Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,271

    Unhappy 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    Hey,

    I installed my EP-8RDA6+ Pro with a mobile xp-m 2600+ with SP97.
    All temps are okay i have some probes attached to my case on video, CPU, HD. All fans are spinning.
    Everything was okay until i tried memory frequence 200% (result 402 Mhz). Multi was set on 10x. I saved and tried to restart only to find my board not responding to anything. I mean anything i tried...
    I reset the cmos with the jumper. So much for that. I'm gonna mess around with it a little more. The POST code my red thingy tells me is 2F or F2 or whatever. Not listed in manual
    I did hear at one try a POST beeptone, being long beep, nothing, long beep,...

    EDIT:
    I noticed that when i pushed my case down on it's side and pulled it back up it did POST!
    Then the system hangs because i have to push del. The BIOS boots at 6x100 mhz so that means it is reset. I have seen code 65 other hangs... "Insert PS2 Mouse or something oO"
    Other codes come up too but it doesn't seem to matter anymore. I have a USB mouse and yes it's plugged in. I have a PS2 keyboard and indeed it does seem to have trouble booting up all the time. But that shouldn't try and keep my board dead.
    Last edited by Wolf2000me; 09-28-2004 at 05:48 PM.
    Whisper Performance setup:
    Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
    Asus Geforce EN8800GT
    Intel Q6600 3720 Mhz 1.45v.
    2x 74Gb WD Raptors RAID-0
    WinXP Pro SP2
    Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
    TT Mozart Tx

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts - U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,004

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    Try setting your memory to 100% as by using 200% you're asking for troubles.

    Try selecting "Load Optimized Defaults" and "Save to CMOS & Exit" first.

    Regards, Szandor
    Truth has always been in abundance. Its only due to the lack of its demand that we question its existence. - D. Bast

    Dance like no one is watching - Sing like no one is listening - Live each day as if it were your last. - Old Irish Saying

    H.S.T. - Happy Trails Dr. Gonzo!

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    my quess is that the memory you have will not support the speed at which you are running the fsb. remember, when you increase your fsb, you memory speed increases, if you have a memory divider like i have on my ic7-g max 2 advanced, you can solve this problem by selecting a divider that you decrease your memory speed as you raise your fsb speed.s
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,893

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
    Hey,

    I installed my EP-8RDA6+ Pro with a mobile xp-m 2600+ with SP97.
    All temps are okay i have some probes attached to my case on video, CPU, HD. All fans are spinning.
    Everything was okay until i tried memory frequence 200% (result 402 Mhz). Multi was set on 10x. I saved and tried to restart only to find my board not responding to anything. I mean anything i tried...
    I reset the cmos with the jumper. So much for that. I'm gonna mess around with it a little more. The POST code my red thingy tells me is 2F or F2 or whatever. Not listed in manual
    I did hear at one try a POST beeptone, being long beep, nothing, long beep,...

    EDIT:
    I noticed that when i pushed my case down on it's side and pulled it back up it did POST!
    Then the system hangs because i have to push del. The BIOS boots at 6x100 mhz so that means it is reset. I have seen code 65 other hangs... "Insert PS2 Mouse or something oO"
    Other codes come up too but it doesn't seem to matter anymore. I have a USB mouse and yes it's plugged in. I have a PS2 keyboard and indeed it does seem to have trouble booting up all the time. But that shouldn't try and keep my board dead.
    clear your Cmos
    take out your memory and re seat it
    take out your vid card and reseat it

    then try it should work
    and don't run your mem freq at 200%
    run it at SPD or 100%
    SYSTEM 1//
    DFI UT 250GB//A64 Mobile 3000+ 1MB cache// 280 X 9// Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB @ 252 FSB @7-3-3-2.5//ATI X800XT PE 550/560 //2 X 36GB Raptors, 160GB Sammy Data Drive//Audigy ZS Sound card
    Watercooled....Powered by Fortron 530Watt//23K 3DM01
    SYSTEM 2//
    EPoX 9NDA3J// A64 3000 Venice 300 X 9 @1.45V// KingMax SuperRam 3700 @ 250FSB //512MBX2 @7-3-3-2.5 @ 2.8V//ATI 9800Pro//Audigy2 ZS//Hitachi 80GB SATAII//Maxtor 250GB Data Drive//Zalman Air cooled...Powered by OCZ 450 Modstream
    Heatware

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,271

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    I know what was causing my grief...
    I purchased Twinmos Dual Twister CL2. I looked around, here too, about it and it seems it's favoring intel based motherboards. That's just great, i'll have to get rid of it.
    Whisper Performance setup:
    Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
    Asus Geforce EN8800GT
    Intel Q6600 3720 Mhz 1.45v.
    2x 74Gb WD Raptors RAID-0
    WinXP Pro SP2
    Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
    TT Mozart Tx

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,893

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
    I know what was causing my grief...
    I purchased Twinmos Dual Twister CL2. I looked around, here too, about it and it seems it's favoring intel based motherboards. That's just great, i'll have to get rid of it.
    not neccessarily......you can try using Cas2.5 setting and see how far she will go...either way you will still never use 200% mem freq
    SYSTEM 1//
    DFI UT 250GB//A64 Mobile 3000+ 1MB cache// 280 X 9// Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB @ 252 FSB @7-3-3-2.5//ATI X800XT PE 550/560 //2 X 36GB Raptors, 160GB Sammy Data Drive//Audigy ZS Sound card
    Watercooled....Powered by Fortron 530Watt//23K 3DM01
    SYSTEM 2//
    EPoX 9NDA3J// A64 3000 Venice 300 X 9 @1.45V// KingMax SuperRam 3700 @ 250FSB //512MBX2 @7-3-3-2.5 @ 2.8V//ATI 9800Pro//Audigy2 ZS//Hitachi 80GB SATAII//Maxtor 250GB Data Drive//Zalman Air cooled...Powered by OCZ 450 Modstream
    Heatware

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,271

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    Well, anything above 183 mhz at any given memory timing at any given voltage makes my board fake it's own death. I tried with my brothers Asus A7N8x deluxe rev. 2.0 at CAS 3 and it did the same thing. Not even a POST. I'll try to sell the ram to some Intel user.
    Whisper Performance setup:
    Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
    Asus Geforce EN8800GT
    Intel Q6600 3720 Mhz 1.45v.
    2x 74Gb WD Raptors RAID-0
    WinXP Pro SP2
    Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
    TT Mozart Tx

  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,271

    8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 memory related cpu troubles?

    I did some testing.

    So far the memory, being 2x 512mb Twinmos dual twister pc3200 cl2, has not really lived up to its expectations. I haven't been able to run stable at SPD settings in bios at 200 mhz, running 100%
    The only setting that seems to give me stability is 11-7-7-3 at 200 mhz. Cpu is a mobile xp 2600+ iqyha. Set at 2.3 ghz 11.5x200 at 1.85v (reported between 1.90 and 1.93). That appears to be normal for the board after upgrade to a thermaltake 480W PSU.
    2.3 ghz runs stable on 1.75v. But anything above that speed seems to crash. I don't know if that could be memory related or the cpu limitation.
    I tried setting 1.9v in bios, being reported as 1.95v and fluctuating, which didn't bring me stability at 12x200. Temperature at that voltage at 200x11.5 is getting at 61 C after 3 hrs of prime but the cpu keeps stable, allthough the winxp pro loading screen sometimes remains faintly visible on the screen for 20 seconds and then pop up completly and load like nothing happened.
    at 12x200 everything boots fine, except for the bootup issue sometimes. Doing prime will after a while do a BSOD on me, mostly when a third party application starts. Then reboot.
    Doom 3 will either do the same after a while or crash to the desktop giving memory address errors. CS:Source runs stable however.
    Memory is tried at default, 1.66v, 1.77v,1.90v which crashes earlier or later. Depends too hard really.
    Doing a prime test sometimes gives me an error instead of BSOD but both possibilities do happen sooner when doing a "blend" test compared to a "data fits in L2 cache"
    I never get to see what the BSOD actually sais because it disappears fast but i have sometimes seen a glimpse of USB mentioned.

    As you can see i'm quite clueless on which happens because of what. I do know that i need different memory because it performes nowhere near the memory performance aimed when buying the board and memory.
    Whisper Performance setup:
    Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
    Asus Geforce EN8800GT
    Intel Q6600 3720 Mhz 1.45v.
    2x 74Gb WD Raptors RAID-0
    WinXP Pro SP2
    Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
    TT Mozart Tx

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,875

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    I run my Crucial ram at 11,2,2,2.5 at 200Mhz FSB using a locked Barton XP2500+ overclocked to XP3200+ in my MSI K7N2 Delta2 Platinum using a vcore of 1.7v. If you want to find out if the memory is holding you back, and it sounds as though it is, try running async for a while to see if the stability problems clear. For example cpu 200Mhz memory 166Mhz (83% in bios). You could also try running with a single stick of memory in DIMM3*.
    Edit. Having read the manual for the 8RDA6+ Pro I see that DIMM3 is the middle slot and the above should therefore read DIMM1.
    Last edited by labtech1; 10-11-2004 at 01:53 PM.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,893

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    the Twister series was never meant for AMD board (nforce only) ...
    get rid of it and try to get some other memory ...that uses the Cas 2 or 2.5 setting not 3

    good ram would be Mushkin, generic Ch-5, Kingston, Corsair , etc
    some have been able to get some great OCs with Hynix d43 chips and some Micron chip as well
    SYSTEM 1//
    DFI UT 250GB//A64 Mobile 3000+ 1MB cache// 280 X 9// Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB @ 252 FSB @7-3-3-2.5//ATI X800XT PE 550/560 //2 X 36GB Raptors, 160GB Sammy Data Drive//Audigy ZS Sound card
    Watercooled....Powered by Fortron 530Watt//23K 3DM01
    SYSTEM 2//
    EPoX 9NDA3J// A64 3000 Venice 300 X 9 @1.45V// KingMax SuperRam 3700 @ 250FSB //512MBX2 @7-3-3-2.5 @ 2.8V//ATI 9800Pro//Audigy2 ZS//Hitachi 80GB SATAII//Maxtor 250GB Data Drive//Zalman Air cooled...Powered by OCZ 450 Modstream
    Heatware

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,271

    Re: 8RDA6+ Pro v1.2 2F POST code... bios wrecked?

    I ordered Corsair TWINX 3200C2. I'll see what happens when i get it.
    Whisper Performance setup:
    Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
    Asus Geforce EN8800GT
    Intel Q6600 3720 Mhz 1.45v.
    2x 74Gb WD Raptors RAID-0
    WinXP Pro SP2
    Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
    TT Mozart Tx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •