Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Memory problems

  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Age
    31
    Posts
    669

    Memory problems

    Alright, I am POSITIVE THAT WHATS messing up my system is my RAM.

    Stock Timings are 3-4-4-8

    When i tighten them to 2.5-3-3-7 my system runs alot smoother. A64 lieks low latency ram?

    Is it possible to put my ram to 2-2-2-7?

    LMK!

  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2001
    Posts
    11,534

    Re: Memory problems

    I don't think it can be generally said that a CPU chip specifically likes certain RAM timgings...probably a much more complicated situation than that having to do with the programming of the motherboard bios and of the RAM SPD chip. Can't say I've ever heard of RAM that could only run fast as hell or bust.
    ...Does anybody else feel like Congress simply bailed themselves out? Isn't that what they really mean by a bailout?

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    130

    Re: Memory problems

    I've ever heard of RAM that could only run fast as hell or bust.

    haha how true

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Harnett County, N.C.
    Age
    60
    Posts
    9,347

    Re: Memory problems

    Moving to our Memory Forum.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,472

    Re: Memory problems

    Quote Originally Posted by notdrugged
    I don't think it can be generally said that a CPU chip specifically likes certain RAM timgings...probably a much more complicated situation than that having to do with the programming of the motherboard bios and of the RAM SPD chip. Can't say I've ever heard of RAM that could only run fast as hell or bust.
    actually a64 has on chip memory controller, so it is picky about the kind of memor you decide to use. if stillmatic can run it at lower latencies and run smooth, all the better lucky for him.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    901

    Re: Memory problems

    I've had some BH-5 that absolutely did not like CL3, but of course ran 2.5 and 2 all day long.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Age
    31
    Posts
    669

    Re: Memory problems

    I couldnt get my KHX4000 to run at CL2.. but CL2.5 worked..

    the timings now are 2.5-3-3-7

    stock: 3-4-4-8

    Good or bad?

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,472

    Re: Memory problems

    Quote Originally Posted by stiLLmatiC
    I couldnt get my KHX4000 to run at CL2.. but CL2.5 worked..

    the timings now are 2.5-3-3-7

    stock: 3-4-4-8

    Good or bad?
    you wont be able to run it at CAS2 unless you go to 200FSB. I believe the KHX4000 should be Hynix chips. The earlier versions used Samsung chips and weren't that great. It depends on when you bought it. But if you run 2.5-3-3-7 at 250FSB, that's pretty good

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Age
    31
    Posts
    669

    Re: Memory problems

    its actually on 200fsb.. i cant OC with this mobo no locks.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,472

    Re: Memory problems

    try 2-3-3-6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •