Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    10

    New NF7-S will not start up

    I have just completed hooking up an Abit NF7-S computer with the following specs:

    2500 Barton
    2 - 256 mb Micron 333mhz memory (registered, I think?)
    Asus ATi 9600SE vid
    80 gig SATA Maxtor HD
    CD writer set up as master on IDE 2

    When I push the power button, the LED's light up on the case initially and then go out, the lights on the MB stay on and the CD-Rom lights up too.

    I get nothing on the monitor and there is no initial beeping.

    Any thoughts on what the problem might be; processor, memory, HD, MB? I have tried a number of different things and I'm kind of stumped. Thanks,

    Jeff
    Asus A7N8X-E DLX
    2500+ Barton
    BFG GeForce 6800 OC
    2x 256 Corsair PC2700
    SLK-800(A)

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Posts
    1,407
    Try Holding down the insert (right above delete key) on boot just like trying to get into bios. If this does not work look in the DFI area at no boot cold boot problems forum about 200 posts I beleive and read it as they are having the same NForce2 problem try there things also.

    Maybe recheck the wires from the case to the MB pins to see if maybe one is backwards pos on neg pin.

    remove the video card and reseat it.

    I also have no beep on startup. so that is not a tel tale sign.
    Last edited by Racefan; 02-26-2004 at 10:36 PM.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Age
    57
    Posts
    357
    Have you got into Bios yet? Check all connections again. Maybe start
    with only graphics card and memory/hardrives/cpu. Disconect the cd writer for now to see whats up. If that does not work try running it
    out of case on a non conductive surface like the box the motherboard
    came in.
    Abit NF-7S ver 2.0 Bios PR3ACH3RD18
    Windows XP SP1 (Home)
    2 WD Caviar Harddrives (IDE)
    Highpoint RocketRaid 133 (Raid 0)
    XP-2600 Barton
    Kingston Hyper X 3200 DDR 2x512
    Gainward GF3
    Sony E540 monitor 21"
    Windows XP
    Alpha pal 8045 Delta Fan
    Samsung Combo CDRW & DVD
    Asus 52x CD Rom
    Enermax 430w power supply
    Hercules Gametheatre XP
    Logitech Z-560 speakers

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for the responses. I will try some of your ideas and let you know how things turn out
    Asus A7N8X-E DLX
    2500+ Barton
    BFG GeForce 6800 OC
    2x 256 Corsair PC2700
    SLK-800(A)

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    417
    I recomend you clear CMOS 1-3 times before starting up, thats what I did just as a precaution, and I had no problems getting it to boot the first time.
    My Gaming Rig
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4790K 4.6GHz 1.25v Cooling: Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) Motherboard: ASUS Z97-AR Memory: Samsung (Green) 8GB DDR3 2133MHz 1.5v GPU: ASUS GTX570 DirectCU 1280MB Display: ASUS VS239 Storage: Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Western Digital Black 1TB Case: Corsair 200R

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    10
    I've tried a number of different things, including clearing CMOS multiple times, pulling mb out and setting on a noncunductive surface and removing/ re-attaching all components.

    I get absolutely nothing from the mb except that the fans start up, the hd spins and the LED's light up by the battery. I get nothing on the monitor, in fact I have tried several monitors and a different graphics card, to no avail. Is my mb possibly dead? I'm not sure the best way to assess where the problem is; whether the processor has a problem or if the memory has a problem (I've tried different slots). Thanks for any help.
    Asus A7N8X-E DLX
    2500+ Barton
    BFG GeForce 6800 OC
    2x 256 Corsair PC2700
    SLK-800(A)

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    10
    I have follwoed many of the suggestios from the various Abit stickies and my only thoughts are that it is a faulty board, or a bad processor. In order to save myself any more hassle I am going to RMA the board. Shoud I contact the place I purchased it from first (Newegg), or send it to Asus. I've been looking around and unfortunately I'm a little unclear as to how one RMA's a component. Thanks for all of the help you have given me.
    Asus A7N8X-E DLX
    2500+ Barton
    BFG GeForce 6800 OC
    2x 256 Corsair PC2700
    SLK-800(A)

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    228
    One thing you haven't mentioned - what size power supply do you have?

    Bill
    Phenom 9950 Quad core
    M2N-SLI Deluxe
    4GB OCZ Gold
    WD 1TB SATA HD
    WD 360GB Raptor HD
    Antec TruePower 750 PS
    Antec Sonata case
    BFG 8600GT 256MB video
    Samsung SG-S203B SATA DVD
    SB Audigy sound
    On Board NIC
    Win XP SP3

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    209
    Sounds like the Processor is dead. Or the Psu is set to 220v.

    Try to boot with no ram see if it beeps....

    Make sure heat sink fan is pluged into the header..If so boot with no processor and see if it beeps if it does the processor may be doa....
    GigaByte Dual P series
    2xMP2000 at 140x15...2.1gigs each
    DVD-R-4x/CDRW 40x
    Raid0..2x 30 gig western 7200
    1x 80 Gig maxtor main drive
    1.5 gigs Kingston Ram
    Radeon 9700 Pro All In Wonder
    FMI 500 Watt Psu
    Senior Member Overclockers.com

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    66
    Try to use different ram if you have some. I had the same exact problem with mine while using crucial ram which is made by micron. I rma'd the board and newegg sent it back saying that they tested it and it worked fine. Use different memory and I am almost certain it will boot.
    DFI NF4 Ultra D
    AMD Opty 148(fully dressed)2900Mhz(290X10) 1.4v
    Thermalright XP-120
    2X 1Gb Kit Mushkin XP 4000(166 divider) 480MHz
    EVGA 7800 GT (500 core 1.16 mem)
    80Gb Seagate Barracuda SATA II 3G
    Liteon 16X Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
    52X CDROM
    OCZ Powerstream 520
    XP Pro SP2
    Aspire X-Infinity Tower

  11. #11
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Age
    57
    Posts
    357
    That was a good question about your power supply? The requirements have changed allot since your last system. You need
    a 400w nowdays. If yours is less than 300w you have no chance of a boot in my opinion. Thats why we all list our specs here like I have
    so others can help. Its not braging but a diagnostic aide to other
    tech heads in the know.
    Abit NF-7S ver 2.0 Bios PR3ACH3RD18
    Windows XP SP1 (Home)
    2 WD Caviar Harddrives (IDE)
    Highpoint RocketRaid 133 (Raid 0)
    XP-2600 Barton
    Kingston Hyper X 3200 DDR 2x512
    Gainward GF3
    Sony E540 monitor 21"
    Windows XP
    Alpha pal 8045 Delta Fan
    Samsung Combo CDRW & DVD
    Asus 52x CD Rom
    Enermax 430w power supply
    Hercules Gametheatre XP
    Logitech Z-560 speakers

  12. #12
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    1
    I had the same problem with my nf7-s as well when i first assembled it. After several checks I broke the problem down to the RAM. I reseated it and no problem. It seems to be really fussy so make sure the slot is clean and that it is seated nicely from left to right.
    Barton 2500+
    ABIT NF7-S ver 2.0
    Saphire Atlantis Radeon 9600
    Onboard Sound
    PC 2700 Kingston Value Ram
    Windows XP SP1 PRO Edition
    Seagate 80GB on SATA
    32x12x48x CD-RW
    500 Watt PSU

    On its way:
    Kingston HyperX Dual Channel PC3200
    Thermalright ALX-800
    Arctic Silver 5 Silver Compound

  13. #13
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Southwest PA
    Age
    49
    Posts
    12
    I've got the same problem in a very similar setup.

    400 watt power supply, NF7 Version 2.0, 20 & 80 GB Seagate Barracudas, 2 sticks of 256 MB PC3200 Samsung memory in slots 2 & 3, ATI Radeon 9200 SE 128 MB video card.

    On startup I was getting no video at all. I had the green and red LEDs by the CMOS battery. The monitors' light was orange, and would only go green if I unplugged the video cable. When plugged back in, it went back to orange.

    It would beep for about a second, pause for 3-4 seconds, and repeat continuously.

    Once I took the memory stick out of slot 2, it stopped beeping.

    I pulled the CMOS battery and also reset it with the jumper.

    Unhooked the CPU (Athlon XP Barton 2500+ unlocked), cables, drives, memory, etc, and let it all sit for a while. Reassembled. No change.

    I'm going to take the CPU and video card to a computer store tomorrow for testing.

    Ideas?
    Last edited by TimK225; 02-28-2004 at 01:37 AM.
    See "Online Video", the newest webshow on the internet, only at www.loudmouthtim.com !

  14. #14
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Age
    57
    Posts
    357
    Take the motherboard too. You might just take he whole box so
    the tech can isolate and find problem?
    Abit NF-7S ver 2.0 Bios PR3ACH3RD18
    Windows XP SP1 (Home)
    2 WD Caviar Harddrives (IDE)
    Highpoint RocketRaid 133 (Raid 0)
    XP-2600 Barton
    Kingston Hyper X 3200 DDR 2x512
    Gainward GF3
    Sony E540 monitor 21"
    Windows XP
    Alpha pal 8045 Delta Fan
    Samsung Combo CDRW & DVD
    Asus 52x CD Rom
    Enermax 430w power supply
    Hercules Gametheatre XP
    Logitech Z-560 speakers

  15. #15
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    memphis TN
    Age
    59
    Posts
    93
    i built a p4 system last week,it would boot for a sesond then turn off.i remove the ide cables.and tried boot again,the floppy power cable was not hooked up right and it smoked,melted the wires to the ide cable.i replaced the melted wires and changed the ide cable,booted right up..so always check all the connections.,.,.,
    abit nf7s.2,512 simpletech. amd 2800+aqyha0351xpmw@180*12.5
    antec 430watt true power, syncMaster 906 bw lcd.XP sp1
    1 wd153ba@ 7,200rpm.1 wd 80 gig @7200rpm, nvidia Gforce 6800nu@128megs.Wdc wd 800jb sata.Liteon LH-20AL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •