Page 6 of 20 FirstFirst ... 234567891016 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 294
  1. #76
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Wow, that's great. You get that from a regular ISP?
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  2. #77
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    long island
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Yea, Optimum Online. They are all throughout New York I think so you could probably get it. Im pretty sure it's $50 a month but I dont pay the bill so i dont know. for dedicated servers, can i run them off the same pc im playing on? id be glad to host if i could.


    My Games Updated 9/12/05

  3. #78
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Quote Originally Posted by thedrake88
    Yea, Optimum Online. They are all throughout New York I think so you could probably get it. Im pretty sure it's $50 a month but I dont pay the bill so i dont know. for dedicated servers, can i run them off the same pc im playing on? id be glad to host if i could.
    Usually yes. Your PC seems fast enough for it.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  4. #79
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    long island
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    i just started googling it and viaarena is sayin athlon xp 3000 for it. I dont know, I may be going a64 soon so then this comp, with a lesser graphics card, can host.


    My Games Updated 9/12/05

  5. #80
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    long island
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Lenny, I just noticed you couldnt play in the dc game. Would you mind helpin me try to host cs:s? i haven't done it ever so i'd like to figure out how to do it

    EDIT: nvm, Ill start a thread in gaming and whoever responds can help
    Last edited by thedrake88; 03-19-2005 at 09:57 PM.


    My Games Updated 9/12/05

  6. #81
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Quote Originally Posted by thedrake88
    i just started googling it and viaarena is sayin athlon xp 3000 for it. I dont know, I may be going a64 soon so then this comp, with a lesser graphics card, can host.
    Depends on the game. I've hosted and played UT2004 on a XP1800+ with 512MB RAM.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  7. #82
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Sioux Lookout
    Age
    37
    Posts
    720

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    any idea of what game you would like me to host? that way i can have it all tested and ready when I am called upon

  8. #83
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Quote Originally Posted by drkCrix
    any idea of what game you would like me to host? that way i can have it all tested and ready when I am called upon
    Actually you need to tell us what you are able to host Maybe we need a new list. Hmmm.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  9. #84
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    long island
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    my speed needs updating. I guess the 9mb/s i was getting was some kind of testing. It went down to about 6050kbps.


    My Games Updated 9/12/05

  10. #85
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Quote Originally Posted by thedrake88
    my speed needs updating. I guess the 9mb/s i was getting was some kind of testing. It went down to about 6050kbps.
    Any change to the upload? That's all that really matters for this thread.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  11. #86
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Location
    long island
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    no change to uploads


    My Games Updated 9/12/05

  12. #87
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mid-West, US
    Posts
    262

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    I just increased the bandwidth of my Cable modem service (wish I had of known I could do that sooner) and the results are as follows:

    To California dslextreme.net speedtest
    2005-04-04 20:49:38 EST: 4647 / 720
    Your download speed : 4759291 bps, or 4647 kbps.
    A 580.9 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 737871 bps, or 720 kbps.

    To Baltimore speakeasy.net speedtest
    2005-04-04 20:51:24 EST: 3026 / 718
    Your download speed : 3098713 bps, or 3026 kbps.
    A 378.2 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 735654 bps, or 718 kbps.

    I don't know if my upload of 718 kbps is high enough, but I would be willing to host a server on occasion. I haven't hosted with this connection, but would be willing to give it a try for the greater good . It has been fun gaming with the Fragging Frogs (Thanks to Lenny and Coda for hosting) and would certainly host a game or two (or more) in return.

  13. #88
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Newnan GA, USA
    Posts
    5,628

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    1495/350, static IP with a domain name, have a dual 1.5gh Athlon running fodora but not much upload to work with.

  14. #89
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,697

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    down : 160 KBps
    upload : 38 KBps
    EDIT : Forgot to mention dynamic IP.
    Last edited by nytmare; 04-14-2005 at 11:19 PM.

  15. #90
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: FF Member connection speeds.

    Quote Originally Posted by nytmare
    down : 160 KBps
    upload : 38 KBps
    EDIT : Forgot to mention dynamic IP.
    Is that K bits or bytes? If it's bytes then does 1280/304 Kbps sound about what you get on speed tests?
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •