitch, well not exactely, when installing the OS i came to the format HDD and i hadent realised that (i had both sata's and one pata installed) my pata was the first device listed then the raptor then the hitachi.

    SOooooo i thought i was formating the raptor when it was the pata drive that had critical data on it, i ended up deleting the partition because i couldent understand why it wasent formatting.

    Anyway i disconnected all but the raptor (like i should of dont to begin with) and then the install was allright. I did manage to have a bit of trouble getting the second hitachi drive to even show up in "my computer" but after using data manager and formatting it that was no problem.

    I have a question. During the boot process im now getting a message saying press "ctrl+f4 or something to enter sata raid configuration" is there a way to get rid of that boot screen? Also im now being halted for about 15 seconds (or so it seems) at the boot screen that has my IRQ assignments with a message saying "verifying DMI pool data" is something wrong, i never got that message before now? My boot sequence is scsi,cdrom,floppy.
    Last edited by $ilent$uicide; 02-17-2004 at 12:20 PM.
    Black Chenming-602 (side window)|DangerDen TDX and NV-78 Nvidia VGA Block|Enermax 720w|EluminX Sapphire keyboard|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx.|Athlon64 FX-57 @ 2.97G|Windows Vista Ult. & XP Pro SP2 Build.2180|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500 ProSeries|1 Raptor VR 300G SATA|1 Seagate 750G SATA|BenQ 16x Dual 8x DL|Lite-On 16X Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Samsung 305T 30" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitech Z-680 5.1 505 Watts
    My Computer Pix

  15. #60
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Juan Valdez's vacation hotspot
    Posts
    2,459
    You will get that nuisance message since it is a RAID controller and looking for a set. What you may want to try is another BIOS with 4.2.47 SATA BIOS.

    http://forums.amdmb.com/showthread.p...hreadid=298352

    I haven't tried it but this may help on some of those messages at bootup.
    AMD RIGS:
    Main Rig: Antec P160\A7N8X-Dlx\1007 Uber\Thermalright SP-97-Ceramique\XP-M 2500@12X210\NB Vantec Iceberg\2X Corsair XMS 256 PC3200LL\WD Raptor X2 (RAID 0)\WD 800JB\ATI 9800 Pro\NEC 2500A\Vantec 520W PS

    Shuttle Rig: SN45G\Stock Ice-Ceramique\XP 2500@10.5X202\Mushkin Black Lvl I PC3200\ATI AIW 9600 Pro\WD 1200JB\Lite-On LTC48161H


    Current evaluation testing: Plextor PX-712SA (SATA Optical Drive).

    My Pets...... 3112 Driver Comparison....NCQ Desktop Performance

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •