Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    219

    Something just clicked.. I think

    I think something just clicked in my head.

    The reason we increase the FSB instead of the multiplier when we O/C is to get the memory running at a higher Mhz, correct?

    If we do 11.5 * 200 we get the following speeds:

    Processor @ 2300 Mhz
    Memory @ 400 Mhz

    Is my thinking correct?

    If so, when do the timings come into play - ie, 2/3/3/12?
    I understand these are basic questions to you, but I am just starting the O/C world.

    Thanks again!
    PC
    CPU: AMD ATHLON X2 4200+
    MB: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium NF4
    HD: WD 74GB SATA 10,000 RPM
    VIDEO: EVGA 7800GTX 256MB
    MEMORY: 2 x 1024MB OCZ EL PC-3200 PE
    PSU: Seasonic S12-600

  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    3,567

    Re: Something just clicked.. I think

    You are correct, the higher the fsb, the higher the memory clock. It is better to do 10x250, than 12.5x200. The both are 2500mhz, but obviously the memory is running much faster at 250fsb, obviously.

    The tighter the timings, the btter the performcne of the memory. I am not sure wehat each individual setting does, but I am sure there is someone around here that does.
    looking for a 5GB Athlon

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    219

    Re: Something just clicked.. I think

    Quote Originally Posted by brewzer
    You are correct, the higher the fsb, the higher the memory clock. It is better to do 10x250, than 12.5x200. The both are 2500mhz, but obviously the memory is running much faster at 250fsb, obviously.
    However, not all memory can do the 500 Mhz as opposed to 400 Mhz - is that correct?

    For example I have two sticks of generic RAM: (they will be upgraded, gotta get one thing at a time! )

    (1) 512MB PC2100 Kingston
    (1) 512MB PC2700 Kingston

    What can I do for memory clock (safely) and what should I set the timings to?
    PC
    CPU: AMD ATHLON X2 4200+
    MB: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium NF4
    HD: WD 74GB SATA 10,000 RPM
    VIDEO: EVGA 7800GTX 256MB
    MEMORY: 2 x 1024MB OCZ EL PC-3200 PE
    PSU: Seasonic S12-600

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,997

    Re: Something just clicked.. I think

    Quote Originally Posted by scottvin
    However, not all memory can do the 500 Mhz as opposed to 400 Mhz - is that correct?

    For example I have two sticks of generic RAM: (they will be upgraded, gotta get one thing at a time! )

    (1) 512MB PC2100 Kingston
    (1) 512MB PC2700 Kingston

    What can I do for memory clock (safely) and what should I set the timings to?

    No guarantees. Some people have managed to get pc2100 to run at pc3200 specs. Others can't even get it past 140. Depends on the ram. Realistically, getting a 166-180 would be great if you want to run both DIMMS. Cas will probably need to be pretty loose, almost no chance of getting better than 2.5-3-3, since that's probably what the pc2100 is rated for. You might even find that in order to get it to run fast, you have to drop it all the way to 3-4-4 in order to get it stable. You never know until you try.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    219

    Re: Something just clicked.. I think

    Ok, I have the stats on the two chips:

    First
    Standard 64M X 72 Non-ECC 266MHz 184-pin Unbuffered DIMM (SDRAM-DDR, 2.5V, CL2.5, Gold)

    Second
    Standard 64M X 64 Non-ECC 333MHz 184-pin Unbuffered DIMM (SDRAM-DDR, 2.5V, CL2.5, Gold)

    Kingston's website it doesn't tell me the timings on these chips.

    So, I think I will try the 3-4-4.
    PC
    CPU: AMD ATHLON X2 4200+
    MB: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium NF4
    HD: WD 74GB SATA 10,000 RPM
    VIDEO: EVGA 7800GTX 256MB
    MEMORY: 2 x 1024MB OCZ EL PC-3200 PE
    PSU: Seasonic S12-600

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    219

    Re: Something just clicked.. I think

    So, I tried the 3-4-4, that was a no go. Wouldn't even boot hehe.

    I guess I will stick with the 3-3-7 that the chips request.
    PC
    CPU: AMD ATHLON X2 4200+
    MB: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium NF4
    HD: WD 74GB SATA 10,000 RPM
    VIDEO: EVGA 7800GTX 256MB
    MEMORY: 2 x 1024MB OCZ EL PC-3200 PE
    PSU: Seasonic S12-600

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,462

    Re: Something just clicked.. I think

    Settle on a common format, like column access strobe, ras to cas delay, precharge delay, then ras pulse width/bank cycle time (CAS:tRCD:tRP:tRAS). The largest number should always be tRAS. Motherbaords ofter show these timings in a different order in the bios.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •