Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    91

    VHS To DVD Capture

    Looking for best video capture device to convert VHS movies to DVD. Have been looking at Plextor Convert x PX-M402U and others from ADS also Avermedia if anyone has any input it would be a great help as I am new to video capture. System is as follows.
    1. CPU : Barton2500
    2. Motherboard : Epox EP-8rda3+
    3. Memory : 2 Crucial 512MB PC3200
    4. Video Card : ATI Radeon 9100 128MB AGP
    5. Sound Card :Creative Audigy2ZS
    6. 2 WD 40GB SE Hard Drives 8MB Cache
    7. Optical Drive1 : Plextor PX-708A
    8.Optical Drive2 : Lite-on Combo Drive
    9.Case : Antec SX835II/ 550Watt True Power, PSU
    10. Floppy Drive : Panasonic
    11. Modem : Zoom V.92 PCI 3025
    12. Cooling : 5 80MM Cooling Fans
    13. Operating System : Windows XP PRO/SP1

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762
    really any tv card and dvd burner would work for that purpose. sonic mydvd even burns on the fly and it comes with many drives.

    for best video quality i would get a tv card with a hardware encoder...happauge pvr250 being the favorite here. it costs $140. the cheaper tv cards have software encoders that will do fine, but may be grainier and drop a frame here and there.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    91
    Was looking more for a USB or Firewire device, did not want to install a PCI card, can anyone give any advice on the plextor convert x, px-m401u or the px-m402u?
    Last edited by gosling; 03-07-2004 at 10:07 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    91
    No new replys, should close thread. GOSLING

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, but am from Chicago area
    Posts
    606
    Don't be so quick to close the thread. Is hardware encoding really that much better? If it is why do so few cards do it?
    Can anyone with a software encoding card comment on their quality? I too have many VHS tapes to transfer to DVD.

    I am considering an AIW 9600 Pro or a Compro Videomate Gold Plus add in card.
    Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL,2500+ Barton, Corsair 2X256MBTwinX512-32000LLPT@5-2-2-2,(11X202),Works 430W PS,
    ATI 9100 64MB (279/261MHz),2 WD 40GB 7200RPM,DVD/CDRW/8X DVD+/- RW,Antec PlusView 1000

    Albatron KX18D Pro,2600+Barton,Kingston 2X256 PC2700 VR CL2.5@11-3-3-2.5,(11X200, dual channel in sync),Matrox 32MB-G400MAX,CDRW, Black Raidmax]


  6. #6
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,363
    cuz it cost $$$ and to get suckers to buy it, it has to be cheap, hence s/w encoded. quality-wise it shouldn't make a diff but when encoding, it eats up the cpu so you cant do other things w/o lag etc.

  7. #7
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, but am from Chicago area
    Posts
    606
    Thanks for the info on s/w encoding. As long as quality is the same I can deal with it. I can use the kid's PC or spend quality time with the wife instead of multi-tasking.
    Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL,2500+ Barton, Corsair 2X256MBTwinX512-32000LLPT@5-2-2-2,(11X202),Works 430W PS,
    ATI 9100 64MB (279/261MHz),2 WD 40GB 7200RPM,DVD/CDRW/8X DVD+/- RW,Antec PlusView 1000

    Albatron KX18D Pro,2600+Barton,Kingston 2X256 PC2700 VR CL2.5@11-3-3-2.5,(11X200, dual channel in sync),Matrox 32MB-G400MAX,CDRW, Black Raidmax]


  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762
    people with big screen HDTVs have noticed some quality problems using software encoders. If you are picky about quality, then a hardware encoder would suit you better. software encoders generally do for most people, but the concensus is the hardware encoders do have better quality, that is noticable in high resolutions or on HDTV monitors.

    the reason hardware encoders cost more is because they require an extra chip on the board. software encoders use an algorithm executed by the cpu.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    85
    Bought an ADS DVD Xpress Video Capture for a friend to convert his VHS to VCD. This $99.00 (at CompUSA) external box does pretty good job. Easy to install and use, my friend and I like it.

    http://www.adstech.com/products/USBA...p?pid=USBAV701
    A7N8X-D v1.04 BIOS v1007 | Barton 2500+ @2.25GHz (180x12.5)
    SK-7 w/Thermaltake 80mm 37.0CFM | 2x Corsair 256MB PC3200C2

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    home
    Posts
    2,598
    I just got the Pinnacle Studio AV/DV Deluxe v9. Made my first DVD last night! This thing is awesome. Installation was a breeze, quality is amazing, comes with awesome software from Pinnacle, including Hollywood FX....with hundreds of effects you can add.

    AWESOME is all i can say!

    i'd rather be happy than right!

  11. #11
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, but am from Chicago area
    Posts
    606
    Is the Pinnacle so good because of the software package? It is very expensive, quick search says over $160.

    If I have video editing software am I just as well off with an AIW 9600Pro? Or another video/TV tuner card like Compro or Haupauge?
    Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL,2500+ Barton, Corsair 2X256MBTwinX512-32000LLPT@5-2-2-2,(11X202),Works 430W PS,
    ATI 9100 64MB (279/261MHz),2 WD 40GB 7200RPM,DVD/CDRW/8X DVD+/- RW,Antec PlusView 1000

    Albatron KX18D Pro,2600+Barton,Kingston 2X256 PC2700 VR CL2.5@11-3-3-2.5,(11X200, dual channel in sync),Matrox 32MB-G400MAX,CDRW, Black Raidmax]


  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    91
    Still looking for a device that will work good with my system, {thread starter} Did not want to install a PCI card, just wanted to connect via USB or Firewire 1394, but if the hauppauge PVR-250 is the best option I will take a closer look, remember my 2nd hard drive is only 40GB, maybe the 2nd hard drive should be upgraded to a 120GB, any input would be helpful! Thanks again Dan J.
    Last edited by gosling; 03-21-2004 at 12:10 PM.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    West Richland, WA
    Posts
    6,397
    I don't know anything here really, gosling, but I have been looking at doing this also. My guess would be that a usb or firewire device would be too slow to do a good job. The external devices I have seen seem to lower the resolution to make up for the low transfer speeds. Any particular reason you don't want to put a pci card in?

  14. #14
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
    Age
    51
    Posts
    6,429

  15. #15
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    139
    I haven't tried this before, but I have heard of people using their digital camcorders to convert an analog feed to digital. Anyone else tried this???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •