Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Samba ???

  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Samba ???

    I just set up Fedora Core 2 on a spare box. I can access the net, but cannot see the other PCs on the LAN. I guess I need to set up Samba but have no idea.
    Is there a Samba tutorial somewhere that someone would especially recomend over all the others? I'm lost.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    In and out of Detroit
    Posts
    1,556

    Re: Samba ???

    LinNeighborhood is pretty good for browsing the local network.
    I came across this samba guide

    "Well, let's just say, 'if your VCR is still blinking 12:00,you don't want Linux.'"
    - Bruce Perens, Former Debian Project Leader

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    51
    Posts
    20,229

    Re: Samba ???

    If you want to access Windows PC's, you can just do:

    Code:
    smb://path_to_windows_file_share
    in nautalis or konqueror to browse your windows files shares. Think you may need the samba client package installed for this(??)

    If you want windows PCs to be able to access your linux box, then you'll need to install the samba server package and use the gui interface to set it up. From the menu: System Settings > Server Settings > Samba

    There's some bugs in the version of samba that ships with FC2. Make sure you update to the latest FC2 version before trying to set it up.

    Hope that points you in the right direction,

    Ned

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    51
    Posts
    20,229

    Re: Samba ???

    Also, FC2 is based on Red Hat, so use their documentation - it's excellent

    Here's the online chapter for Samba (Chapter 24):

    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/e...ysadmin-guide/

    Or you can download the whole manuals in pdf, rpm, or html format here:

    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/

    Some stuff has changed slightly in FC2, but these docs are good enough to point you in the right direction and are superbly written

    Ned

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,516

    Re: Samba ???

    I don't know about Fedora, but on my system I point my browser at http://localhost:901 and the SWAT utility helps me setup Samba the way I want.

    Be aware that if the "root" user isn't in the smb password database, access to SWAT will be denied. You can setup root to access SWAT by running "smbpasswd" as root.

    Have fun

  6. #6
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Samba ???

    I will check these out; thanks.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3,369

    Re: Samba ???

    Quote Originally Posted by Provicemo
    LinNeighborhood is pretty good for browsing the local network.
    I came across this samba guide
    Have they updated it so that it works with Samba 3.*?
    i code therefore i am

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    In and out of Detroit
    Posts
    1,556

    Re: Samba ???

    Quote Originally Posted by Eggs
    Have they updated it so that it works with Samba 3.*?
    There's a patch for it now thats included in most recent packages.
    Konquer and Nautilus are still better options for most people.

    "Well, let's just say, 'if your VCR is still blinking 12:00,you don't want Linux.'"
    - Bruce Perens, Former Debian Project Leader

  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,516

    Re: Samba ???

    Smb4K is another great Samba browsing tool.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •