Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    635

    Windows OneCare Beta

    Just wondering if anyone was running this.....and what you think of it.

  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    The Lost Continent of Atlantis
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,694

    Re: Windows OneCare Beta

    bigdaddy51 has been using it, he seemed to have some positive opinions about it

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=414411

    but the question here, is this the beta to this new product?

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=414343

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    51
    Posts
    20,229

    Re: Windows OneCare Beta

    Quote Originally Posted by StompinRound
    but the question here, is this the beta to this new product?

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=414343
    Yes, same thing

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: Windows OneCare Beta

    I loaded it and ran it a couple of days. The problem I had was speed, there was none. Opening a page was a nightmare in slowmotion and the fact that I could not even access my own hope page left me less than impressed.

    It might have been a setting problem but did not have time to mess with it.

    There were some great features about it though. When I am less busy I might give it another shot and see if it was the program or my lack of knowledge that caused everything to slow down so bad.
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    590

    Re: Windows OneCare Beta

    I had the same experience as Richard. Though I installed IE7 Beta along with OneCare.
    I think I might have confused myself. So, I'm starting over and trying them one at a time.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: Windows OneCare Beta

    Basie, I failed to mention that I also have IE-7 installed and was curious about that also.
    Am willing to let you test it first without IE-7 installed.

    Am very curious to see if there is a change once OneCare is loaded by itself.
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: Windows OneCare Beta

    I just reloaded OceCare and everything seems to be working. I can access my home page and I see no speed hits.
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •