Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    103

    A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    Hi,

    I setting up a A64 system around the Chaintech VNF3-250.
    I WILL be OC'ing this set-up. which would be better ?
    3000 or 3200

    I'am edging towards the 3000 newcastle, what to you guys think ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,673

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    I think you should take the 3000+ Newcastle. Many a folks running 250x10 with similiar combos. Get good RAM

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    103

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    What about the A64 2800 ?

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Age
    34
    Posts
    315

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    You have a lower chance of an OC if you get the 2800+, because of the lower multiplier, your chances of reaching the FSB of paring the 3000+ will be tough.


  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    So, 3000 rather than 3200?

    I have to make the same choice tomorrow.

    Thx!

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    dude,if u on a budget,the 2800 is really fine so u can get a betetr cooler and stil lbe within,the chaintech will do a good fsb,ive seen 250-300 in here ...

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ
    Posts
    45

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    I say spend the extra 10-20 to get the 3000+. 10 is a good multiplier on these chips (I have mine at 10) when you're at 240-250 HTT. Just make sure your cooling is decent and you have decent RAM.
    Email: acivick@concenREMOVEtric.net

    Ebay user feedback

    Heatware

    Current Rig:
    A64 3200+ NC 2.2@2.45 1.586V
    2x512 OCZ PC4000 Gold Rev. 2
    BFG 6800 GT OC
    Koolance PC2-650 Watercooling case w/ CPU, GPU and MB waterblocks
    Samsung 710T

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,213

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    3000+ for the multi. 2800+ if your on a budget

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    What about the 3200?
    No?


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  10. #10
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,213

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    no point in having it... you wont use the high multi if your overclocking, and its extra money wasted when the other two can do that speed easy.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    103

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    Thanks for the feedback, guys

    Going for the 3000+
    Put the saving from the 3200+ towards some good ram.

    Now whats the best ram ?

    Corsair, OCZ, Crucial ???

  12. #12
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,213

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    Mushkin or OCZ, I would go with Mushkin special 222 and the OCZ RAM booster.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    sweden
    Posts
    226

    Re: A64 3000 or 3200 togo with Chaintech VNF3-250

    "you wont use the high multi if your overclocking"

    I can get my system stable with a multi of 10, but if I higher it and increases the vcore, it crashes. How come? Why isnīt it possible to use the default multi (11) and the max clock speed of my ram (244 ratio 1:1)

    Iīve tried to lower the HTT to 1x, didnīt solve anything. It works flawless @ 3x @ 244Mhz mem radio 1:1 with multi 10.

    Asus K8n-e Deluxe (lates official BIOS and chipset drv)
    Newcastle 3200+
    Corsair PC4000 XMS @ 244Mhz 2.7v

    My temps are below 50 even with a quite high vcore.
    What are the limiting factors with my setup? (except the vcore)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •