Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    14

    Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    Hiya all

    I am gonna reformat my wifes comp. I was wondering which system i should use to reformat her computer. She will be running Windows XP home edition. It will be used mostly for gaming and surfing the web.

    Also, she constantly has a problem with virtual memory. She never seems to have enough. Any advise on how to work around this?

    Thanx

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,516

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    NTFS is the superior technology so it would be best to use it. The details of why its better are technical, but if you want to know i will post back. Have you tried increasing her page file? how much physical memory does she have?

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    14

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    Windows keeps poping up a message that it will increase the virtual memory. She has a 80 gig HD with 1gig of ram. THe HD is partioned into 3: 15 gigs for windows and applications, 40 gigs for games and dloads and remainder for any programs she wanted to install.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Over the hill and far away
    Posts
    1,213

    Smile Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    Hey there,

    If I am not mistaken HOME edition on XP only allows NTFS. If you go with Pro then
    you can use FAT32. Otherwise it will convert it to NTFS if you are doing an upgrade.
    As many people know a clean format runs better than a coversion.

    Hope this helps.

    Slade

    Take time to do the important things
    today since you may not get a
    tomorrow.

    Anytime you give your $0.02 you better have a qtr
    to back it up.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    SNP (Scottish National Party)
    Posts
    1,103

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    NTFS is useful for larger hard drive --for gaming, surfing, etc..Windows XP usual support NTFS rather than FAT32

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    Fat32 should only be used if your using legacy software.

    Which SP do you installed?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    SNP (Scottish National Party)
    Posts
    1,103

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    Firstly I formatted new hard drive by using FAT32 by used Maxtor MaxiBlast disc and then install Windows XP SP1a (Pro) full version and then converted to NTFS in the setup screen and then when it completed and then later when SP2 came up last August that I upgraded to SP2. WIndows XP setup screen asking if Im stay FAT32 or Convert to NTFS so I decided to converted to NTFS because it can handle larger hard drive as I used 200GB + 160GB.. seem good on gaming, etc..

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,873

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    fat32 only allows 32gb partitions on hard drives so just use ntfs

    Spoiler!

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    godfrey
    Posts
    535

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    you _can_ make bigger fat32 partitions. the 32GB limit was imposed by MS for windowsXP, win9x will format a larger partition.
    I know exactly how the PC works. I understand the OOO, superscalar and superpiplined designs. I just don't understand how the PC doesn't work as shown in so many cases.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    DFI Fanboy
    Posts
    4,055

    Re: Reformating: Fat32 or NTFS??

    NTFS all the way.
    Security, defragging, (stability ?).
    Conversions suck.
    .
    - DFI Infinity NF2, XP-M 2400+
    - 10 x 225 MHz - CL2.5
    - ATI Radeon x-1950-Pro 512-MB
    - 1024-MB Hynix PC-3200 x 2
    I overclock, therefore I am

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •