Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    60

    Question about Buffalo RAM at newegg

    Ok, I built my new system with 512mb of Buffalo ram last October from newegg (item: 20-150-564). Now, I thought Buffalo stopped making the CH-5 chips like a month or two after that, but they still have the same item number on their website...

    Is this the same ram that I got last October:
    http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...150-564&depa=0

    I'm just hoping to upgrade to 1gb of memory and want it to go as smooth as possible. I'd also like to run this in dual-channel if possible.

    If this is not the same ram that I got before, should I go with what's on newegg now or go with another brand?

    Thanks
    Last edited by Lordzodo; 03-24-2004 at 05:00 PM.
    System specs:
    Barton 2500+ @200X9.5
    DFI NForce2 Ultra-AL
    2X512MB Buffalo 3200 (dual channel)
    Seagate 120GB HDD
    Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro
    HP 10X CD-RW
    Optorite 4X DVD+/-RW
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum

  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    266
    The ram that you have linked to, DD4002-512/WC, should be CH-5. WC = Winbond Rev. C (CH-5). The pc3700 DD466-512/WB (Winbond Rev. B = BH-5) is no longer made since the chips are out of production.
    Biostar iDEQ 200n SFF, 512x2 Mushkin pc3500 lvlII 11-2-2-2 DC
    XP-M 2600+ @ 2.5ghz (12.5x200) 1.75v
    Ati Radeon 9800pro 256 @ 450/375 (VGA Silencer)
    WD Raptor 37.5 gig SATA

    Epox 8rda3+, 256x2 Mushkin pc3500 lvlII 11-2-3-2 DC
    XP-M 2500+ @ 2.6ghz (11.5x226) 2.0v
    eVGA 5900 @ 461/875
    WD Raptors 37.5 gig x 2 - Raid 0


    R.I.P. - Lived fast, died young:
    DFI Infinicky NFII Ultra, XP-M 2500+ @ 2.52ghz (10.5x240) 2.0v


    "... and I can't find my way home"

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Atlantic Canada : The Tailpipe of North America
    Age
    66
    Posts
    267
    Should be ch-5s as i got mine from newegg last month and they are ch-5s
    PAYPAL VERIFIED MEMBER


    My Box " LITTLEBEAR"

    Shuttle AN35n ultra 400*
    Barton 2500 @ 2203mhz*Buffalo ch-5 pc3200 2x256 ddr400 dual channel @11-3-3-2*winxp pro/sp2* Volcano 7 hsf w/ mod *Iceburg ATX aluminum caes * 2 Panaflo 120 mm fans [1 in, 1 out] @ 21 db *Antec smart power 400w w/voltage mod*Now my file server *

    Dell Inspiron 1520 with 2 gigs ram

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2001
    Posts
    11,523
    Buffalo technology should have a sticker on the chips showing the model number of the module. did you leave that on there, or do you have a receipt? Please post the module model numer.
    ...Does anybody else feel like Congress simply bailed themselves out? Isn't that what they really mean by a bailout?

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    905
    Our DD4002 series all currently use the CH-5 chips.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Peru, Illinois
    Posts
    6,175
    Just received a stick of 512 buffalo today, it has CH5 chips, came from newegg. DD4002-512WC -- #20-150-564
    Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

    Abit NF7-S rev2 Barton Mobile 2500+ IQZFA 0349RPMW 11 x 210 1.8 Vcore
    w SLK900A & 92mm, 56 cfm fan 32/42C
    2 x WD400JD--Gainward Ti4200 8x AGP
    Buffalo PC3700 Winbond BH5 2 x 256 11-2-2 at cas 2.0--2.8 V
    Lite-On CD-RW / 600 watt dual fan power supply
    Win XP Pro--SP1--nVidia 3.13--NEC 19" LCD

    Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton Mobile 2600+
    AQYHA0346XPMW 11.5 x 220 = 2535.7 MHz 1.725 Vcore
    SLK900A with 92mm 56 CFM fan 34/42C
    Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
    2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
    Twinmos PC3700 2 x 256 4.3ns chips 11-3-3 cas 2.0--2.9v
    650 watt dual fan power supply
    WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •