Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ide 1 or 2

  1. #1
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Superior, WI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    955

    ide 1 or 2

    do the hard drives go into the ide 1 slot or the ide 2 slot. i read the manual but coudn't figure it out. thanks

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    Quote Originally Posted by pedinski_s
    do the hard drives go into the ide 1 slot or the ide 2 slot. i read the manual but coudn't figure it out. thanks
    HDDs on i, Optical on 2. Don't mix them. Make sure the drives are configured correctly (master/slave ) as well.

    Good luck with your build and welcome here!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Superior, WI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    955

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    thanks! so the optical are the cd drives and stuff? also, is the master the input in the middle of the ribbon or the last input. and why does it matter which one is the master and which one is the slave? thanks!

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    Quote Originally Posted by pedinski_s
    thanks! so the optical are the cd drives and stuff? Yes, that's correct. also, is the master the input in the middle of the ribbon or the last input. Master is the last one, the next closest one is Slave. and why does it matter which one is the master and which one is the slave? thanks! If you don't select it by placing the jumpers correctly, the BIOS is liable to hang at boot.
    Check back if you need anything more.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Superior, WI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    955

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    ok i have a 52x cd rom and a dvd rom, i have the 52x as my master, which optical drive should i have as my master,

    also, i have two 10gig hard drives, both the same thing, which one should i have as my master?


    one last question lol. what does "hang at boot" mean? thanks!

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2004
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,091

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    You can set those drives up anyway you want.

    Just put the the optical drives on IDE2, and hard drives on IDE1 as UncleBob said.

    To hang means to reach a point or a screen and not go any farther. For example, getting to the "Starting Windows screen" but then never actually getting into Windows.

    734: Pride in a number.
    Find out why here.

    (\_/)
    (-.o)
    (><) There's nothing funny about a one-eyed bunny.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    Thanks, Spork!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Superior, WI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    955

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    yeah thanks! im a newbie so, yeah....that says it all. lol

  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2004
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,091

    Re: ide 1 or 2

    No problem. I was a newb about 4 months ago.

    734: Pride in a number.
    Find out why here.

    (\_/)
    (-.o)
    (><) There's nothing funny about a one-eyed bunny.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •