Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: AN35 - Ultra

  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    8

    AN35 - Ultra

    Greetings...

    I just got a new AN35-Ultra a few days ago. I installed the mobo into a new case, 450watt psu, 3x256 samsung PC2700, GF FX5200, seagate 120gb hd, etc.... When I hit the power button, the hard drive spins up; however, nothing else happens. My monitor does not detect any signal. I tested the GF FX5200 in my other system and it worked fine. I plugged my Ti4200 into this mobo and still no video. I tried using both a Dell 17" trinitron CRT and a Philips 21" LCD via DVI and still no signal. Can anyone tell me if this sounds like a bad mobo or am I overlooking something?

    Thanks!

    MaxForce
    MaxForce
    Barton 2500+ oc'd to 3200+ (locked)
    Volcano 11 HSF & Arctic Silver 5
    MSI K7N2 Delta-L Mobo
    768MB DDR PC2700 (Samsung) Dual Channel
    FX5900XT @ 450/850
    SB Audigy
    Win2K Pro SP4
    Allied 450 watt PSU
    Philips 21" LCD

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts - U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,004
    I believe when using 3 sticks of RAM 1 needs to be a 512mb stick to balance with the 2 x 256mb so that dual-channel functions properly.

    Regards, Szandor
    Truth has always been in abundance. Its only due to the lack of its demand that we question its existence. - D. Bast

    Dance like no one is watching - Sing like no one is listening - Live each day as if it were your last. - Old Irish Saying

    H.S.T. - Happy Trails Dr. Gonzo!

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    8
    I've spent the last 4 hours reading thru the "Shuttle AN35 Ultra Official Thread" and I think I have a decent plan of attack. When I get home, I'll pull the mobo from the case and connect psu, 1 DIMM, video, floppy & hard drive. I will then clear the CMOS. I'll then boot the mobo externally from the case to see what happens.

    The Official thread offers pretty good information; however, there is alot to digest while at work & trying not to get busted by your boss.

    Also, I realize that I may have crossed my ATX 12V wires when I removed them from their plastic housing. I used this power connector to run a 12V 6" radiator fan in my modded water-cooled PC. I'll take a look at the connector when I get home tonight. Is there a way to tell if the connector is wired properly? I believe there are 2 yellow and 2 black wires in the connector.

    As always, this is a great forum!

    thanks,

    MaxForce
    MaxForce
    Barton 2500+ oc'd to 3200+ (locked)
    Volcano 11 HSF & Arctic Silver 5
    MSI K7N2 Delta-L Mobo
    768MB DDR PC2700 (Samsung) Dual Channel
    FX5900XT @ 450/850
    SB Audigy
    Win2K Pro SP4
    Allied 450 watt PSU
    Philips 21" LCD

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts - U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,004
    The ATX 12V connector should be plugged into the MoBo. Find another source for your radiator fan. Try just 2 sticks of RAM in slots 1 & 3 or 2 & 3.

    Regards, Szandor
    Truth has always been in abundance. Its only due to the lack of its demand that we question its existence. - D. Bast

    Dance like no one is watching - Sing like no one is listening - Live each day as if it were your last. - Old Irish Saying

    H.S.T. - Happy Trails Dr. Gonzo!

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    N.J. USA
    Posts
    278
    The two yellow wires go on the clip side of the connector

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513
    You shouldn't have any problem running three 256meg sticks. It will function just fine, What will happen is two of them will run in Dual Channel mode while the third will run in single channel mode. The biggest drawback will more than likely be the inability to overclock the fsb as high with three sticks. One stick will oc the fsb the highest. Two sticks will run a bit slower while three will run slower still. If you don't overclock, then you shouldn't have any problems.

    Mr. Novi
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    8
    I reset the CMOS several times and still could not get anything to work. The various hard drives I used would spin-up; however, there was still no signal to my monitor. None of the lights on various keyboards I used ever turned on. I even removed the motherboard from the case and tried the reset process several times.

    I used various parts including:

    1. Athlon XP 1700+ & Barton 2500
    2. GF FX5200 & GF Ti4200
    3. 60 Seagate Barracuda, 120GB Seagate Barracuda, 80GB Western Dig & 40GB Western Dig
    4. OCZ PC2400 Memory (2x256 in various configs) and Samsung PC2700 (3x256 in various configs)
    5. 450watt Allied Power Supply, 350watt Enlight psu, 350watt generic psu (currently running my xp1700+ w/Epox 8KHA+ mobo).
    6. Microsoft Internet keyboard, Dell Quiet Keyboard & IBM Standard Keyboard
    7. MS Intellimouse Explorererererer & Std MS 2-button scroll Mouse (ball)
    8. Philips 21" LCD (DVI & 15pinVGA) and 17" Dell Trinitron CRT

    I hate to return this motherboard. It received all good reviews on Newegg and the price was excellent. It looks like I will have to contact Newegg and request an RMA.

    I really appreciate all of your suggestions!

    Any recommendations on a replacement mobo? I want to keep it under $100+/-
    MaxForce
    Barton 2500+ oc'd to 3200+ (locked)
    Volcano 11 HSF & Arctic Silver 5
    MSI K7N2 Delta-L Mobo
    768MB DDR PC2700 (Samsung) Dual Channel
    FX5900XT @ 450/850
    SB Audigy
    Win2K Pro SP4
    Allied 450 watt PSU
    Philips 21" LCD

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Michigan - USA
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7
    I would not write off this mobo (AN35N) it is a great mobo! I have not had any issue with mine and if you check this forum you will see many praises for this mobo.

    Did you make sure you plugged in the P4 (4 prong square 12v tap) this board requires it to function properly?

    If you have an old PCI video card laying aroung I would try that also it would help determine if it is your AGP slot that is the issue.

    Hope this helps!
    AN35 Ultra
    Athlon 2500+ Mobile (@12x200fsb 1.65 volts)
    Thermaltake Volcano 12 Extreme
    1GB (2 @ 512MB) Corsair Twin-X CMX512-3200C2PT @2-3-3-9)
    Maxtor 120GB Hard Drive
    Liteon 32x12x40 CDRW
    ASUS Radeon 9600XT 128MB@535/660
    Raidmax 868 Case with 480w PSU

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286
    ive heard of very very few doa,either a bios issue or something shorting...mem incompatibility...
    did u swap psu?

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Carn Dm, Angmar
    Posts
    608
    When you had it out of the case, did you disconnect all the front panel connectors? It's possible you have an LED across the reset pin or something like that. Have you tried holding Insert while powering on? This is a good board but it's kinda goofy and you sometimes have to hold your tongue right to make it work

    Shuttle AN35N Ultra 400 (nForce 2)
    Barton 2400-M AQYFA 0343WPMW (209x12=2509@1.86v on air)
    old: Tbred 1800+ NIUHB 0335SPMW DLT3C (209x12=2509@1.84v on air)
    older: Duron 1400 MIXIB 0336XPMW (215x10.5=2263@1.86v on air) (256K L2 enabled)
    Buffalo PC3200 512M @ 11-2-2-2.0 : 3.31 V (PSU splice) (235 memtest stable)
    ATi Radeon 9600pro AIW @ 450/750
    Antec plain white case w/PP-303XP 300W psu (15A 12v rail) with custom 120mm lower front intake
    AMD sink with awesome plastic cup duct mod and constant +12v psu fan mod
    Samsung SyncMaster 753DF 17" uber-flat monitor

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513
    When you checked the four pin 12v connector, was it ever plugged into the board with the wires in the wrong way? If so, that probably blew out one or more componants on the board which would more than likely require an RMA. If not, how did you go about clearing the Bios? If you didn't use the following proceedure give it a try as it sometimes works when others do not:

    [list=1][*]Unplug the PSU from the wall outlet[*]Remove the battery[*]Place the Clear Cmos jumper in the clear position.[*]Wait at least 2 minutes.[*]Return the jumper to the run position.[*]Replace the Battery[*]Plug the PSU back in.[*]Let 'er rip[/list=1]

    Try the system with only a vid card, a single stick of memory, and the cpu with it's heatsink/fan. No hard drives, opticals, floppy, etc. If it posts, try adding a single item at a time.

    Mr. Novi
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    8
    I rma'd the motherboard. I ordered a replacement AN35N Ultra which should be here in a few days. I will keep all of your suggestions in mind when I get the new board.

    The 12v connector was installed properly (the wires were not crossed). I tried 2 different brands of memory - 1 stick at a time. I reset the CMOS about 100 times. I tried 2 different psu's. I worked about 10-12 hours on the motherboard and still could not get it to work.

    All of your suggestions were the same that Shuttle tech support suggested. Shuttle actually suggested that I RMA the board 2 days before I actually did.

    MaxForce
    MaxForce
    Barton 2500+ oc'd to 3200+ (locked)
    Volcano 11 HSF & Arctic Silver 5
    MSI K7N2 Delta-L Mobo
    768MB DDR PC2700 (Samsung) Dual Channel
    FX5900XT @ 450/850
    SB Audigy
    Win2K Pro SP4
    Allied 450 watt PSU
    Philips 21" LCD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •