Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,561

    Question 6800s with VIVO?

    Are there ever going to be any 6800s that have the VIVO feature? This is particularly useful to me as I need to get video from my VHS camcorder to my comp.

    So far, I've found 0 6X00 cards on newegg that have this feature. Is there some reason that none are being made? Or is it just too soon for them to have been released?

    Thanks.

    Andrew R/T


    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

    Working in retail is a rite of passage ... into ... insanity ...

    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,268

    Re: 6800s with VIVO?

    I don't think there's any 6800's with VIVO? You'd have to wait for one of those special "Personal Cinema" editions from one of the manufacturers, otherwise there aren't any. If you want a VIVO card for stuff like VHS, better look into an X800 Pro VIVO instead.

    Spreading HD-DVD one signature at a time.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,561

    Re: 6800s with VIVO?

    Quote Originally Posted by MustangSVT
    I don't think there's any 6800's with VIVO? You'd have to wait for one of those special "Personal Cinema" editions from one of the manufacturers, otherwise there aren't any. If you want a VIVO card for stuff like VHS, better look into an X800 Pro VIVO instead.
    Indeed ... I'd be perfectly happy (for now) with one of these.

    However, newegg _never_ has them in stock
    (Getting that one though would mean I'd have to take my chances selling my current one on ebay and hoping I'd make enough $ from that sale to afford the one with VIVO).


    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

    Working in retail is a rite of passage ... into ... insanity ...

    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,268

    Re: 6800s with VIVO?

    You already have an X800 Pro? That kinda sucks that you'd have to sell your current one, doesn't it. I say you should wait at least two more months or so (if you can) to see if any 6800 GT's with VIVO come out. Or you could sell your X800 now (you'll get most for it now) and I'd get another brand of a X800 Pro VIVO, like ASUS or MSI or PowerColor.

    Spreading HD-DVD one signature at a time.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,561

    Re: 6800s with VIVO?

    Ok ... I've been doing some checking and may have found myself a much better solution.

    I'm seriously considering getting a vidcap card instead ... maybe something like this

    OR this.

    As it stands right now, I'm leaning more towards the USB 2.0 device so that I could use it on both of my comps.

    Any opinions would be appreciated. Thanks.

    Andrew R/T


    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

    Working in retail is a rite of passage ... into ... insanity ...

    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

  6. #6
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    313

    Re: 6800s with VIVO?

    what about something like this

    -Vi
    Athlon64 (Game Box)
    2800+ @ 2.6GHz (9x290)
    Chaintech VNF3-250
    1GB PQI 3200 TURBO (Samsung TCCD)
    6800NU 16x1 6 @ 375/850
    Custom Water Cooled

    Intel P4 (Workstation)
    2.8C @ 3.4GHz (14x243)
    Abit IC7-MAX3
    1GB Corsair XMS 3700 TWINX (Samsung TCCC)
    9800SE Softmodded Pro @ 410MHz/362MHz
    Custom Water Cooled

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,561

    Re: 6800s with VIVO?

    Quote Originally Posted by ViruX
    what about something like this

    -Vi
    Hey ViruX -
    Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, in reading the specs, I came across this issue - ALL-IN-WONDER® VE is required to be the primary graphics adapter in the PC - and I'd rather not demote my X800 Pro.

    At this point, I'm still thinking about that USB 2.0 box from CTX , but I can't find anyone who has used an external device like that before.


    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

    Working in retail is a rite of passage ... into ... insanity ...

    _/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_/\_

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •