Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 121 to 130 of 130
  1. #121
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flower Mound, Texas
    Posts
    879
    Originally posted by Bor on 02-17-2004 at 12:00 AM
    I think this is how it works....

    PCI frequency is derived from the real memory frequency. As long as the real memory frequency is below 400, then the PCI/AGP are locked.

    Now if only we could get anandtech to test this
    Has this been proved to be true. Makes sense to me.

  2. #122
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    225
    Hi DannyTeets, Does the chaintech NF3-150 board have the bios option to enable/disable Cool n Quiet Technology??

  3. #123
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Cumberland, MD
    Age
    48
    Posts
    265
    No it does not and I so far have not been able to change the multiplier. I am at 245 and can run prime95 for hours with no errors. 250 has been a little unstable lately so I dropped it to 245.
    Last edited by DannyTeets; 02-23-2004 at 07:49 AM.
    Intel Pentium D 805 Smithfield Dual Core,EM64T Processor

    OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

    XFX PV-T71G-UCE7 Geforce 7900GT

    Antec SUPER LANBOY

    Asus P5N32-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI
    Ultra ULT31852 X2 X-Connect 550W Power Supply (Titanium w/UV Blue) Retail

    Plextor PX-750A-BP/BL 16X Internal Dual Layer DVD±R/RW

    2X Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB

    Zalman CNPS9500 LED CPU Cooler Retail

  4. #124
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    182
    Hi DannyTeets, Does the chaintech NF3-150 board have the bios option to enable/disable Cool n Quiet Technology??
    no because if it did then multiplier changes would work like i mentioned previously


    M*XI
    Abit Fatal1ty AN8-SLI w XP90c
    2x1gig Corsair PC3200
    2 Raptor 74gig SATA 10krpm(raid 0)
    2 Maxtor 300 gig 7200 rpm 16Meg(raid 1)
    2 200 7200rpm 7200rpm 8Meg (HotSwap)
    1 200 gig Maxtor External
    2xGeForce 6800 GT 400/1100
    Audigy2
    Pioneer Slot loader DVD 120s
    Plextor 708a DVD burner
    NEC 3500 DvD burner
    Logitech Z 680 5.1
    Windows XP SP1

  5. #125
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    225
    Originally posted by Maximus[X-D] on 02-23-2004 at 12:07 PM
    no because if it did then multiplier changes would work like i mentioned previously


    M*XI
    So to be able to change multipler, the motherboard must be able to have the cool n quiet thingy in the bios to enable or disable it??
    Or u can just use the clockgen to adjust the multipler?

    So does the Shuttle NF3 or the Gigabyte K8NNXP have the bios setting for the cool n quiet since it seem that people using these two boards are able to adjust their multipler using clockGen??

    Care to enlighten me on these.. thanks in advance!!

  6. #126
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    182
    It has been my experience that boards whose bios does not support cool and quite (even if it’s a hidden option) will not allow you to use tools such as clockgen to set the multi because in fact its using the same components (or functionality) that was engineered in for “cool and quite” so no cool and quite support in bios no ability to change the multiplier on the fly. Also in my experience the bios does not have to show Cool and Quite as an option you have to turn on to work but there were several boards I tried at release whom did not support cool and quite but did add it as an option later and at that time the clockgen proggies worked where they had previously failed

    Clear as mud?

    M*XI
    Abit Fatal1ty AN8-SLI w XP90c
    2x1gig Corsair PC3200
    2 Raptor 74gig SATA 10krpm(raid 0)
    2 Maxtor 300 gig 7200 rpm 16Meg(raid 1)
    2 200 7200rpm 7200rpm 8Meg (HotSwap)
    1 200 gig Maxtor External
    2xGeForce 6800 GT 400/1100
    Audigy2
    Pioneer Slot loader DVD 120s
    Plextor 708a DVD burner
    NEC 3500 DvD burner
    Logitech Z 680 5.1
    Windows XP SP1

  7. #127
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    225
    Originally posted by Maximus[X-D] on 02-23-2004 at 03:47 PM
    It has been my experience that boards whose bios does not support cool and quite (even if it’s a hidden option) will not allow you to use tools such as clockgen to set the multi because in fact its using the same components (or functionality) that was engineered in for “cool and quite” so no cool and quite support in bios no ability to change the multiplier on the fly. Also in my experience the bios does not have to show Cool and Quite as an option you have to turn on to work but there were several boards I tried at release whom did not support cool and quite but did add it as an option later and at that time the clockgen proggies worked where they had previously failed

    Clear as mud?

    M*XI
    Huh?? I dont really get it.. I am confused here..

    So for those boardsswithout the cool n quiet bios settings, they cant adjust the multipler even when using the clockGen??

  8. #128
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Cumberland, MD
    Age
    48
    Posts
    265
    It seems that way. I am sad as well. My limiting factor right now.
    Intel Pentium D 805 Smithfield Dual Core,EM64T Processor

    OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

    XFX PV-T71G-UCE7 Geforce 7900GT

    Antec SUPER LANBOY

    Asus P5N32-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI
    Ultra ULT31852 X2 X-Connect 550W Power Supply (Titanium w/UV Blue) Retail

    Plextor PX-750A-BP/BL 16X Internal Dual Layer DVD±R/RW

    2X Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB

    Zalman CNPS9500 LED CPU Cooler Retail

  9. #129
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    225
    Originally posted by DannyTeets on 02-23-2004 at 04:15 PM
    It seems that way. I am sad as well. My limiting factor right now.
    Did u try installing the cool n quiet drivers?? Did it help??

  10. #130
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    182
    god i need to take a glass on communication..

    Ok if the bios does not support Cool and Quite (which is just the adjustment of the cpu multiplier on the fly using system temp as the variable) then it lock up when you try to use a clockgen ect within windows to manually set the multi.

    Now every board manufacturer can and should make the option avaliable since it was a engineered in functionality and selling point by AMD

    that being said its possible to not have a cool and quite option in the bios yet it still work because the option is hidden ect., but the bios does support it.

    Chaintech is being really dumb about the whole deal.

    btw my Chaintech board is up and stable on the raptors at 225fbs set to Auto which runs teh DDR at 225 as well or 1:1 only thing is that no matter how i set the bios timings it doesnt actually change them or not as reported by cpuz

    Im pretty damn happy with this board so far minus the inability to adjust the multi in the bios and support cool and quite.


    M*XI
    Abit Fatal1ty AN8-SLI w XP90c
    2x1gig Corsair PC3200
    2 Raptor 74gig SATA 10krpm(raid 0)
    2 Maxtor 300 gig 7200 rpm 16Meg(raid 1)
    2 200 7200rpm 7200rpm 8Meg (HotSwap)
    1 200 gig Maxtor External
    2xGeForce 6800 GT 400/1100
    Audigy2
    Pioneer Slot loader DVD 120s
    Plextor 708a DVD burner
    NEC 3500 DvD burner
    Logitech Z 680 5.1
    Windows XP SP1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •