Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    160

    IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    I have everything in the bios configured, to what I beleive, is correct for running the discs in Raid 0. Here is my problem, I am not sure if it is hardware or a software issue.

    When I go to turn on my computer I have to have the Windows XP cd in the cdrom for it to boot to the raid array. If I don't have an XP disk in there it proceeds to tell me invalid disk. I have tried many different configurations and none so far have worked.

    Now my raid array is listed as drive J. I don't know if that is a problem but I have had no luck getting it to read as drive c. Any help would be much appreciated if anyone has a clue what is going on. Cause I have no clue. lol

    Here are specs:

    Abit IC7 MAX3
    P4 3.0C
    512 mb PC3500 Kingston HYPERX
    BB ATI 9800 pro
    2 36gb WD raptors in RAID 0
    2 100gb WD IDE drives
    1 120 gb WD IDE drive
    Cooled with a pelt. (Don't know if that is relevant but might be)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    38
    Posts
    0

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    I'll assume you set IDE Bus Mastering "Enabled", and set your RAID array as the primary boot device in HD Boot Order? Helped me on my IS7...
    I like it when the red water comes out...



  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    I have the same setup at home, and it works just fine. I will have to look at the settings and let you know what they are.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    160

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    Cool thanks

    and sesik I do have both of those. Thanks

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pullman, WA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    155

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    are you running the array through the SB or the Silicon Image controller???
    Heatware
    EbayFeedback under snowxracer85
    PM me for more info OR
    snowxracer85@hotmail.com

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    12

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    Set to boot from the bootable add on first instead of the HDD.
    IC7G- Max3 2.8C @ 3.53 GHz & 1.55VDC. Geil PC4200 @2.7Vdc, 3,4,4,8. 2x 37Gb Raptor Raid 0, Lite-on 8X DVD-RW, Sony 16X DVD, Sapphire 9600XT. DangerDen RBX, 875 NB WB & VGA WB. '77 Bonniville Rad w/ 4 120 MM Vantec Stealth. DannerMag 500 pump, dual quadbay res.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    160

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    Quote Originally Posted by R|p7iD3
    are you running the array through the SB or the Silicon Image controller???
    I beleive the silicon image. I will check later today. also I do have bootable add on set first.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pullman, WA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    155

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    YGPM.... think i figured it out
    Heatware
    EbayFeedback under snowxracer85
    PM me for more info OR
    snowxracer85@hotmail.com

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    160

    Re: IC7 MAX3 / WD Raptors issue

    Going to give it a shot. Thanks a lot for the help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •